S.T.A.L.K.E.R : Lost Alpha news

shifty68

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 14, 2011
Messages
2,186
torrent was slow to start, at leased for me, took about 3-4 hours. got about 8 min left, cant wait.
 

-Strelok-

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 2, 2010
Messages
10,542
Yeah, started off a bit slow, but within 5 minutes it got to ~4mb/s. Uploading @ 500kb/s for you guys :)
 

MiG29TangentBoy

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 2, 2004
Messages
376
I've been waiting for this to drop for yearrrrrs...and now I'm playing it. I'll be seeding the Gameupdates.org torrent for a loooong time.

Tips for people installing this game:

Do 'XP Compatibility mode' and 'Run as Administrator' for the shortcut: this avoids certain crashes and bugginess.
You can also add -nointro to the shortcut like you could SoC if you want to skip the many splash screen intros (GSC, Nvidia, etc.). But do watch the new movie intro at least once!
Put ammo on your belt or you can't reload your weapon.
If you can't hear your footsteps in first person, go into 'Options LA' and turn off legs. This menu option may not work properly yet...mine doesn't.
The menu is laggy and choppy: it's not you, it's the game.
This game will bring even decent high end systems to their knees, so don't hesitate to turn off AA or sun rays to get better frame rates.
 

-Strelok-

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 2, 2010
Messages
10,542
Yeah definitely turn down some settings. With a 3770K @ 4.5ghz and a 7950 with everything maxed I get 30 FPS in the beginning part and down to 15FPS when I go outside :D
 

fleggett

Gawd
Joined
Nov 30, 2004
Messages
536
I'm playing it now and all I can say so far is...wow. Just freakin' wow. Either I'm misremembering what vanilla SoC looks like or this goes far, FAR beyond just a token graphical touch-up. It's a completely redone world. Words simply can't do it justice. It's just incredible.

If anyone is confused about where the executable is located, it's here:

[selected program directory]\S.T.A.L.K.E.R. - Lost Alpha\bins\XR_3DA.exe

I'm still reeling.
 

-Strelok-

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 2, 2010
Messages
10,542
I like it, but I'm gonna wait until they patch it. I don't want the bugs to ruin the experience for me.
 

Draax

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 11, 2005
Messages
5,197
Make sure you "run as administrator" or the game will have issues like, not remembering settings you have changed (resolution, detail, etc), keys will not be bound the next time you start the game, etc.

On a side not it runs ok in eyefinity, the only issue is the hud and menus.
 

4ort

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 12, 2013
Messages
120
The vanilla ran butter smooth on max, but this one just kills my PC. I'll have to play on low or medium or thereabouts. Not sure if it's all the grass or what is killing it cause the graphics don't look much upgraded.
 

shifty68

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 14, 2011
Messages
2,186
my game kept crashing when i did xp compatibility, admin mode. but everything works when i just had admin mode on.

runs fine on max with my 290.

i have had a number of crashes but nothing game breaking
 
Last edited:

MavericK

Zero Cool
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
30,228
So if you haven't played all the way through SoC before (modded or not), would you guys recommend starting with this, or no?

It was hard for me to get into SoC due to the gunplay being pretty shitty.
 

shifty68

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 14, 2011
Messages
2,186
Umm you don't have to but it wouldn't hurt. it would also give you perspective. if you do, use the complete mod, it fixes most of the issues that vanilla has as well as adding some stuff. its also really stable.
 

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
11,071
So if you haven't played all the way through SoC before (modded or not), would you guys recommend starting with this, or no?

It was hard for me to get into SoC due to the gunplay being pretty shitty.

There was a very basic weapon mod which made the weapons more accurate, lethal, and changed them to real world names. Worth playing if you can find it. Otherwise I used the Complete mod, which added an absurd amount of weapons (~40 different skins for the AK-74 and AKM :eek:) and lots of excellent features/changes.

Call of Pripyat, while still using the ugly weapons, is actually well rounded by default. And rather stable. Well worth the purchase. Clear Sky was my least favorite in the series although it worked well with some basic "community patches". Again you might want to try the Complete mod for that.

To properly answer your original question, I would do a full run through SoC first. Get the Complete mod if you must. I assume Lost Alpha is very buggy... and in an alpha stage at the moment. I am waiting myself until it gets some patches.
 

shifty68

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 14, 2011
Messages
2,186
Its really not that unstable. There are some random crashes and some quick save crashes. ( at leased for me) but other than that its very payable. I have noticed some translation errors but nothing serious. the voice acting is surprisingly good.
 

