Running Cat5e in new construction home

sexyjeep

n00b
I am currently building a new home and plan on running my own cat5e or cat6e Ethernet cable throughout. Our contractor charges $80 per run and I plan on having at least two runs per room x5 rooms, so running my own cable is going to save me thousands. I am a Network Administrator and have been making my own Ethernet cables for years, but I’ve never run cable through a home being built where I could pre-install as many lines as I wanted before the drywall goes up. This is a unique opportunity because I will be able to make the installation very clean. The problem is that I am not sure how to run the cable through the home.

Examples (what I am not sure about):

1. If I use UTP do I need to drill separate holes through each of the studs (keeping them at least 12 inches away from the electrical lines and outlets to minimize crosstalk?), or can I get away with using STP cable and run it through the same holes as the electrical, or is STP still not going to be enough protection running right along side of the electrical?

2. I’ve heard that stapling Ethernet cable to the studs is not a good idea especially when using solid cable because of the wear. I’ve also heard that this is a bad idea in general because of the increased possibility of crosstalk (from the staple smashing the cables together). I am looking for some confirmation or advice on this one.