Robberbaron and (cf)Eclipse preach the truth about A64's and memory

Discussion in 'AMD Processors' started by robberbaron, Jun 20, 2005.

  1. robberbaron

    robberbaron [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,098
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Alright. The point of this thread is to dispel the myths, rumors, misconceptions, and insecurities people have in regards to 1T vs 2T timings and memory speed. Hopefully this will cause less threads asking for "memory that does 1T" and people worrying over the 4x double sided dimms issue.

    This benchmark is with a Socket 754 Clawhammer at 2.5GHz.

    One setting I used was 10x250MHz 1:1. The other was 11x227 5:6 with 192MHz ram speed.
    [​IMG]

    And Sciencemark 2.0:
    Code:
    10x250 1T
    Mol Dyn        929.63
    Primidoria     811.37
    cipher bench  1008.29
    blas bench    1192.42
    
    10x250 2T
    Mol Dyn        833.31
    Primidoria     804.80
    cipher bench   984.38
    blas bench    1012.97
    
    
    11x227 1T
    Mol Dyn        953.12
    Primidoria     859.01
    cipher bench  1158.53
    blas bench    1199.84
    
    11x227 2T
    Mol Dyn        830.57
    Primidoria     850.04
    cipher bench  1131.82
    blas bench    1185.05
    
    So aside from memory specific benchmarks, we see the greatest performance hit from latency and memory bandwidth in gaming and Molecular Dynamics.
    In 10x250, we lose 3% Aquamark performance when switching to 2T.
    In 10x227, we lose 4.5% Aquamark performance when switching to 2T. Not a very big deal if getting 2 gigs means having to use 2T.

    Counterstrike lost a relatively small amount of framerate, especially since I ran the benchmark with a +15 LOD bias, 640x480 resolution, and bare minimum detail. To give you an idea of image quality:
    [​IMG]

    Yeah. Ouch. So in higher resolutions, when the GPU is actually stressed, I don't think you'll even feel the hit. Also, since many people are finding Socket 939 systems to be rewarding with their dual cores and dual channel and dual PCI-E, there will be even less of a hit due to the almost doubled write bandwidth.


    As for molecular dynamics, well, hopefully if you're going to be messing with that, your university will back you up with a nice computer anyway. ;)
     
  2. (cf)Eclipse

    (cf)Eclipse Freelance Overclocker

    Messages:
    30,028
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    ALL RIGHT! I'm finally done. First off, here's the raw data for those who like numbers more than silly graphs ;)

    The rig that was used:

    DFI Lanparty UT NF3-250gb
    Mobile Athlon 64 3700+
    XFX 6800GT
    2x512mb Crucial Ballistix pc3200
    WD 80 + 250gb HDD
    assorted cooling :p


    I chose to use 3 ram speeds while holding the cpu speed constant. The settings are as follows:

    Setting 1
    HTT/FSB = 250
    CPU Multi = 11
    CPU Mhz = 2750
    RAM ratio = 1:01
    RAM Mhz = 250
    Timings = 2.5-2-2-10
    HT link multi = 3

    Setting 2
    HTT/FSB = 229
    CPU Multi = 12
    CPU Mhz = 2748
    RAM ratio = 1:01
    RAM Mhz = 229
    Timings = 2.5-2-2-10
    HT link multi = 3

    Setting 3
    HTT/FSB = 229
    CPU Multi = 12
    CPU Mhz = 2748
    RAM ratio = 5:06
    RAM Mhz = 183
    Timings = 2-2-2-10
    HT link multi = 3

    Then, as part of the quest, RB and I tried each setting with 1T and 2T, to show how the latency hit (about 10-15% for me) is insignificant, thus why the graphs have 6 sets of data for each bench.


    I will order the benches from what I feel is most "synthetic" to least. First up:

    Everest memory tests
    Nothing to really comment on here.. although I thought the difference in latency between 250x11 and 229x12 at the same timings was quite curious.

