Ryzen Memory Tested Is It Worth Buying New Faster Ram

Discussion in 'AMD Processors' started by gerardfraser, Jan 21, 2019.

  1. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Gawd

    Messages:
    686
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Sorry no testings at lower resolution below 2560 x 1440 or low/medium setting. There are plenty of others who have shared there findings with the lower settings and lower resolutions

    Test are to see if there is a difference when gaming at ultra settings with high resolution 2560 x 1440.


    EDIT:Added Feb 01 2019

    Ryzen vs RAM 2133MHz vs 2400MHz vs 3200MHz vs 3600MHz With Tweaked Timings 2560 x 1440 Ultra setting Shadow Of The Tomb Raider.
    ♦ 2133Mhz (16GB)CL10-10-10-10-21
    ♦ 2400mhz (16GB)CL10-11-11-11-21
    ♦ 3200mhz (16GB)CL14-14-14-14-28
    ♦ 3600mhz (16GB)CL14-15-15-15-42

    Chart of test
    Desktop-Screenshot-2019-01-31-22-19-37-64-2.png
    Video Of Test




    DDR4 Speeds tested
    ♦ 2667mhz (16GB)CL16-15-15-15-39 Command Rate 1T All sub-timings manual set
    ♦ 3400mhz (16GB)CL16-18-18-18-36 Command Rate 1T All sub-timings manual set
    ♦ 3466mhz (16GB)CL14-14-14-14-28 Command Rate 1T All sub-timings manual set

    Ryzen Memory Tested Is It Worth Buying New Faster Ram

    I have tested various combination of DDR4 Ram on Ryzen+ before in past six months.Always about the same results.

    Today I tested a GTX 1080TI gaming at 2560 x 1440 Ultra/Max setting.

    If gaming at higher resolutions and you need to know does the ram make a big difference.I would say no need to waste cash on new ram.
    Mem-chart.png


    COMPUTER USED
    ♦ CPU - AMD 2600X With MasterLiquid Lite ML240L RGB AIO
    ♦ GPU - Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti
    ♦ RAM - G.Skill Trident Z 16GB DDR4(F4-4000C18D-16GTZ) (2x8)
    ♦ Mobo - MSI X470 - Gaming Plus
    ♦ SSD - M.2 2280 WD Blue 3D NAND 500GB
    ♦ DSP - LG 27" 4K UHD 5ms GTG IPS LED FreeSync Gaming Monitor (27UD59P-B.AUS) - Black
    ♦ PSU - Antec High Current Pro 1200W
    ► FPS Monitoring : MSI Afterburner/RTSS
    ► Gameplay Recorder : Nvidia Shadowplay
    ► VSDC Free Video Editor

    EDIT: 10 test from a few months ago

    %Difference
    xtum8rm-png.png

    desktop-screenshot-2018-12-08-11-11-27-03-png.png
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2019
    dvsman, Nightfire and sabrewolf732 like this.
  2. hititnquitit

    hititnquitit Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    330
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    3466 c14 1t is preetttty damn good. i think youve answered your own question ;)
     
  3. Entilza

    Entilza Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    184
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Nice tests, So is it just a myth that AMD processors need higher frequency memory? Doesn't seem to be a night/day difference from the fastest to slowest memory!
     
  4. BoiseTech

    BoiseTech Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    272
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2018
    I have 3200mhz ram on my 2700x currently, can you please re-test with 3200. Thanks.
     
  5. ZyzzyxSilver

    ZyzzyxSilver n00b

    Messages:
    34
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    This is at high enough resolution and settings that it's mostly GPU-bound. There could never be any night-and-day difference here, and most of the interesting stuff could be expected to be in the 1% and 0.1% numbers. OP, did you average/median multiple tests to get the numbers? If not, how consistent did you observe them to be? BFV 0.1% in particular looks pretty clearly unstable.
     
  6. Dan_D

    Dan_D [H]ardOCP Motherboard Editor

    Messages:
    52,820
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    No, it isn't. This test has been done by many sites. You can find one example here. Essentially, it boils down to AMD CPU's benefiting more from lower latency modules than Intel and as far as frequencies go, there is a point of diminishing returns. Somewhere around 3400MHz to 3600MHz if I recall correctly. In any case, the improvement in the 3466MHz numbers from 3400MHz is almost certainly due to the former being CL14 instead of CL15 memory and not due to the 66MHz frequency bump.
     
  7. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Gawd

    Messages:
    686
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Add some more games from a couple months ago.

    So some single channel memory you can just ignore.
    10 more game test CL16 3200 and CL14 3466

    added video
     
    dvsman and BoiseTech like this.
  8. BoiseTech

    BoiseTech Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    272
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2018
    I was totally being sarcastic about asking for more tests at 3200 :) But wow, you're awesome on adding them!
     
