S.T.A.L.K.E.R : Lost Alpha news

primetime

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
6,681
these crashes are really pissing me off:mad:
[/URL][/IMG]
 
D

Deleted whining member 223597

Guest
You need to go into the LS option menu(I can't access it, I heard a different resolution might work? the 1156x768 or w/e it is) and turn off the feet from what I read.
 

D4rkn3ss

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 30, 2010
Messages
2,594
You need to go into the LS option menu(I can't access it, I heard a different resolution might work? the 1156x768 or w/e it is) and turn off the feet from what I read.

you cant use it, that button is a leftover from the developers, will be removed on the next patch. go to options -> game -> uncheck the "show actor legs"
 

shifty68

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 14, 2011
Messages
2,186
The only time i had that bone related crash was in the starting area when i had to rescue that guy. once i got past that it never happened again
 

michael.pa2

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
2,998
I'm dying to try the game out,but it sounds like having to release it prematurely has resulted in a lot of bugs. Rather than having the experience ruined by crashes and glitches,I think I'll be patient and wait for it to be patched.
 
D

Deleted whining member 223597

Guest
I'm dying to try the game out,but it sounds like having to release it prematurely has resulted in a lot of bugs. Rather than having the experience ruined by crashes and glitches,I think I'll be patient and wait for it to be patched.

Exactly what I'm doing. In the meantime I'm playing through SoC with Complete and might just go through the whole series again. I might try some different mods for CoP though, already beat it 3 times(twice with Complete).
 

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
11,285
This game is like 7 years old I heard of it put never got around to it..

Get SoC and CoP. I would also recommend CS as well. They have their quirks and the first two games in the series will need some mods to be best enjoyed, but they are great games. When you have played these try Lost Alpha.

I too am waiting for a patch or three.
 

D4rkn3ss

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 30, 2010
Messages
2,594
pff, working great, im playing this shit everyday. yesterday i started at midnight and went until eleven a.m, i had FOUR crashes, in total, since monday. this is waaay more stable than the majority of SoC mods. :rolleyes:
 

D4rkn3ss

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 30, 2010
Messages
2,594
ok people, i'll play nice:

1. disable UAC, unless youre using your grandma/mother/sister PC, or dont have any knowledge beyond switching the pc on and checking your email, surfing the web & playing steam games.
2. run installer as admin (left click), install it on x86 program files (default), go to the install folder and turn XR_3DA.exe into admin mode.
3. delete the user.ltx (also in the install folder), a new one based on your system will be created by the game on the first run.
4. crank the fuck up (dx10, maximum), put your correct display rez, uncheck the "show actor legs" in options, restart the game.
5. adjust controls and shit, fine tune stuff according to your preferences, and enjoy the game

im used to stalker mods since forever, never used UAC, did all this shit based on personal experience and the big fucking warning on the mod page. the game runs like a boss, hope that helps (instead of just posting that im having a great fun :p)
 

D4rkn3ss

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 30, 2010
Messages
2,594
mother of fuck, 6am now, im playing this shit since yesterday 8pm, aaah, brain = gone, everything is kinda cloudy, in a different level of reality, brainfuck, mind = gone, feeling like taking a coffe and continuing but reason kicks in, says u mad brah, youre gonna wake up all fucked so.. so nothing. gonna eat something and chill.. great game BTW... hmmm coffe?
 

Krenum

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 29, 2005
Messages
16,996
mother of fuck, 6am now, im playing this shit since yesterday 8pm, aaah, brain = gone, everything is kinda cloudy, in a different level of reality, brainfuck, mind = gone, feeling like taking a coffe and continuing but reason kicks in, says u mad brah, youre gonna wake up all fucked so.. so nothing. gonna eat something and chill.. great game BTW... hmmm coffe?

4.
Itchy.
Tasty.
 

D4rkn3ss

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 30, 2010
Messages
2,594
4.
Itchy.
Tasty.

oh man, another one of those.. ten minutes later and that post would not exist. i close the game, went to the kitchen, took a glass of water, feeling that i was all fucked up.. come back, open chrome, see the hardforum link, click on it and for some reason that i'll never know, create that post.. yeah im embarrassed bro.

anyway, thursday afternoon, i just woke up, all fucked up as you can imagine, and since im in hell, im gonna give a big hug to that red pajama dude, call me Strelok, bro, because im gone :D
 

MavericK

Zero Cool
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
30,565
No offense, D4rkn3ss, but I have no idea what the fuck you are saying half the time. :p
 
D

Deleted whining member 223597

Guest
No offense, D4rkn3ss, but I have no idea what the fuck you are saying half the time. :p

Drugs will do that to you....:D:p (STALKER is like a drug though, so D4rkn3ss has a good excuse :))
 

primetime

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
6,681
Is there anyway to get the gunsmith at the bar to repair weapons without the game crashing...anytime i ask him to repair weapons instant crash.....this game is riddled with bugs...but its still fun....and its free...course i bought every other non free version lol
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2010
Messages
854
Been playing this for about 3,5 hours so far with maybe 5 or so crashes.