    [​IMG]





    SiSoft Sandra:
    This is.... very very very cpu dependant. Bandwidth and latency has no effect on the CPU scores (go figure! haha)

    [​IMG]





    ScienceMark:
    This is one of those benches that may or may not be useful to you, depending on what you do. Those people who run this kind of stuff.. well, it's obvious, ram speed does not have much of an effect on benchmark


    [​IMG]




    3dmark05:
    Self-explanitory. Final score is very gpu dependant, thus why there's cpu score, which I have included :D
    It seems that it's somewhat memory speed sensitive, but only when the ram speed drops below 200mhz, then it takes a decently large hit, but it's still pretty small when you consider a 17% drop from 250mhz at 1T to 183mhz at 2T

    [​IMG]




    Aquamark:
    Again, two parts, but this time I only included GFX and CPU into the graph. Check the raw data for the final score if you care.
    This scales more normally with bandwidth than 3dmark does, but doesn't dramatically drop off. Still about the same 17-18% drop from 250mhz at 1T to 183mhz at 2T.

    [​IMG]




    SuperPI
    This is known to be very latency sensitive. Seems to have held up to it's repuation on that part

    [​IMG]




    Cinebench
    This is a useful tool for those who will plan on doing renditions of stuff. Bandwidth and latency doesn't seem to effect it in the least

    [​IMG]




    Real World apps:
    This one takes a bit more explaining. In Terragen, I made up and saved a world, so that I would be rendering the same thing every time. This is what I rendered.
    For the music conversion, I converted the Delerium - Poem album from 256kb/s MP3 to 192kb/s Ogg Vorbis with dBpoweramp 10.1.
    Both programs had a timer, and indicated how long the task took to complete. I recorded this time.

    From this data in conjucntion with the Cinebench results, it is obvious that rendering is very CPU based, and shows no gains from various memory speeds and latencies. Music conversion is the same way, with results that did not vary outside of 2 seconds.

    [​IMG]






    WELL! there you have it. From this, and baron's results, it seems that the typical 'benchmarks' are the only programs that see any difference from memory speed and latency.
    Games show a small difference, but nothing really amazing.
    Music conversion.. yeah ;)
    Rendering programs are entirely CPU limited.
     
  3. Borgschulze

    Borgschulze 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,561
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Basically unless you overclock hardcore or time everything you do.
    You won't notice any difference!
     
  4. mikelz85

    mikelz85 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,342
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    even if you do overclock hardcore, you might want 2t timings if it meant more headroom and then meant more performance.
     
  5. Borgschulze

    Borgschulze 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,561
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Possibly, maybe I can get more out of this CPU with 2T Command Rate...
    Maybe hit 300HTT stable? That would be nice.
     
  6. (cf)Eclipse

    (cf)Eclipse Freelance Overclocker

    Messages:
    30,028
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    or just use a ram divider. this is the purpose of this. my results will be even more dramatic than baron's, showing very very little difference between memory speeds on the arguably more limited single channel setup. if this is how small the difference is with s754, take away any bandwidth limitation and you have s939
     
  7. Project_2501

    Project_2501 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,170
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Sticky!!! Get the glue out guys...
     
  8. USMC2Hard4U

    USMC2Hard4U [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,145
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    I would like to see the same numbers on a fairly newer processor such as the Venice or San Deigo Please. I know you guys out their love your 754's but thats old news to me :cool: :p
     
  9. (cf)Eclipse

    (cf)Eclipse Freelance Overclocker

    Messages:
    30,028
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    is newark new enough? ;)
    just hold out like another hour or two... benching this much takes fooorrrrreverrrr :(


    also, those of you with s939 who feel like doing this, feel free to :p
     
  10. USMC2Hard4U

    USMC2Hard4U [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,145
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    I just want to see what the impacts would have with Dual Channel Ram, the newer memory controller, SSE3 if their is an impact etc etc.


    :)
     
  11. robberbaron

    robberbaron [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,098
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Well the dual channel will have the most impact. Taking away the write bandwidth limitation will remove most damage from 2T I suspect.
     
  12. (cf)Eclipse

    (cf)Eclipse Freelance Overclocker

    Messages:
    30,028
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    sse2 is known to actually decrease performance in some cases.. like HL2 ;)
     
  13. USMC2Hard4U

    USMC2Hard4U [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,145
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    really? Why is this?
     
  14. Project_2501

    Project_2501 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,170
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    That's pretty funny...
     
