Rise of the Tomb Raider

Sikkyu

I Question Reality
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
2,878
can't tell if you're serious or not but I posted them as thumbnails...meaning you need to click on each pic to enlarge them...posting them as full size png or jpeg screenies would clog up the page

when I click the link it takes me to the thumbnail, not the screenshot.
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
23,140
this is a stunningly beautiful game...the textures on cloth, rocks, the ground, ice etc look gorgeous at times...the particle effects are also amazing...



 
Last edited:

harmattan

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
5,110
Having a very strange issue since the 16.1.1 AMD hotfix. The game almost invariably locks up at the load screen. The only way I can force load progress is to alt+tab out of the game, then alt+tab back in. Also, since the hotfix, the menu is extremely sluggish. Anyone else seen this?
 

MorgothPl

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
3,020
So much more fun than in first part. Lots of jumping puzzles and trying to figure how to get to some parts... like in the original series :) And I changed from SMAA to FXAA, I really don't see much difference in quality, but 60FPS experience is great :)
 

sblantipodi

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 29, 2010
Messages
3,678
The latest patch is the reason why I changed my negative vote for a positive one.
My GTX980 Ti SLI scales well with a constant >90% GPU usage on both GPUs.

I have maxed out the game completely except for the ingame AA, now I'm using 4K DSR (4x DSR 0% smoothness). Games looks incredibly awesome, 4x DSR 0% smoothness is in my hopinion better than in game SSAA4x, it requires less resources and it improve textures quality by a really wider margin.
Framerate averages 60FPS in a solid way now, very rare drop to 38FPS and some spikes to 80FPS but the average is solid in the 55-65 range.

Technically speaking I am satisfied now, now I can start the game and play it to see if it is the good game that reviewers are talking about :)

Good work guys.
 

cageymaru

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 10, 2003
Messages
21,474
Hope the new AMD and Nvidia cards coming this year can run the game maxed out at 1440p60 fps on a single card.
 

Dion

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
3,808
Game constantly crashes for me now after patch.

Went back to old patch now its crashing too.. Guess ill have to wait for a 2nd patch.
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
23,140
game is a lot of fun...there's a ton of tombs, crypts, caves, collectables, side-missions etc
 

eloj

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 31, 2000
Messages
3,612
In sections where you can avoid combat, are you awarded XP for doing so? I feel like they put out a video to that effect but I can't remember.
 

Armenius

Extremely [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
35,316
Hope the new AMD and Nvidia cards coming this year can run the game maxed out at 1440p60 fps on a single card.
I haven't tried the new patch yet, but I was already running the game with everything on Very High at 2560x1440 and get more than 60 FPS (70-80 was typical).
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
23,140
every time a new icon appears on my map indicating a new cave, crypt, side-mission etc I find myself wanting to do everything the game has to offer...the side stuff is very Ubisoft-ish but the game hits all the right notes for me making exploring everything a ton of fun...the optional tombs are really beautiful
 

cageymaru

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 10, 2003
Messages
21,474
I haven't tried the new patch yet, but I was already running the game with everything on Very High at 2560x1440 and get more than 60 FPS (70-80 was typical).

Nvidia says that there are areas where the frame rate will drop tremendously with a 980ti @1440p. This is a game that you max out @1080p60 with a 980ti. Which is a good thing as it will give me and others incentives to upgrade when the next batch of cards comes out. :)
 

LurkerLito

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
2,537
There are places that dipped into the 40fps range for me with AA off when I played through the game with a 980Ti at near maxed out settings on my rig. I finished it with a 91% complete rating and mostly it ran at near 60fps (though I always have vsync on as I hate tearing). A very good TR game well worth the money and that was prepatch. I had only one CTD the whole time I played so they did this one right IMHO. :) I might give it a try later, but over all I am done with the game for now.
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
21,595
Haven't tried the game with the new patch yet, but performance was mostly fine before. There are those weird hiccups near smoke/fire, but not much else.
 

lee0539

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
1,804
no patch for the microsoft store version. well at least i now know never to buy from microsoft store
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
21,595
The "campfire effect" is still in the patched version. Not really seeing any performance changes, although I do like being able to eliminate the film grain with a toggle. I think I actually like the look of it better on, but options are always appreciated.
 

