Rt-ac68r+att gigabit

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by stonewalker, Sep 18, 2019.

  1. stonewalker

    stonewalker Gawd

    Messages:
    669
    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    I have the ASUS RT-AC68R with spectrum right now with speeds at 400/30 and the wireless router seems to do good but I just signed up for att gigabit and was wondering if i'd need a new wireless router? I have 4 ppl in my house with 2 4k tvs and ppl are always gaming or steaming. Thx!
     
  2. Eickst

    Eickst [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,866
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Unless your wifi clients are capable of more than what that router can do, I'd be in a 'wait and see' mode.

    No reason to go out and buy a new router if the old one works just fine. I'm assuming that you have some wired stuff that will benefit regardless of wifi speeds
     
  3. stonewalker

    stonewalker Gawd

    Messages:
    669
    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    My pc and one of the 4k tvs are wired, everything else is wifi.
     
  4. Nicklebon

    Nicklebon Gawd

    Messages:
    580
    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Keep in mind that ATT also forces you to use their router. In some situations this can be worked around.
     
  5. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,865
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    play it by ear... Just because you have more bandwidth does not mean your wireless clients will need more. Plus their is always QOS
     
  6. stonewalker

    stonewalker Gawd

    Messages:
    669
    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Yeah I'll probably just wait and see.
     
  7. rhansen5_99

    rhansen5_99 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,034
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Well for information I just did the same. The att ac range is sub optimal vs asus 68u with Merlin, also combines 2.4 and 5 in same broadcast. It might be a wash between devices as I have had trouble on 2.4 on Asus and am not seeing it with att unit.