Samsung 31.5" 4K monitor model UD970 support DVI, HDMI 2.0, Display Port

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Happy Hopping, Mar 24, 2014.

  1. PAo_ReVoLT

    PAo_ReVoLT [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,036
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
  2. shadow85

    shadow85 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    489
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    U guys seen the LG31MU97 4K monitor. Looks nice, 4096x2160, 10 bit AH-IPS, and 5ms response.
     
  3. geok1ng

    geok1ng 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,123
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Your reading skill could improve. Quoting from that article:

    Bitrate (Single link) 3.96 Gbit/s
    (Dual link) Limited only by copper bandwidth limitations, DVI source limitations, and DVI sync limitations.


    In single-link mode, the maximum pixel clock frequency is 165 MHz

    There is no such thing as a "maximum pixel clock for DL-DVI" links.

    Dual link maximum data rate is limited only by the bandwidth limits of the copper the DVI cable is constructed of and by the DVI signal's source.

    Once the article re-states that DL-DVI has no spec cap.

    Example display modes (dual link):

    WQXGA (2,560 × 1,600) @ 60 Hz with GTF blanking (2 × 174 MHz)
    WQUXGA (3,840 × 2,400) @ 33 Hz with GTF blanking (2 × 159 MHz)


    Those are EXAMPLES and the first one has a higher pixel clock than the second, converting 2x174MHz to 3840x2160 resolution one would reach around 37Hz@4k, but DL-DVI can actually reach 500MHz+ with a good TDMS and cable, according to this source and the Overlord tempst overclock results.

    http://hardforum.com/showpost.php?p=1040272771&postcount=9
    1920x1080@120Hz (~300 Mhz pixelclock)
    2560x1440@60Hz (~240 Mhz pixelclock)
    2560x1600@60Hz (~265 Mhz pixelclock)
    2560x1440@100Hz (~400 Mhz pixelclock)
    2560x1440@125 Mhz (~500 Mhz pixelclock).
    3840x2160@30Hz (~300 Mhz pixelclock)
    3840x2160@60Hz (~600 Mhz pixel clock, usually via 2x 300 Mhz display port MST, 2x dual link DVI or 2x HDMI)
    3840x2160@100Hz (~1000 Mhz pixelclock)


    So for all practical purposes DL-DVI is about as good as HDMI 2.0 pixel clock wise
     
  4. shadow85

    shadow85 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    489
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Amazon officially now have them instock for $1999.99
     
  5. dragonageinquisition

    dragonageinquisition Gawd

    Messages:
    601
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Man text is small enough on my 49UB8500 I can't imagine how small it will be on the Samsung. Hopefully Samsung will refresh the UD970 with a version that supports HDMI 2.0 in a few years and I will probably get it along with Windows 10 (hopefully) better scaling, but since its HDMI 1.4 only I'll be using a 4K TV for a while. Hopefully the price will be lower too, $2k is a hard sell with 4K60 IPS panel TVs below that price.

    But if anyone gets this monitor I will be interested in any feedback.
     
  6. shadow85

    shadow85 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    489
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Can some explain to my why everyone is yearning for HDMI 2.0 over DP? Like what is it about HDMI 2.0 that is better than DP 1.2 or greater, dont they display the same resolution output at the same frequency? Or is there something more HDMI 2.0 has?
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2014
  7. prolific71

    prolific71 n00b

    Messages:
    42
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Things look okay with Windows 8 150% scaling on 4k monitors.
     
  8. dragonageinquisition

    dragonageinquisition Gawd

    Messages:
    601
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    I think long cable runs are more practical with hdmi than displayport due to its higher clockrate. Dp officially only supports 4k at cable runs to 6.5 feet supposedly whereas hdmi 2.0 is good beyond 15 feet (people are successfully running 25 foot passive hdmi cables and getting 4k60) whereas everywhere Ive read people are getting 4k60 dropouts with 15 foot dp cables).

    For people with long cable runs or TVs it makes sense IMO.
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2014
  9. dragonageinquisition

    dragonageinquisition Gawd

    Messages:
    601
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    I tried ordering one to compare with my LG but cancelled. I chose next day delivery and it said guaranteed delivery by tomorrow but after the order processed estimated delivery changed to Thursday. An hour later it changed to Friday. Finally it became Monday. I called up Amazon and their explaination why an item with over 10 in stock would take 3 days to ship was "our fulfillment center is waiting on deliverees" which sounds like Amazon is lying about stock, and also refused to refund the next day shipping charge, so I figured this is karma telling me to wait for this monitor to drop to 1k, seems like this rollout is a mess. Meh. Amazon is going downhill.
     
  10. shadow85

    shadow85 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    489
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Just wondering what LG monitor you were going to compare this to?

    Well amazon seem to have sold a few overnight, stock went from 12 down to 8.
     