  9. spiroh

    spiroh Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    This is excellent. Thanks
     
  10. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Gawd

    Messages:
    686
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    EDIT:Added Feb 01 2019
    Ryzen vs RAM 2133MHz vs 2400MHz vs 3200MHz vs 3600MHz With Tweaked Timings 2560 x 1440 Ultra setting .

    Shadow of the Tomb Raider
    ♦ 2133Mhz (16GB)CL10-10-10-10-21
    ♦ 2400mhz (16GB)CL10-11-11-11-21
    ♦ 3200mhz (16GB)CL14-14-14-14-28
    ♦ 3600mhz (16GB)CL14-15-15-15-42

    Chart for those who do not watch video
    Desktop-Screenshot-2019-01-31-22-19-37-64-2.png
     
    dvsman likes this.
  11. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 Gawd

    Messages:
    540
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    I guess it hasn't processed yet, it looks like crap in the current 360p in youtube :p.
     
  12. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Gawd

    Messages:
    686
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Yeah I had to reup the video ending got messed up.Its at 4k at time of this post.
     
  13. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 Gawd

    Messages:
    540
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Thanks for doing this, I was personally surprised there was that much frame difference in the ram speed.
     
  14. Bigbacon

    Bigbacon [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,193
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    opsps
     
  15. legcramp

    legcramp [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,750
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Good videos but of course there's not going to be any difference running at ultra settings and 1440p. I bet if you overclock/downclock your CPU 500Mhz there will barely be any difference either at the same settings.
     
  16. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Gawd

    Messages:
    686
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    So you agree you do not need to buy faster B-Die ram for Ryzen.Then I agree.
     
  17. OnceSetThisCannotChange

    OnceSetThisCannotChange [H]Lite

    Messages:
    107
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Am I reading this last chart right.

    Kingdom Come - 17% difference
    ROTTR - 2%
    Watch Dogs - 12%
    Hitman - 6%
    BF - 2%, but 25% higher 1% lows?

    Either way, if the application is sensitive then better clocked ram matters.

    People are buying 9900k over 2700x for similar differentials.
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2019
  18. legcramp

    legcramp [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,750
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    I don't have an opinion on if Ryzen owners should buy B-Die or not. You're essentially testing the 1080 Ti since it's clearly the bottleneck at those settings. (You can bump the resolution down to 1080p, buy a 2080 Ti, or just conclude ram speed don't matter when the GPU is the bottleneck)

    And just to be clear I am just talking about the tomb raider video.
     
  19. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Gawd

    Messages:
    686
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    OK thanks for the replies.
     
  20. Furious_Styles

    Furious_Styles Gawd

    Messages:
    993
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Is there something wrong with the tests here? How is single channel memory getting higher 0.1% lows than dual channel in some tests?
     
  21. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Gawd

    Messages:
    686
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Why would there be anything wrong,except third party monitoring tools has an effect .You can always test yourself with MSI Afterburner/HWinfo64 /shaadplay running.
    The way to make it more accurate is to buy a capture card which I will not be doing.
    I am just showing gaming at 2560 x 1440 there is no real need to go buy faster more expensive DDR4 Ram for a Ryzen system.
     
  22. dasa

    dasa Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    278
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Margin of error possibly due to GPU clock speed variation with a change in ambient temperature since the GPU is clearly the largest limit not the CPU.
    RAM speed only affects the CPU and increasing resolution only increases load on GPU not CPU\RAM.
    Or it may just be a random stutter as minimum FPS are not perfectly consistent across runs in all games with some games they are far more random than others.

    Nothing wrong with the tests they are excellent provided you keep the above in mind.
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2019
  23. alxlwson

    alxlwson You Know Where I Live

    Messages:
    5,460
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013

    This information is not accurate.
     
  24. dasa

    dasa Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    278
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    In what way?
    I may be wrong about variation in GPU speed looking at the video it seems there fairly solid each run so probably just margin of error in min FPS in this case.
     
  25. SvenBent

    SvenBent 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,561
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    it would have been nice with the 3466 memory in single channel mode to isolate memory bandwidh from infinty fabric


    but really nice tests here

    however as many ppl said its not really testing the effect on memory on the ryzen cpu as much as the effect under gamming.
    if the cpu is not the determine factor increase in cpu performance is well not determing the fps and thereby not tested

    its not that there is anything wrong with this test is just there are to types of test
    the deep technical systems ones. and then the more experience/effect ones

    the dee /technical ones will tell us the trutth about how it works
    the experience/effective ones will tell us if its worth it

    You are the the later ones


    There is a reason we test CPU performance in low res
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2019
  26. alxlwson

    alxlwson You Know Where I Live

    Messages:
    5,460
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013

    Stating that resolution increases don't tax the CPU more.
     
