Routers with multiple 2.5gb ports?

justin_43

Gawd
I recently purchased a new cable modem with a 2.5gb port and connecting it directly my system with a 2.5Gbps NIC allows me to get speeds up to 1300MBps with Comcast gigabit internet. This is great except for the fact that my router (ASUS RT-AX88U) has 1 gig ports obviously. I ordered a 2.5Gb switch for my internal network, but to get the 1300MB internet speeds throughout my network I need a router with 2x 2.5Gb ports. I see quite a few with a single 2.5Gb WAN/LAN port, but I need one with 2 ports for LAN and WAN each. Do these exist? If not, would building a pfsense box with 2.5Gb NICs be an option? I have zero experience with that but would be willing to learn if that was the best or only option. Thanks for any input.

Looks like that's a managed switch. I would need a router with 2x 2.5 or higher ports. If I can get a router with 2x 10gb ports for under $500 I would do it.

I found something that looks like it might work for me. Does anyone have any experience with the ASUS RT-AX89X? I see that it has 2x 10gb ports, although one of them is SFP+. Is there an adapter to use this to connect to a switch with standard RJ-45? Will there be issues with the rest of my gear being 2.5gb and this is 10gb? I assume not but it doesn't hurt to ask. Thanks for any help guys!

I found something that looks like it might work for me. Does anyone have any experience with the ASUS RT-AX89X? I see that it has 2x 10gb ports, although one of them is SFP+. Is there an adapter to use this to connect to a switch with standard RJ-45? Will there be issues with the rest of my gear being 2.5gb and this is 10gb? I assume not but it doesn't hurt to ask. Thanks for any help guys!
I'm not vouching for it, but a quick search found this. You can probably find similar. I'm not sure if the 10GbaseT port on that router will do 2.5gb though. The 2.5/5GbaseT standard came way after 10GbaseT, so there's no guarantee there.