Rise of the Tomb Raider

MorgothPl

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
3,020
Played a bit tonight... it's gorgeous. One of the best looking PC games I ever seen. In everything maxed (including pure hair), SMAAx2 in 1440p I get about 40-45 FPS. If I get the SMAAx4, then can't get more than 30. But the looks of that game, definitely worth it.
 

sblantipodi

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 29, 2010
Messages
3,593
Played a bit tonight... it's gorgeous. One of the best looking PC games I ever seen. In everything maxed (including pure hair), SMAAx2 in 1440p I get about 40-45 FPS. If I get the SMAAx4, then can't get more than 30. But the looks of that game, definitely worth it.

SSAA or SMAA?
 

MorgothPl

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
3,020
The last option on the AA list in game. I never can't remember those abbreviations :))) missing txaa though.
 

lee0539

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
1,804
As I stated on page 14, my SLi is engaged by looking at Afterburner.

No crashes, very smooth.

Seems like it isn't utilizing both cards fully.. like fallout 4 was before the fix and how syndicate is now. People thought it worked but wasnt working correctly
 

misterbobby

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 18, 2014
Messages
3,814
I cant even use Afterburner as the game just closes. I had to use Fraps to check my framerate. I have not seen it drop below 79 fps with every setting manually turned up to max at 1080 and using SMAA.
 

lee0539

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
1,804
Apparently denuvo anti crack screws up sli in some way.. And probably won't see a fix to sli
 

sblantipodi

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 29, 2010
Messages
3,593
Quite disappointed from the aa options.
They added smaa and it is very welcomed but a light version of smaa, with that enabled I see too aliasing.
 

misterbobby

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 18, 2014
Messages
3,814
Quite disappointed from the aa options.
They added smaa and it is very welcomed but a light version of smaa, with that enabled I see too aliasing.
You have 4 AA options plus you can use DSR. I swear people will complain no matter what.
 

sblantipodi

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 29, 2010
Messages
3,593
You have 4 AA options plus you can use DSR. I swear people will complain no matter what.

DSR is not viable because SLI don't work good.
FXAA is for low end rigs, SMAA 2x degrades image quality, SMAA 4x is too heavy without SLI.

The only aa usable on my gtx980 ti SLI is SMAA.
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
20,777
tough call with my GTX 970 at 1920 x 1200...with everything else maxed out (except for Texture Quality on High instead of Very High)...SSAA 4X down to SSAA 2X and I gain 10 fps...SSAA 2X down to SMAA and I gain an additional 15 fps...SSAA 4X is not playable as I get under 30 fps in spots...SMAA gets me frame rates in the 50's and above with slight dips...but I really want to be able to use SSAA 2X
 

Colonel Sanders

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 26, 2001
Messages
4,886
Please provide a basis for this statement.

Conspiracy theory? Fact?

lol it's just utter bullshit, another one on the "OMG DRM!!" bandwagon.

The game runs fairly well for me with everything cranked except SSAA which completely tanks FPS, but I do get some stutter in the wide open areas when you're panning the view or moving from one area to the next. Kinda disappointing since none of that happens on the Xbox One version...

wtf, devs just can't seem to get a handle on making the texture streaming systems that work so well on the PS4 and Xbox One work on the PC.
 

misterbobby

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 18, 2014
Messages
3,814
The aliasing is freaking terrible even with SMAA and there is some type of film grain too and combined those can make some scenes look like poop.
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
20,777
wow they added SMAA as an AA option!...even the GeForce Performance Guide mentions only FXAA and SSAA...this literally must have been a last minute call to add SMAA...SMAA definitely offers the best mix of performance and visuals...SSAA is a frame rate killer and FXAA is always a last resort for me

Nvidia updated their Rise of the Tomb Raider performance guide with the following--