  11. dragonageinquisition

    dragonageinquisition Gawd

    Messages:
    601
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Going to compare with my 49" LG TV because I'm wondering if text is readable on a 32" or if you have to lean forward. Increasing text scaling is no good because that completely messes up the menu scaling in alot of games. If you change Windows text scaling you can't even click on the menus properly in games like Battlefield 4 or Civ 5 and plenty others.

    Actually the stock number just goes down if you make an order. If you order 8 right now the stock will be down to zero. Amazon's website reduces the stock number in real-time based on pending orders, each pending order reduces the stock count by 1 even if they haven't shipped.

    I think today started with 13 in stock? It went down to 3 in the afternoon but is now back at 8 so there were 5 cancellations. They still haven't shipped out any of these--either that or they just botched my order because my monitor was on order since last night and after speaking with multiple reps the earliest they think they can deliver the product is next Monday with Next Day Delivery--one rep told me the closest Fulfillment Center was "too far" from me so they can't ship for 4 more days, the next rep told me the Fulfillment Center was waiting on delivery from their vendor so they don't have stock till Friday. I don't think any of their reps knows what's going on. Either way paying Next Day Shipping to take delivery in 7 days when their website claims the item is in stock feels kinda dirty so I cancelled.
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2014
  12. PAo_ReVoLT

    PAo_ReVoLT [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,036
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Okay i ordered 3 of them, only one of them get shipped out and should get to me by Thursday. The other two still pending. Yay! Prime shipping.
     
  13. x3sphere

    x3sphere 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,619
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    3 of them!? Nice :eek: Look forward to your impressions.
     
  14. PAo_ReVoLT

    PAo_ReVoLT [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,036
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Yes I will , but I don't think i have time to do it this week. I will unbox them next week and give you guys and impression. Also the other two panel shipped out today and will get to me by Friday all of them have been shipped out of DFW Airport, TX.

    I wish I have the lag tester so I can test it with my FW900.
     
  15. shadow85

    shadow85 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    489
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    3!? Why on earth 3 of them? Im jealous!
    Anyways would love it if you did lag/response tests on it for me :)))
     
  16. PAo_ReVoLT

    PAo_ReVoLT [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,036
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Has been using 3 displays for more than 10 years, I can't imagine using less than that. It would be very unproductive.
     
  17. Happy Hopping

    Happy Hopping [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,464
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    what's the link?
     
  18. Happy Hopping

    Happy Hopping [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,464
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    tell us about those whine noise, if any.
     
  19. NCX

    NCX [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,224
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Can you test for LED PWM Dimming with this test (read the instructions)? Make sure to lower the brightness from 100-0% since the 850 series are only PWM Free down to 30% brightness.
     
  20. dpoverlord

    dpoverlord [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,707
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    I am curious if using something like 49UB8500 mentioned or another "TV" style 4k would work well as a computer monitor.

    NCX, I thought it was always said tv's dont make good computer monitors am I missing something?
     
  21. Happy Hopping

    Happy Hopping [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,464
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    okay, I don't remember if I have ask this question before, but on this link, say we put 650 Ti Boost:

    http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desktop-gpus/geforce-gtx-650ti-boost/specifications

    its max. digital resolution is 4096x2160

    now, am I right that means the HDMI and Display Port CAN Both output 4096x2160 at the same time?

    In other words, if I have 1 of this 650 Ti Boost, it can connects to 2 x Samsung UD970 and display 3840x2160 on both screens?
     
  22. Happy Hopping

    Happy Hopping [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,464
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    so is samsung.com if you buy direct from them, and free shipping
     
  23. x3sphere

    x3sphere 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,619
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    yes, but through HDMI you're limited to 30 Hz.
     
  24. jincuteguy

    jincuteguy Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    340
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Does anyone know if this monitor is a Wide gamut color? it says it covers 99% of Adobe and sRGB color.
     
  25. PAo_ReVoLT

    PAo_ReVoLT [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,036
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Okay the monitor built is okay, I would give it 8/10.

    I just plug the screen to my PC and installing Natural Color Expert to calibrating my monitors and it says that my monitors are not compatible with the software.

    I tried to called samsung a few time and they just give me a script response.

    The screen itself is nice and all but if I cannot calibrate my screen I would just return them and get NEC instead since I am already familiar with thier software.

    Anyone know to make this works?
     
  26. sethk

    sethk [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,578
    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    99% of Adobe is wide gamut. 99% of sRGB is normal gamut. So it has (at least) two color LUTs, but the backlight / panel is capable of wide gamut. This seems like a pro-focused monitor and this dual color space thing can be implemented properly in a way to allow you to have two working color spaces, although it is just as often botched where one or both color spaces are compromised (especially without calibration). I have a 24" IPS with switchable color modes (i.e. it is wide gamut capable) and have the sRGB mode quite dialed in post-hardware-calibration.
     
  27. PAo_ReVoLT

    PAo_ReVoLT [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,036
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    http://i.imgur.com/e8LTwrj.jpg

    So here are 3 of them triplet. Will give full impression once I have figure out how to launch the calibration software.
     