Draax

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 11, 2005
Messages
5,197
Its really not that unstable. There are some random crashes and some quick save crashes. ( at leased for me) but other than that its very payable. I have noticed some translation errors but nothing serious. the voice acting is surprisingly good.

I had issues with quickloading. I could quicksave just fine, but when I tried to quickload it just went into this loading loop. The quicksaves work if you load them normally though.
 

shifty68

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 14, 2011
Messages
2,186
I had issues with quickloading. I could quicksave just fine, but when I tried to quickload it just went into this loading loop. The quicksaves work if you load them normally though.

ya it normaly works but sometimes it just cdt's on me when i quick load. But being a seasoned stalker its Not a big deal since i save almost as much as i quick save
 

chockomonkey

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 11, 2003
Messages
8,295
Wow this actually came out? What a very exciting time! I'll wait for some patches too because I have other games to finish, but damn!
 

D4rkn3ss

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 30, 2010
Messages
2,594
hmm stable as fuck, even alt-tabbing to win and getting back to the game works

So if you haven't played all the way through SoC before (modded or not), would you guys recommend starting with this, or no?

no
 

primetime

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
6,640
[URL=http://s1362.photobucket.com/user/Sean_Adkins/media/XR_3DA2014-04-2904-08-20-44_zpsee9c949d.jpg.html][IMG]http://i1362.photobucket.com/albums/r699/Sean_Adkins/XR_3DA2014-04-2904-08-20-44_zpsee9c949d.jpg[/URL][/IMG]

nice looking game...but is anyone having trouble saving there games? i can't get quick save or regular save to work
 

D4rkn3ss

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 30, 2010
Messages
2,594
nice looking game...but is anyone having trouble saving there games? i can't get quick save or regular save to work

left click on the XR_3DA.exe located on the game folder -> properties -> tick on the "run it as admin" box -> apply, ok, done.
 

Draax

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 11, 2005
Messages
5,197
Does anyone have any idea what values to change, in the config file, to fix issues with the HUD in eyefinity?
 

shifty68

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 14, 2011
Messages
2,186
[URL=http://s1362.photobucket.com/user/Sean_Adkins/media/XR_3DA2014-04-2904-08-20-44_zpsee9c949d.jpg.html][IMG]http://i1362.photobucket.com/albums/r699/Sean_Adkins/XR_3DA2014-04-2904-08-20-44_zpsee9c949d.jpg[/URL][/IMG]

nice looking game...but is anyone having trouble saving there games? i can't get quick save or regular save to work

I ran it in admin mode and that fixed it. people are also saying xp compatibility mode can fix it.
 

-Strelok-

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 2, 2010
Messages
10,542
I wonder what setting it is that causes such huge FPS drops? Maybe it's the way they worked with DX10, since Clear Sky was a lag fest with that turned on? I just started to play SoC Complete again, and while it looks a little bit worse, it still looks great and runs at over 100 FPS everywhere.
 

Krenum

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 29, 2005
Messages
16,431
So far from my experience, the game is buggy as hell.

My problems include, not being able to change the gamma/brightness.

Sound channels keep switching when I make changes to the game.

Massive framerate drops.
 
Last edited:

shifty68

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 14, 2011
Messages
2,186
Pistol ammo/reload issue isn't a bug you just need to double click the ammo to put it in your action slot.
 

DPI

Nitpick Police
Joined
Apr 20, 2013
Messages
11,073
Anyone know if this thing will self-update when they issue new patches, or is it pretty much just keep checking back at moddb for a manual patch? Too bad they couldn't have put this sucker on Steam somehow, I realize its grey area because its a mod, yada yada, but on the other hand there are far lesser games available on Steam.
 

primetime

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
6,640
I ran it in admin mode and that fixed it. people are also saying xp compatibility mode can fix it.

thing is i have always ran it in admin mode...so thats not fixing it...but thanks anyway..I guess I'll try xp compatibility mode...worth a shot
edit: It wont even start in xp comp mode lol:mad:rats looks like it be a very nice game if it worked

edit again: created a new shortcut from the game directory..now run as admin works...off to have fun:D
 
Last edited:

-Strelok-

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 2, 2010
Messages
10,542
Anyone know if this thing will self-update when they issue new patches, or is it pretty much just keep checking back at moddb for a manual patch? Too bad they couldn't have put this sucker on Steam somehow, I realize its grey area because its a mod, yada yada, but on the other hand there are far lesser games available on Steam.

Isn't Black Mesa available now? I know you could add it to steam. I think steam might just create more problems for this game though.
 
Top