"Update: The launch build of the game adds a SMAA anti-aliasing mode that we'll add to comparisons and benchmarks in the near future. Initial tests show spotty anti-aliasing coverage, leaving many surfaces and edges aliased to the same degree as when anti-aliasing is switched off. Where SMAA does work the improvement is slight, though it does at least avoid blurring textures like FXAA"

so SMAA is confirmed to be pretty much broken
 

misterbobby

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 18, 2014
Messages
3,814
Nvidia updated their Rise of the Tomb Raider performance guide with the following--

"Update: The launch build of the game adds a SMAA anti-aliasing mode that we'll add to comparisons and benchmarks in the near future. Initial tests show spotty anti-aliasing coverage, leaving many surfaces and edges aliased to the same degree as when anti-aliasing is switched off. Where SMAA does work the improvement is slight, though it does at least avoid blurring textures like FXAA"

so SMAA is confirmed to be pretty much broken
Hmm well that confirms what I have seen too as SMAA does basically nothing in this game.
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
20,777
performance is strange because you could be averaging 50 fps but then when you pan to the right it drops to 35 fps...turn to the left it goes to 45 fps...
 

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
11,881
I would hope that a patch or two and drivers fixes things. The last Tomb Raider ran terribly on Nvidia for a week or so. Then it was much improved.
 

cageymaru

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 10, 2003
Messages
20,714
I would hope that a patch or two and drivers fixes things. The last Tomb Raider ran terribly on Nvidia for a week or so. Then it was much improved.

Well it seems that Nvidia had a big hand in bringing this title to life as it is even bundled with their video cards. But more patches should fix any issues that currently exist. ;)
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
20,777
after tinkering around with the graphics settings for an hour or so I finally settled on SSAA 2X with everything else maxed out except for Texture Quality at High...averaging in the upper 40's with swings into the 50's and 30's...but the game is very playable with no stuttering or noticeable frame rate issues...steady 60 fps would be great but I don't need it as long as the game feels and looks right to me...FXAA sucks and SMAA is broken so I wanted to make SSAA work

big difference in image quality from the first Tomb Raider game in 2013...that game had this weird grainy look to it which I never liked...with this game it looks noticeably better...graphics are much more crisp and detailed...still has plenty of low res textures but overall the game is a big step up

GTX 970...1920 x 1200...Windows 7-64 bit

 

misterbobby

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 18, 2014
Messages
3,814
after tinkering around with the graphics settings for an hour or so I finally settled on SSAA 2X with everything else maxed out except for Texture Quality at High...averaging in the upper 40's with swings into the 50's and 30's...but the game is very playable with no stuttering or noticeable frame rate issues...steady 60 fps would be great but I don't need it as long as the game feels and looks right to me...FXAA sucks and SMAA is broken so I wanted to make SSAA work

big difference in image quality from the first Tomb Raider game in 2013...that game had this weird grainy look to it which I never liked...with this game it looks noticeably better...graphics are much more crisp and detailed...still has plenty of low res textures but overall the game is a big step up

GTX 970...1920 x 1200...Windows 7-64 bit

I think this game looks even more grainy than the first in some spots.
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
20,777
I think this game looks even more grainy than the first in some spots.

in some spots yes but overall it's much improved in my opinion...seems like the entire game was grainy last time but not with this...I think using FXAA in the last game also didn't help as I was never able to use MSAA because of the performance hit
 

Stiler

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 4, 2002
Messages
10,538
You can turn off the grain in the options. It's the screen effects option. It also turns off the dirt/water, etc appearing on the camera.
 

Dion

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
3,769
after tinkering around with the graphics settings for an hour or so I finally settled on SSAA 2X with everything else maxed out except for Texture Quality at High...averaging in the upper 40's with swings into the 50's and 30's...but the game is very playable with no stuttering or noticeable frame rate issues...steady 60 fps would be great but I don't need it as long as the game feels and looks right to me...FXAA sucks and SMAA is broken so I wanted to make SSAA work

big difference in image quality from the first Tomb Raider game in 2013...that game had this weird grainy look to it which I never liked...with this game it looks noticeably better...graphics are much more crisp and detailed...still has plenty of low res textures but overall the game is a big step up

