RTX 2080 HDMI issue!

Copyright

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 17, 2000
Messages
6,003
I have been using a 4k TV as a monitor for a long time no issues.. I had planned on picking up a gaming monitor later but I am having all kinds of issues with HDMI.. I had it up and running but somtimes on reboots it takes 20 tries before the TV detects the HDMI signal.. throw my old RX 580 card back in and its all good again! What now?
 

Copyright

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 17, 2000
Messages
6,003
Send it back and put the RX 580 back in the rig until buying a 2XXX makes sense (if ever)?

It made sense to me.. I had a 1080ti in the past didnt want another.. wanted something new and I wanted the look. This is what I wanted.. unfortunately its either Bad or some other issue.
 

Copyright

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 17, 2000
Messages
6,003
Use a different cable. Some cards and displays are picky about cables.

I thought the same.. tried two different cables.. same issue.. going to try one other I have to see if it works. One of the HDMI cables is a new AudioQuest HDMI. going to try a display port cable as well on my backup monitor.
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
29,668
I thought the same.. tried two different cables.. same issue.. going to try one other I have to see if it works. One of the HDMI cables is a new AudioQuest HDMI. going to try a display port cable as well on my backup monitor.
AudioQuest or their parent company, The Quest Group, does not appear in the list of HDMI adopters. This means their products are not licensed or tested.
https://www.hdmi.org/learningcenter/adopters_founders.aspx

You should check out Monoprice.
 

Copyright

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 17, 2000
Messages
6,003
AudioQuest or their parent company, The Quest Group, does not appear in the list of HDMI adopters. This means their products are not licensed or tested.
https://www.hdmi.org/learningcenter/adopters_founders.aspx

You should check out Monoprice.

Cable worked with my 1080ti, rx 580 and 1080... I also swapped to another cable I had.. I have one more I can try but something isn't happy. Either bad card.. or just a finicky card which I know HDMI can be at times. I just picked up an Alienware 34" gsync monitor to play with. See if this thing works over a display port..
 

SnowBeast

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 3, 2003
Messages
1,312
If the 2080 has a premium HDMI 2.0b chipset which it does, HDMI cables label premium are only to be used. Always use cables from Monoprice. They are generally cheaper and better quality. THey also clearly mark on the website 10.2 Gbps or 18 Gbps. 4:2:0 or 4:4:4 color space with 4K HDR@60 fps. Like these https://www.monoprice.com/product?c_id=102&cp_id=10240&cs_id=1024020&p_id=13764&seq=1&format=2

Also to troubleshoot, I had this issue you mentioned. Clean install of new drivers worked. This happened on my 1080Ti. Might take a couple of reinstalls of the driver. Mine also cut the sound out with random picture flashing, like it was losing sync.
 

Copyright

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 17, 2000
Messages
6,003
If the 2080 has a premium HDMI 2.0b chipset which it does, HDMI cables label premium are only to be used. Always use cables from Monoprice. They are generally cheaper and better quality. THey also clearly mark on the website 10.2 Gbps or 18 Gbps. 4:2:0 or 4:4:4 color space with 4K HDR@60 fps. Like these https://www.monoprice.com/product?c_id=102&cp_id=10240&cs_id=1024020&p_id=13764&seq=1&format=2

Also to troubleshoot, I had this issue you mentioned. Clean install of new drivers worked. This happened on my 1080Ti. Might take a couple of reinstalls of the driver. Mine also cut the sound out with random picture flashing, like it was losing sync.


Why would drivers have any effect on seeing a POST screen? I can see POST when and UEFI Bios when using my other cards. This does not require window drivers..... RTX 2080 uses HDMI 2.0b... the AudioQuest cable is a highend audio company that is well known is the Audio Video world. That cable has worked fine for 3 other cards.

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/audioq...hdmi-cable-black-blue/5794300.p?skuId=5794300
 
Last edited:

Copyright

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 17, 2000
Messages
6,003
Looks like a Dead card.. I got a new monitor with display port.. same problem.. when I do make it into windwos after 10 or so tries the system locks up acts weird...
 

Copyright

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 17, 2000
Messages
6,003
Contacted EVGA... they agreed the card sounds defective.. I had to fill out the RMA process... at least EVGA makes it super easy.. I heard horror stories about other companies..
 
Top