  15. (cf)Eclipse

    (cf)Eclipse Freelance Overclocker

    Messages:
    30,028
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    not sure. i've long denouced sse1/2/3 as being pretty useless.. for amd at least. intel can actually take advantage of it with it's higher clock speeds and less efficient x87 FP unit
    http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=2330&p=5

    in the bottom part. it's very very insignificant, but there :p
     
  16. CCUABIDExORxDIE

    CCUABIDExORxDIE 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,957
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    very nice writeup so far, i cant wait to see all of (cf)'s bar graphs and stuff!
     
  17. (cf)Eclipse

    (cf)Eclipse Freelance Overclocker

    Messages:
    30,028
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
  18. burningrave101

    burningrave101 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,825
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Nice work guys. The thread title is sorta tacky but nice work nonetheless :p j\k.

    The dual channel RAM will of course have the most impact on performance because the memory controller isn't really improved that much over the 90nm Winchester cores. In fact in certain cases its a little slower. SSE3 wont help at all except in the few cases your running an application that has been coded to use it.

    SSE2 can be coded to do things much faster then x87 can. AMD has a stronger x87 FPU unit but that doesn't mean its better to use x87 over SSE2. The lack of support for SSE2 is just one of the reasons why the Athlon XP usually fell behind the Pentium 4 in application performance because alot of the applications today have been optimized for SSE2. x87 wont even be supported in the new Longhorn OS when it comes out. I can't see how SSE2 would have any kind of real impact on performance for gaming that would actually matter. Its benefits far outweigh any negative effects just like HyperThreading on the Pentium 4.
     
  19. Hito Bahadur

    Hito Bahadur [H]ard|DCer of the Month - December 2006

    Messages:
    3,144
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    SSE2 is critical to Folding@home. So in certain apps it is very important.
     
  20. arnemetis

    arnemetis 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,475
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    *cries over wasted money on expensive tccd* very nice job tho, quite thorough. however, noone seems to go past 250mhz. id liek to see 200mhz 2-2-2-5 vs 275mhz 2.5-3-3-7, I feel the relaxed latencies required to go over ~230 dont pay off till 260mhz+, if this were possible, I feel it would give a better result. If msi ever releases a proper bios for my mobo, perhaps I will try and run similar tests. my cpu does 2.75ghz fine, so I coudl do 250x11 with ram at 208, and 275x10 to take the cpu out of the question. that is if in fact its a bios issue and not just the cpu's inability to handle high ht.
     
  21. mikelz85

    mikelz85 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,342
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    They were just talking about 1t command rates, but when I was talking to my dad about how cool the winbond memories @ 260 2-2-2 looked, he linked me to an article on chipgeek showing that scaling the memory (actual dram frequency/latency) on the A64 doesn't change performance nearly as much as simply scaling the CPU clock speed. Obviously the on chip memory controller is why. I must say though, he still did get me 2 sticks of twinmos for my big "2 0" last week, I made him get the refurb though, was $20 cheaper, but I'm more curious to see how well it performs. Maybe I'll slowly change the attitude that refurbs are crap oc'ers, though I could end up stuck @ 220 mhz as well.

    On another note, do you guys find that 2t vs. 1t. is a factor in highest dram frequency? Or does it differ from winbond to samsung?
     
  22. robberbaron

    robberbaron [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,098
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    I think with Samsung you MAY hit higher memory speeds, but this is due to the memory controller being bogged down at whatever speed you found to be a ceiling at 1T.

    Any more speed you get with 2T probably wouldn't make a big enough difference.
     
  23. mikelz85

    mikelz85 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,342
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    I guess that would make sense. I've also read a few things here and there (nothing that I wouldn't take without a grain a salt) about rev e's having "poor" memory controllers, or at least noticably different. Is this a real issue when it comes to running higher memory frequencies with higher cpu frequencies? Is it the same for all rev e processors?
     
  24. robberbaron

    robberbaron [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,098
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Apparently, issues between RevE and TCCD are bios problems on the DFI board. Up until very recently (5/10 revision I believe) the Ultra-D couldn't handle RevE chips with TCCD very well. But, once people got this bios and relearned how to tweak memory on the RevE memory controller, all was good. I think if anything, the memory controller is different.
     
