Running VPN inside of a VMWare Session...

dep01

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
Messages
175
Hello. I am running a 64-bit windows client. My workplace only has a 32-bit VPN client. So I've installed 32-bit Windows XP in VMWare and have installed the VPN client on this guest OS. I am able to connect to the VPN and access the internal sites through the VPN.

Is it possible to somehow access these secure sites from my host operating system as well? Any help is appreciated.

dep
 

tgabe213

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 27, 2007
Messages
3,684
The only thing I can think of is Windows XP Mode in Windows 7. I tried it once, and it didn't work initially, and I never tried anything else. I've just been firing up the VM and connecting in there.
 

dbwillis

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Messages
8,725
Probably not, most VPN's are point to point tunnels, trying to make the VM into a 'router' and sharing its VPN connection probably doesnt work,.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2004
Messages
3,861
Try ShrewSoft VPN client. I've been using it to connect to Cisco VPNs on my 64-bit Windows7 laptop. It will even import your pcf file.
Posted via [H] Mobile Device
 

Lightworker

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 12, 2009
Messages
457
Using VPN clients in XP-Mode only enables the XP-Mode applications to traverse the secure tunnel, not native 7 applications. Just a heads up
 

dep01

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
Messages
175
in regards to the shrewsoft client... seems like there are a lot of settings I don't know what to do with. My company only equipped me with a shared key, username, and VPN server to connect. The Cisco VPN client works with all of the default settings. Any idea how to configure shrewsoft for a basic connection?

dep
 

dep01

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
Messages
175
Plus, XP mode isn't available with Windows 7 Home Premium, which is what i have :/
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2004
Messages
3,861
in regards to the shrewsoft client... seems like there are a lot of settings I don't know what to do with. My company only equipped me with a shared key, username, and VPN server to connect. The Cisco VPN client works with all of the default settings. Any idea how to configure shrewsoft for a basic connection?

dep

export what you have working to a pcf file

open up the shrew and import your pcf

done
 

dep01

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
Messages
175
Wow ShrewSoft VPN gave my Windows 7 the BSOD ... my computer would reboot, log in, and BSOD again. I had to safe mode and uninstall the little bugger. Not doing that again.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2004
Messages
3,861
hmmm, you sure you got the right version? I've not had any problems with it. In fact I'm using it to VPN into my lab at the office to play around with SBS2008 and iSCSI targets on a NAS. No BSoDs for me. :D
 

dep01

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
Messages
175
Yep, right version. I tried uninstalling and reinstalling 3 times with the same result. I had to uninstall in safe mode each time. Really nasty.
 

Mavvy911

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 28, 2001
Messages
467
I've had really bad luck with Shrewsoft VPN 2.1.4 on many machines, go for the latest RC of 2.1.5. For those of you BSOD'in, try disabling the "Shrewsoft lightweight protocol" if/when you get into Windows.
 

blk95civicex

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 10, 2003
Messages
170
BSOD for me last night as well. 2.1.4 on Windows 7 x64.

I'll check out 2.1.0 and see if that works tonight.
 
Top