  28. Happy Hopping

    Happy Hopping [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,464
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    why not just use some other calibration DVD? Even digital Video essential can work quite nicely.
     
  29. jincuteguy

    jincuteguy Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    340
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Can you tell me if these monitors are Wide GAmut? I just want to make sure before I make my purchase.
     
  30. PAo_ReVoLT

    PAo_ReVoLT [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,036
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    It support sRGB and Adobe RGB, I don't see wide gamut in the Onscreen setting.
     
  31. dragonageinquisition

    dragonageinquisition Gawd

    Messages:
    601
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Well looks like I cancelled too late with Amazon and the Samsung UD970 actually ended up shipping. Very bizarre. But one even weirder thing is 2560x1600 is the highest resolution I can select from the Nvidia control panel. I have to manually create a 3840x2160x60 resolution which works without a hitch.

    However one very bizarre thing I've discovered--the framerate of games right now is about 10% lower consistently between running on a 4K TV with HDMI 2.0 versus running DP1.2 on the Sammy. I don't get it at all. BF4, Witcher 2, all the games I've got seem to run slower and I don't get it, I wonder if its the manual resolution causing this. Did you have to create a manual resolution or was 4K available on the Nvidia menu?
     
  32. dragonageinquisition

    dragonageinquisition Gawd

    Messages:
    601
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    The Samsung UD970 is louder than my LG 49UB8500 for sure, which is dead silent. Between 50-100% brightness it makes what sounds like either coil whine or capacitors resonating which I can hear from a sitting distance of 2-3 feet. But if I turn down the brightness to 40% or lower the sound loses about 90% of its intensity and you have to be basically within 2 inches of the screen to hear it.
     
  33. PAo_ReVoLT

    PAo_ReVoLT [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,036
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    I connected 3 of them and it works automatically. I had an asus 4k before so I just swap it via 3 1.2 dp on my gtx980
     
  34. NCX

    NCX [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,224
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    That's ok since NCE is less accurate than free third-party software like dispcalgui and usually halves the contrast ratio as well.

    Can you test for LED PWM Dimming with this test (read the instructions)? Make sure to lower the brightness from 100-0% since some Samsungs are only PWM Free down to 30% brightness. Don't be surprised if your units are different.
     
  35. PAo_ReVoLT

    PAo_ReVoLT [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,036
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    What exactly am I suppose to look for? I just see a line moving.

    What is bad about NCE? I have never used it before.
     
  36. dragonageinquisition

    dragonageinquisition Gawd

    Messages:
    601
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Hey Pao are you running Windows 7 or Windows 8? For some reason in Windows 7 whenever I turn text scaling up to 150% games detect the monitor's resolution being 1440p. If I drop it down to 100% scaling it goes back to being detected as 2160p. Pretty weird stuff.

    Also Displayport really does seem to have problems compared to HDMI with long cable runs. I can run a 32 awg 15 foot HDMI cable no problem with my LG 49UB8500 and get 4K60, but a 28 awg 15 foot displayport cable gets no signal. Luckily I bought a 26awg cable as well and that's what I'm running now. Low gauge displayport cables also seem pretty rare so they are more expensive then HDMI cables. a 15 foot 24awg DP costs over $110, whereas you can get active HDMI cables for that price, and passive 24 awg HDMI cables are like $14.

    My other issue is I don't see anything on screen until I hit the Windows splash screen, whereas with HDMI 2.0 I can see post screen. This means I need a backup monitor every time I install a new OS or reinstall the OS.
     
  37. NCX

    NCX [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,224
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    1 moving blurred line=very high PWM or no PWM. If multiple lines are visible it means the monitor is using low frequency PWM, or back-light strobbing (only applies to TN's with Lightboost and TV's). Make sure to look closely and check all 3 monitors.

    NCE is less accurate than free third-party software like dispcalgui and usually halves the contrast ratio as well.
     
  38. dragonageinquisition

    dragonageinquisition Gawd

    Messages:
    601
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    I can see two moving lines on my UD970. So much for no research and all TVs suck eh?
     
  39. NCX

    NCX [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,224
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    I don't think you have read this yet:

    http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/articles/content/pulse_width_modulation.htm#side_effects

    PWM increases blur and can cause health issues. BenQ's lowest end monitors are PWM free, therefore it is both insulting and a joke when 'high-end' displays (cough 32" 4K IGZO) use PWM.
     
  40. PAo_ReVoLT

    PAo_ReVoLT [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,036
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    I'm using Win8.1 with the cable that came with the box. I intend to use these mornitor at 100% scaling and the game that I tested with works perfectly (Tropico 5 & Civ V)

    I just ordered this 10ft cable since the one that came in the box is a little too short for me. Should get here by sunday so I will let you know again if I have the blank screen problem.

    I saw about 4 blur lines moving across the screen w/ 1000px separation. (I make it full screen)

    Is that good?