Here's what I've done:

- Installed to C: directly (NOT Programs/Programs(x86))
- use dx10 render path
- maxed everything besides these: disable grass shadows, disable AA, disable player shadows
- disable vsync
- did not change keybindings
- did not run in admin/xp compatibility mode
- fov set to 90 in .ltx config file (shouldn't affect stability)
- changed carry weight to 80 in .ltx config files (shouldn't affect stability)

I am going to install the LA modpack from the GSC forums to see if they improve on game stability nextm but so far I really have no complaints. This is amazing for a mod!
 

D4rkn3ss

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 30, 2010
Messages
2,594
i come bearing gifts!

early CTD & AI fixes (community fix): http://www.epicstalker.com/kjdhadshfadsfklsdfljsd/Lost_Alpha_AI_Tweaks_by_Alundaio.zip

repair & upgrade dialog fix 0.8: https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B2IUe5MgSdC2UktrSjdFNEdGd00/edit?pli=1

improved textures & audio: i am using the "gamedata.dbb - Textures/Audio from Complete Mod + Alex Texture Pack + others" only, from http://www.mediafire.com/download/a87qswjz3xd3rk5/S3r1ous+S.T.A.L.K.E.R.+-+Lost+Alpha+Mods+v6.rar (link for the latest V6)

this are the ones that im using, all stable (i was having a clusterfuck of bugs and crashes in the dark valley)

sources:

http://www.dezowave.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=1726
http://www.gsc-game.com/index.php?t=community&s=forums&s_game_type=xr&sec_id=19
http://www.gsc-game.com/index.php?t...ame_type=xr&thm_page=1&thm_id=22434&sec_id=19

installation:

go to your "S.T.A.L.K.E.R. - Lost Alpha" folder, create a folder called "_backup", copy your folders "bins", "gamedata" and the "user.ltx" there, then paste & allow override of the fixes.

if using the improved textures: do the same backup from above, and delete your "gamedata" and "user.ltx", paste and override all the fixes, paste the gamedata.dbb to the main folder (not to gamedata)

start the game, exit the game, a new user.ltx will be created. edit the new user.ltx according to the STALKER.txt instructions.

this is what i changed (im guessing the rest is for low-end machines):

r2_tonemap_middlegray 0.50
r2_sun_lumscale 0.5
r2_sun_lumscale_amb 0.5
r2_sun_lumscale_hemi 1
g_actor_body off

fov i left on default 67.5 because i like, r2_ls_bloom_threshold i left on 0.00001 (default) because i like. heres an explanation about it: http://www.gsc-game.com/index.php?t...&thm_page=1&thm_id=21462&sec_id=16&offset=180 feel free to mess with it if you feel like it (or want to use the mod recommendation)

thats it (so far.. :p)
 

D4rkn3ss

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 30, 2010
Messages
2,594
thats it, after a 10 hours gaming session, zero crashes and all bugs are gone, fixed. going to sleep...
 

CrimsonKnight13

Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
7,389
I played it for a short time. Runs great w/ zero crashes so far. I'll have to tinker with the graphics settings since I'm getting 25~30fps w/ almost everything set to max under DX10.

I'm looking forward to seeing what missions & places are totally different from SoC. Does anyone have a list of differences on the off chance?
 

DouglasteR

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
459
Ill wait a little longer.

Give it a month then try it.

I can never get enough Stalker games.
 

shifty68

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 14, 2011
Messages
2,186
I played it for a short time. Runs great w/ zero crashes so far. I'll have to tinker with the graphics settings since I'm getting 25~30fps w/ almost everything set to max under DX10.

I'm looking forward to seeing what missions & places are totally different from SoC. Does anyone have a list of differences on the off chance?

As far as the maps go, every thing, i barely recognise any of the maps. there are some similarities but for the most part they seem totally overhauled. except for the Gordon, and the bar but even they are rather different.

as far as the missions they seem to be kinda close to stock. they have a lot of tweaks though, and it doesn't really feel like you are playing soc all over again.
 

CrimsonKnight13

Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
7,389
As far as the maps go, every thing, i barely recognise any of the maps. there are some similarities but for the most part they seem totally overhauled. except for the Gordon, and the bar but even they are rather different.

as far as the missions they seem to be kinda close to stock. they have a lot of tweaks though, and it doesn't really feel like you are playing soc all over again.

That's all good to me. :) Any new monsters/mutants not in SoC?
 

Caelum Atra

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 24, 2001
Messages
2,039
That's all good to me. :) Any new monsters/mutants not in SoC?

There's this little tiny man who came at me in a house in Cordon... I saw him by the fire and thought... "is that a kid? Let me get a little clos.... OH SHIT HE'S RUNNING AT ME LIKE A TINY PERSON RUNS!!!! KILLLL IIIIITT!!!!

