Ryzen 3950 + Geforce 3090 but low performance on Blackmagic RAW speedtest? Is it the Mobo?

note235

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 23, 2005
Messages
5,009
I have a Gigabyte x370 Gaming 5 with the latests bios pairing with a 3950 + Geforce 3090.
I upgraded the 3950 from a 1700 and the 3090 from a 1080ti. The performance in 3Dmark Timespy is fast but in Blackmagic RAW (a speed test for a video codec) it's barely 20% more than my old build. Comparing to others, I'm only getting 64% in the GPU at 8K (haven't compared CPU yet).
I suspect it's the mobo: I have all the SATA ports used + NVME + the third PCIE x4 + PCIE x1. But was curious about your guys thoughts?
 

Furious_Styles

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
1,996
I have a Gigabyte x370 Gaming 5 with the latests bios pairing with a 3950 + Geforce 3090.
I upgraded the 3950 from a 1700 and the 3090 from a 1080ti. The performance in 3Dmark Timespy is fast but in Blackmagic RAW (a speed test for a video codec) it's barely 20% more than my old build. Comparing to others, I'm only getting 64% in the GPU at 8K (haven't compared CPU yet).
I suspect it's the mobo: I have all the SATA ports used + NVME + the third PCIE x4 + PCIE x1. But was curious about your guys thoughts?
This is simple, run gpu-z and see if you're at x16. If so, next step is to run DDU. Use heaven or superposition at native res and compare scores.
 

sinisterDei

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 1, 2004
Messages
1,346
My (limited) understanding is that hardware acceleration for B-raw format is buggy, at best. LTT put out a video discussing it recently when they bought some 12k cameras. They had to jump through all sorts of hoops, and moving to a 3090 was not a magic bullet.
 

note235

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 23, 2005
Messages
5,009
This is simple, run gpu-z and see if you're at x16. If so, next step is to run DDU. Use heaven or superposition at native res and compare scores.
Good idea. Did all of that and same results.

My (limited) understanding is that hardware acceleration for B-raw format is buggy, at best. LTT put out a video discussing it recently when they bought some 12k cameras. They had to jump through all sorts of hoops, and moving to a 3090 was not a magic bullet.
I don't agree with that (LTT's). Blackmagic RAW has been the fastest/stable of all the codecs I've used. It just seems my system is operating at 65% to 70% of what others with the same CPU or GPU are getting. I bought a new mobo so maybe that's the issue?
 

sinisterDei

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 1, 2004
Messages
1,346
I don't have any first-hand knowledge myself, never having touched a blackmagic camera. Here is the video where they had lots of problems.
 

Denpepe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 26, 2015
Messages
1,751
Good idea. Did all of that and same results.

That's only a partial answer, is your card running at x8 or x16, while older GPU's usually run fine on x8, somthing like a 3090 could be bottlenecked by that.

Also male sure you are running the latest bios, the new 3xxx series of cards are a bit tricky otherwise.

I doubt your motherboard is the issue, but you never know, also id you power supply sufficient, those 3090 cards sure use a lot of power.
 

note235

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 23, 2005
Messages
5,009
That's only a partial answer, is your card running at x8 or x16, while older GPU's usually run fine on x8, somthing like a 3090 could be bottlenecked by that.

Also male sure you are running the latest bios, the new 3xxx series of cards are a bit tricky otherwise.

I doubt your motherboard is the issue, but you never know, also id you power supply sufficient, those 3090 cards sure use a lot of power.
Good points. Checked and it's x16. Yeah on latest for the board.
PSU is EVGA G2 1300w.
 
Top