  25. arnemetis

    arnemetis 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,475
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    so a dfi board has the same issue, that a bios update fixed? *prays msi fixes it too* so about this re-learning how to tweak the memory controller...exactly what needs to be changed? the basic settings 2.5-3-3-7 1t are understood...but like in a64 tweaker I notice LOTS of different numbers, are those what you speak of? Im anxious to get my system optomized, ok bandwith means nothing, but I wasted all this $, may as well use it. Thanks for the help.
     
  26. robberbaron

    robberbaron [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,098
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    I don't have TCCD anymore (sold it because my TwinMOS SP murdered it performance-wise, nor do I have a DFI nForce4 board or RevE chip.

    However, a the http://Xtremesystems.com forum, you can find a lot of info at the Xtreme Bandwidth and AMD forum. Also, try PM'ing Centvalny (in HardForum, Dumo in Xtremesytems) since he's experienced with this issue.
     
  27. TechHead

    TechHead 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,867
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Stickified. Good read, robberbaron and eclipse.

    Try cleaning up the first post a bit though.
     
  28. robberbaron

    robberbaron [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,098
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    I'll be able to do that once my new system is up. All of my raw data is on a SATA harddrive, and this dell only has PATA :(
     
  29. s10010001

    s10010001 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,468
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Hmm, good read thanks guys. This makes me feel better about running 4 dual sided 512mb dims..

    I have to run 2t and a 5:6 divier. All thought, I uped the HT a bit a got my memory to like 205Mhz, 2-3-3-11... Not to bad for 2gbs of DDR..
     
  30. Selecter

    Selecter Gawd

    Messages:
    841
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    expensive ram is a waste of money for those not needing to bench competitively. One thing is for sure: more cheaper ram in your machine is 10X better than less $$$$ ram.

    many of the BF2 troubles are directly due to lack of RAM. 1GB does not cut it now.
     
  31. freeloader1969

    freeloader1969 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,241
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    HeHe....and I bought robberbaron's board & memory :)
     
  32. robberbaron

    robberbaron [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,098
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Yep, and I just shipped it. Oh, the memories I have with that board and ram. You're going to have a lot of fun.
     
  33. Yashu

    Yashu [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,294
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    I can get 3gb in my DFI nf3 250gb at ddr333 I can get the memory up to about 200-215mhz at 2t...

    so... I am wondering if it is worth it over 2gb since it would be a pretty high 60ns or so latency.

    I mean I can only get about 51 or 52ns stable with 2gb... so... really it is not even that much slower...

    I do alot of heavy modeling and other such things... I don't know... sure would be nice to turn the page file off for good.
     
  34. Frallan

    Frallan Gawd

    Messages:
    976
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Man... U really have a cool dad... I hope my son grows up to like computers so I can be one as well :D
     
  35. Staples

    Staples [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,756
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Nice comparisons, especially the second post but I'd like to see more games tested. I accidently traded my RAM for some lower speed RAM (and can't overclock the RAM with my mb) so that comparison gives me an idea what kind of performance I lose going from 200MHz to 166MHz.
     
  36. mikelz85

    mikelz85 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,342
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    I think I may have a go of it as well and make a graph of CPU speed/memory performance vs. memory frequency/memory performance, especially because I'm a tad bit down after getting my x800pro vivo refurb last night. Riva tuner says no unlock, and a bios flash to pro16 pipe bios yielded no display on post, had to reflash to get it working again, but it was $198 shipped and OC's to 550mem 533core, hopefully a voltmod and my monster $5 coolermaster 'sink sandwich yield even faster clocks.
     
  37. (cf)Eclipse

    (cf)Eclipse Freelance Overclocker

    Messages:
    30,028
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    one of these days i'll get fraps, go through and add some real game benches
     
  38. GMaxx

    GMaxx Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    308
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    So, what did you hook up with now? I'm sure it's going to be a sweet new rig. :D
     
  39. s10010001

    s10010001 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,468
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    You should do this! its fun as hell too!

    So dose anyone want to buy a gig of TCCD of me? Im not even useing it for what its worth because im runnign 4x512 sicks like 2-3-3-7 or somehting.. 200mhz
     
  40. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    23,952
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    bump because I want to read this later and don't want to go looking for it :).