Ryzen 3950X, 3960X, 3970X Availability

newls1

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 8, 2003
Messages
4,308
Hoping microcenter has some in stock...
just called my local MC and they told me they will NOT have stock ready for launch date (25th) and of course was told they do not have any further info from "their" supplier as too when they will get any
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2019
Messages
30
just called my local MC and they told me they will NOT have stock ready for launch date (25th) and of course was told they do not have any further info from "their" supplier as too when they will get any
Called my local and they basically just said they didn't know. If they don't I think I'll just pick up a 3900X and be done with it, not willing to wait another 2-3 months for a CPU.

Would also be very disappointing to see AMD do a paper launch, particularly when they had a time gap between the review embargo and the actual launch date. The samples that went out all seemed to be VERY well binned dies, guess low availability beats out a big discrepancy in die quality.

EDIT: Oh hey, looks like we've got the same microcenters. Did you call Marietta or Duluth?
 

tangoseal

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
8,570
Microcenter literally doesn't know shit. But I'm good friend a with the manager at Marietta. I'll just ask him if I go there. Hell tell.me where as a normal customer hell be like.... I dont know.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2019
Messages
30
Microcenter literally doesn't know shit. But I'm good friend a with the manager at Marietta. I'll just ask him if I go there. Hell tell.me where as a normal customer hell be like.... I dont know.
Should give him a ring, I'd rather not drag myself out to MC at 10am if they're not gonna have what I need in stock. :(

I'm assuming they ACTUALLY know by now what they'll have in stock come Monday.
 

mikeo

Gawd
Joined
May 17, 2006
Messages
622
just called my local MC and they told me they will NOT have stock ready for launch date (25th) and of course was told they do not have any further info from "their" supplier as too when they will get any
3950x or 3960x and 3970x too?
 

thesmokingman

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
5,893
Microcenter literally doesn't know shit. But I'm good friend a with the manager at Marietta. I'll just ask him if I go there. Hell tell.me where as a normal customer hell be like.... I dont know.
Yea, random sales floor guys don't know jack because they are out of the loop. MC still operates in that dated salesforce model.
 

notarat

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 28, 2010
Messages
2,111
I'm going to hold out for a 3950X because that was the whole reason I waited to upgrade when the Ryzen 3000 series launched...Well...that and the Lan Li 011. That's the first case that's made me say, "Ohh! I want that!!!", in a LONG, long time.

I hate RGB with a passion bordering on obsession, and I still bought 9 Corsair RGB fans for this build because of that case, lol.
 

newls1

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 8, 2003
Messages
4,308
Microcenter literally doesn't know shit. But I'm good friend a with the manager at Marietta. I'll just ask him if I go there. Hell tell.me where as a normal customer hell be like.... I dont know.
can you call him, and let me know if possible? I have cash in hand for monday purchase. can you do a fellow forum member friend this favor?

**EDIT** Marietta is my local MC too, is why im asking
 

newls1

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 8, 2003
Messages
4,308
Called my local and they basically just said they didn't know. If they don't I think I'll just pick up a 3900X and be done with it, not willing to wait another 2-3 months for a CPU.

Would also be very disappointing to see AMD do a paper launch, particularly when they had a time gap between the review embargo and the actual launch date. The samples that went out all seemed to be VERY well binned dies, guess low availability beats out a big discrepancy in die quality.

EDIT: Oh hey, looks like we've got the same microcenters. Did you call Marietta or Duluth?
marietta one.. LOL what a small world
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2019
Messages
30
marietta one.. LOL what a small world
Haha yeah sounds like there might be a mini [H] meet if MC actually has any in stock lol

I called Duluth myself. From the sounds of things I'm not optimistic about either having any in stock :(
 

newls1

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 8, 2003
Messages
4,308
Haha yeah sounds like there might be a mini [H] meet if MC actually has any in stock lol

I called Duluth myself. From the sounds of things I'm not optimistic about either having any in stock :(
me either brother :(
 

Forsaken1

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 29, 2006
Messages
296
Have no use for all them cores.Do have a want.