He took a lot of 9x19 but when I restarted he took ~15 AK rounds.

The Aprogram facility is almost unchanged. They do open up all the avenues of approach to it though. There are now several ways in and out of it instead of just the 2 or maybe 3 from before. It is also now one map. No loading to go down into the subterranean area. That area is only slightly different. Streloks room is in a different place and thats about it.

Garbage though?... I went there late at night with only gen1 NVGs in my suit and it was creepy as fuck. The dogs attack in bigger packs and they seem to be all over. Lots of the psychic dog type, only they're not psychic anymore, just more hardy.

DONT SELL ANYTHING TO THE BARKEEP! There is a guy in the corner who has 5k and he pays a much better price.



I need to change my carry weight bad. I can't pick up a single gun to sell. Maybe I have too much ammo but... how is too much ammo even a thing? lol
 

MavericK

Zero Cool
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
30,565
On the plus side, this thread convinced me to reinstall SoC and the Complete Mod (with a weapons mod as well).
 

evilsofa

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 1, 2007
Messages
10,078
Do they include the city Limansk from Clear Sky, where you only got to see one small alleyway before they boot you into the endgame?
 
D

Deleted whining member 223597

Guest
I need to change my carry weight bad. I can't pick up a single gun to sell. Maybe I have too much ammo but... how is too much ammo even a thing? lol

Stalker has always been about hoarding ALL THE AMMO! :D. I think in CoP, towards the end, I had about 4k regular 5.56 ammo, another 2k AP, 1k of the 9mm and 500 AP and tons more. You can never have enough ammo :cool:

On the plus side, this thread convinced me to reinstall SoC and the Complete Mod (with a weapons mod as well).

Yeah, I think the gunplay is probably better compared to Lost Alpha with the weapons mod(the realistic one right? Not a weapon mod that adds more). I gotta say though, the AI is still as dumb as bricks. (Master difficulty)
 

4ort

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 12, 2013
Messages
120
Stalker has always been about hoarding ALL THE AMMO! :D. I think in CoP, towards the end, I had about 4k regular 5.56 ammo, another 2k AP, 1k of the 9mm and 500 AP and tons more. You can never have enough ammo :cool:

Haha totally true. In every single S.T.A.L.K.E.R. game that I played I always overkill geared up for the ending zone like...several thousand of the most powerful rifle ammo, 10-15 rockets, few dozen grenades, exoskeleton, RP-74 machine gun. And then in the final level I used maybe 5% of that :p
 

primetime

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
6,681
im stuck and need help:

trying to find x18 documents i think

this is where im at:
[/URL][/IMG]
[/URL][/IMG]
 

MavericK

Zero Cool
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
30,565
Yeah, I think the gunplay is probably better compared to Lost Alpha with the weapons mod(the realistic one right? Not a weapon mod that adds more). I gotta say though, the AI is still as dumb as bricks. (Master difficulty)

Yep, the realistic mod that works with Complete. Agreed about the AI, they do seem pretty dumb.
 
D

Deleted whining member 223597

Guest
Primetime, if it's similar to the original, it should be in one of the lower rooms. Although, you may not have the second set of keys/codes yet from that one bandit. What does it say is your mission? The lab should be in a separate section from where you get the second key/code. Make sure you go the bottom most floor if that is the correct area, there should be a keypad and a door that looks like a safe door.
 

Caelum Atra

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 24, 2001
Messages
2,039
im stuck and need help:

trying to find x18 documents i think

Just going off memory from all the times I played Stalker before:

You have to go down into the labs. They're under that building you're on top of and you get to them from a sloping walking way within the building.

Primetime, if it's similar to the original, it should be in one of the lower rooms. Although, you may not have the second set of keys/codes yet from that one bandit. What does it say is your mission? The lab should be in a separate section from where you get the second key/code. Make sure you go the bottom most floor if that is the correct area, there should be a keypad and a door that looks like a safe door.

Yeah. This. Its in a separate area that you enter through that building you're on top of
 

MavericK

Zero Cool
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
30,565
So I just started playing SoC Complete, and right after the first mission a bunch of dudes raided the starting settlement and killed pretty much everyone. I managed to kill them off and get a bunch of AKs, ammo, etc, but...is that supposed to happen? Am I screwed now that most of the friendly guys are dead?
 
D

Deleted whining member 223597

Guest
So I just started playing SoC Complete, and right after the first mission a bunch of dudes raided the starting settlement and killed pretty much everyone. I managed to kill them off and get a bunch of AKs, ammo, etc, but...is that supposed to happen? Am I screwed now that most of the friendly guys are dead?

Military? I don't think that should happen. But there are only 2 people who have quests there anyways I think. (The guy in the bunker type thing and one of the Stalkers, although I don't think he's important other than for the first mission)

I generally try to wipe out the military base ASAP since you can get some good guns there for the beginning. It also lets you get the briefcase way before you need it.
 
Top