GTX 970...1920 x 1200...Windows 7-64 bit


16:10 monitor.. Man that is old stuff :O


I <3 Ultrawide
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
20,777
I <3 Ultrawide

Ultrawide will be next monitor upgrade...but for now I like my NEC 16:10...dislike 16:9 for computer monitors...16:9 is for TV's

the PureHair is not all that amazing...looks nice but I forget about it after awhile...doesn't look like a major leap from TressFX in the last TR game...anyone try injecting SMAA with ReShade/SweetFX?
 

sblantipodi

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 29, 2010
Messages
3,593
tough call with my GTX 970 at 1920 x 1200...with everything else maxed out (except for Texture Quality on High instead of Very High)...SSAA 4X down to SSAA 2X and I gain 10 fps...SSAA 2X down to SMAA and I gain an additional 15 fps...SSAA 4X is not playable as I get under 30 fps in spots...SMAA gets me frame rates in the 50's and above with slight dips...but I really want to be able to use SSAA 2X

Can't understand why you prefer SSAA 2x over SMAA, on this game SSAA is a crap,
the SSAA 2x blurs the texture and it doesn't bring any improvements to aliasing over SMAA.

Imho the way to go is SMAA on this game since SSAA 4x is not doable neither with a GTX980 Ti SLI.
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
20,777
Can't understand why you prefer SSAA 2x over SMAA, on this game SSAA is a crap,
the SSAA 2x blurs the texture and it doesn't bring any improvements to aliasing over SMAA.

Imho the way to go is SMAA on this game since SSAA 4x is not doable neither with a GTX980 Ti SLI.

you do realize that SMAA is completely broken in the game right?...if you think it looks better it's a placebo...SMAA injected via ReShade might be different but Nvidia stated in their own performance guide for the game that SMAA is no better or possibly worse then FXAA...as far as SLI that might be even more broken then the anti-aliasing
 

sblantipodi

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 29, 2010
Messages
3,593
you do realize that SMAA is completely broken in the game right?...if you think it looks better it's a placebo...SMAA injected via ReShade might be different but Nvidia stated in their own performance guide for the game that SMAA is no better or possibly worse then FXAA...as far as SLI that might be even more broken then the anti-aliasing

Unfortunantly yes, I have a GTX980 Ti SLI and I'm not able to play decently neither on 1080P.
This is a shame.
AA is completely broken in this game.

FXAA is a mess for textures
SMAA is broken
SSAA 2x is a mess for image sharpness
SSAA 4x is a mess for performance
DSR 4x has more performance hit than SSAA 4x but the best image quality
 

redmasc

Gawd
Joined
Apr 28, 2005
Messages
798
Does anyone have any issues starting the game? I just built my new computer and installed W10 on it and installed Rise of the Tomb Raider. I have a dedicated 1TB SSD to store games since my main C: drive is only a 256gb NVME SSD. When I try to start the game, it just refuses to load up. The hourglass spins for a few seconds then it stops. I've had this issue before with another game and was wondering if anyone else is running into this issue and how to resolve it.
 

M76

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 12, 2012
Messages
12,290
Is that bad or good? I don't want games to run like dope.
 

Derangel

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 31, 2008
Messages
19,749
Ultrawide will be next monitor upgrade...but for now I like my NEC 16:10...dislike 16:9 for computer monitors...16:9 is for TV's

the PureHair is not all that amazing...looks nice but I forget about it after awhile...doesn't look like a major leap from TressFX in the last TR game...anyone try injecting SMAA with ReShade/SweetFX?

Ultrawide will be my next monitor upgrade too. Maybe this summer or fall, depending on if I want to

A) Wait for the 144hz ultrawides to come out

and

B) Upgrade my GPU twice in one year so I can get one that supports DP1.3
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
19,935
AA's almost always the first thing I turn down (often before even playing), so I'm okay with that being the bottleneck. Shadows would be next. Those are the two things I notice the least.
 
Top