Wake up Monday.Check MC website. If reservation is possible........3950x to play with.
 

somebrains

Gawd
Joined
Nov 10, 2013
Messages
1,005
I'll be in the F5 club hahahahaha.
The polling script used by sneaker collectors was already used by flippers to grab Zen2 stock.

I had one of those guys ask me to rewrite the application so it could run cheaper but I declined.

I don't think standing in line would be effective, but people gotta have what they gotta have.
 

newls1

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 8, 2003
Messages
4,308
Microcenter literally doesn't know shit. But I'm good friend a with the manager at Marietta. I'll just ask him if I go there. Hell tell.me where as a normal customer hell be like.... I dont know.
can you ask him for us and report back? Would be greatly appreciated
 

Hagrid

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 23, 2006
Messages
8,894
Wow. Asrock updated the BIOS on these AB350 pro 4 MB's and it supports the 3950x.
Bought 3 for mining back in the day.
 

newls1

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 8, 2003
Messages
4,308
It's a 40 mile drive so I'll need a mutual reason to head down there. I mean I might just go anyways.
i only asked cause you could save me 150miles round trip... if hes a "friend" then an answer should be easy to obtain
 

Hagrid

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 23, 2006
Messages
8,894
Anyone who installs a 3950X on an ASRock AB350 Pro 4 is braver than I am. Keep your fire extinguisher handy.
The article states it's able to handle 150w no problem, but 180w was pushing the temp. I do not know the wattage of the 3950x.
 

tangoseal

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
8,570
i only asked cause you could save me 150miles round trip... if hes a "friend" then an answer should be easy to obtain
It's hard af to get a hold of him. Never answers his phone and he works 2 jobs round the clock. I'll try
 

Dan_D

Extremely [H]
Joined
Feb 9, 2002
Messages
56,205
The article states it's able to handle 150w no problem, but 180w was pushing the temp. I do not know the wattage of the 3950x.
The 3900X can pull every bit of 140w according to Ryzen Master. The 3950X has four more cores and four more threads. That's going to be more than 150w anyway you slice it. Also, at 150w on that thing, your going to need really good air flow. I wouldn't say its "no problem." You should be OK if your system is well thought out and the environment isn't too hot. Pushing beyond that, I wouldn't hedge my bets on it.
 

thesmokingman

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
5,893
The article states it's able to handle 150w no problem, but 180w was pushing the temp. I do not know the wattage of the 3950x.
It's 105w if stock. But you know, running an all core oc will get it up there.
 

Hagrid

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 23, 2006
Messages
8,894
The 3900X can pull every bit of 140w according to Ryzen Master. The 3950X has four more cores and four more threads. That's going to be more than 150w anyway you slice it. Also, at 150w on that thing, your going to need really good air flow. I wouldn't say its "no problem." You should be OK if your system is well thought out and the environment isn't too hot. Pushing beyond that, I wouldn't hedge my bets on it.
Yeah, I do not need that many cores. I am not worried about the VRM's, I have good airflow and a fan blowing over the VRM/CPU area.
It is tempting to put a 12 core in it though. :)
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2019
Messages
30
I remember reading about the 3950X having a "65W" mode but I don't recall any of the reviews actually testing it.

It's 105w if stock. But you know, running an all core oc will get it up there.
105W TDP, actual power consumption is well above that. But it's VERY close to the 3900X because of binning and how AMD handles power limits.
 

Dan_D

Extremely [H]
Joined
Feb 9, 2002
Messages
56,205
It's 105w if stock. But you know, running an all core oc will get it up there.
That's what the CPU is rated at when running at its base clocks. Something it never does in practice. If you push the 3900X, they'll hit every bit of 140w. That's just running off the standard boost clocks. Manually overclocked, its even worse.
 

tangoseal

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
8,570
Threadrippers will be readily available due to price being the firewall of mass rapid consumption. However the 3950x will be vaporware for a while in my prediction.

And the fact that a tr40x board is going to be min 500 most likely.
 
  • Like
Reactions: N4CR
like this

newls1

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 8, 2003
Messages
4,308
my local ATL microcenter said they do not have 3950x for launch tomorrow..
 
Top