  27. TheFlayedMan

    TheFlayedMan Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    234
    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Some of the low framerates are much improved with the cl14 ram.
     
  28. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Gawd

    Messages:
    686
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Sorry no testings at lower resolution below 2560 x 1440 or low/medium setting. There are plenty of others who have shared there findings with the lower settings and lower resolutions

    Test are to see if there is a difference when gaming at ultra settings with high resolution 2560 x 1440.
     
  29. ZyzzyxSilver

    ZyzzyxSilver n00b

    Messages:
    34
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    They usually don't, and when they do the effect is usually still tiny compared to the extra weight on the GPU, meaning that CPU time taken per frame may increase slightly but CPU use as a percentage will still decrease.

    If increasing resolution ever makes you more CPU-bound / less GPU-bound, something very weird has happened.
     
  30. dasa

    dasa Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    278
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Provided the FOV is not tied to the resolution which is true for most games, If the game is CPU bottlnecked and you take the resolution from 4k to 1280x720 FPS remain exactly the same.

    If you are GPU limited then you drop the resolution GPU load will go down and as the FPS increase CPU load will go up.
     
  31. ZyzzyxSilver

    ZyzzyxSilver n00b

    Messages:
    34
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    That's not strictly true either, most commonly because in some cases the CPU thread submitting work to the GPU will wait on the GPU for something.

    Occasionally the CPU will have work to do that just is tied to resolution, it's just rarely a big enough effect to be noticeable. The most noticeable one I've run into is Unigine Superposition, ironically enough.
     
  32. dasa

    dasa Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    278
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Thanks for the constructive reply you peaked my interest so I gave the benchmark a few runs and at first it seemed to support what you said when I limited its affinity to one thread which made it a stuttering inconsistent mess.

    So instead I opted to disable HT and drop the 6700K from 4.6GHz to 800MHz to make the benchmark stay under 85% GPU load at 4k.
    Also set windows to max performance and enabled K-Boost in EVGA precision X to prevent the GPU\PCI down clocking at low loads and closed the GPU monitoring\overlay software once I knew it was CPU limited.
    Finlay the results were fairly consistent.

    Run one prefetched the files which resulted in a score about 150 points lower than the subsequent runs

    Run 2 3840x2160 Score :6485
    Run 3 2560x1440 Score: 6479
    Run 4 1920x1080 Score: 6479
    Run 5 1280x720 Score: 6444

    Retest
    Run 2 1280x720 Score: 6442
    Run 3 1920x1080 Score: 6438
    Run 4 2560x1440 Score: 6456
    Run 5 3840x2160 Score :6431

    CPU load was mostly on two cores running at ~90% with a little on a third and about 65% total load across 4 cores.
    So if CPU load is increased by the resolution it may show up on a system with insufficient threads but not one with insufficient performance in a game that is bound by the performance of a few cores? If so is this related to the GPU driver overhead which makes AMD GPU perform worse in CPU heavy DX11 games than Nvidia?

    4K Superposition_Benchmark_v1.0_6485_1549242697.png
    720P Superposition_Benchmark_v1.0_6444_1549243576.png

    Edit: Just averaged the CPU usage at 4k and 720p 52.8% and 53.0% not sure which is which but it doesn't really mater does it.
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2019
  33. JRZoid

    JRZoid n00b

    Messages:
    21
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    20190201_161935.jpg My 3200 EVGA Kit works with it just Fine. I don't Know I RMAed a Chip the 2600x. I believe it got damaged with a Block leak on it and got it WET.

    They Approved it and I sent it to AMD Moduslink in FL. So I guess they'll send me a New Chip. I have no Experience with that.

    Bought a Scythe Mugen 5 because of it...just run it on Air...can Probably still hit 4.2-4.3ghz.

    I hope I get one Back Mannnn.


    In the Mean Time I'm Running the 7700k and EVGA. The Sycthe is on it..and put an Arctic Cooler on the 1060.

    Been Pretty Cool though man...Check it out lol
     
  34. ZyzzyxSilver

    ZyzzyxSilver n00b

    Messages:
    34
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Sorry, I wasn't very clear - the effect is only particularly noticeable (without special investigation) in Superposition because it's a stutter rather than a constant. Most frames in Superposition have no such effect AFAICT. IIRC it was dependent on settings other than resolution, but it's been a while and I don't remember details.

    Were I to download it and set up a test case right now, I'd probably run 1080p/high and 4K/high and look for anomalies on a graph of CPU use.