Ryan7968

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
310
The patch seems to be giving me better performance in SLI. I can run SSAA x4 now smoothly whereas before I felt forced to run FXAA. With all settings at max but textures at High, I get nearly double performance with two cards compared to one.

Very High textures is of course still pushing it at 1080P. Most of the time the cards are using between 3700MB and completely full. While running the game I'll see the system process use from 6000MB to 9000MB at Very High (2500-3500 on High). The performance is lower overall at Very High, but most of the time seems smooth enough. It is the increased stuttering during transitions or when some sort of event happens that the Very High setting becomes the most jarring. I think the Very High textures do look better but for the best overall experience I have to use High.
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
23,140
the new 'Specular Reflection Quality' set to Very High seems to have an impact for me...I'm running the game maxed out at 1920 x 1200 except for Textures set to High instead of Very High with ReShade SMAA and was getting solid 50's+ frame rates but now it seems to have dipped slightly according to Afterburner...or maybe it's because I entered a new area which seems to be very graphically intense- Geothermal Valley
 

custom90gt

Gawd
Joined
Jun 6, 2007
Messages
552
I was up in the air about selling the copy that I received with my 980ti, however after looking at a few of the pages from this thread, I think I'll keep it. Looks amazing.
 

Lemonade727

Weaksauce
Joined
Jun 27, 2013
Messages
110
I was up in the air about selling the copy that I received with my 980ti, however after looking at a few of the pages from this thread, I think I'll keep it. Looks amazing.

It's definitely one of the titles that will push the Ti depending on what settings you opt to play with.
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
21,595
Anyone using a controller with the game?

Yup, works great. It's fairly easy, so have no fears about lining shots up, too. Only run into one harder spot (difficulty up, too) and I'm 1/3 of the way in.
 

Q-BZ

Fully [H]
Joined
Sep 28, 2007
Messages
19,568
Anyone using a controller with the game?

I've experimented with it.

You can't go wrong with either KBM or controller in this game. Everyone should be happy. I'm sticking with KBM myself.


Overall I continue to be very impressed with this game.
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
21,595
In playing around with details from high and very high, I'm not really noticing any performance difference at all. I just went back to very high. In just a quick "eye test," I think it makes more of a difference than 2x vs. 4xAA, so I'm sticking to 2x AA and very high.

Can anyone explain how the cards and points work? Are those wildcards that are in the game or are they toggled on/off somewhere? I can't quite figure out where my point scores and cards are affecting the game.
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
21,595
As I get further, I'll definitely echo the sentiment that you need to crank the difficulty on this game.
After playing Uncharted on the higher difficulties, this game is incredibly easy. Gamepad aiming and all.
 

custom90gt

Gawd
Joined
Jun 6, 2007
Messages
552
As I get further, I'll definitely echo the sentiment that you need to crank the difficulty on this game.
After playing Uncharted on the higher difficulties, this game is incredibly easy. Gamepad aiming and all.

Cool I'll remember to crank up the difficulty on it. I dunno if I can do the gamepad aiming though.
 

addictedto60fps

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
1,329
As I get further, I'll definitely echo the sentiment that you need to crank the difficulty on this game.
After playing Uncharted on the higher difficulties, this game is incredibly easy. Gamepad aiming and all.

It's been a long time since I played the last Tomb Raider, but if I remember correctly, the combat on the last one was also similarly very easy? In any case, yup, crank up that difficulty, as it makes the game much more interesting and the combat much more engaging. Some of the later combat encounters are actually quite cool.
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
21,595
I'm not great at gampad aiming, but I'm at least passable. I recently played through Uncharted 1 with the difficulty cranked, so that might have an effect on my opinion, too.
Still, it seems like enemies love standing around and letting you shoot them or just running at you. There are a few instances where they pin you down a little, but the lack of a good cover mechanic forced them to make the enemies too easy.
 

syd2o2

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2010
Messages
194
I have a strange issue with save games. I've got to 9%, just after the bear. But I can't use my save files to continue. If I click on continue, it starts the game from the start. If I manually go to load and select any save, when it loads, it still starts from the beginning. Saves themselves are showing 8% and 9%. Anybody encounter this? Any way to continue without starting over?
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
23,140
As I get further, I'll definitely echo the sentiment that you need to crank the difficulty on this game.
After playing Uncharted on the higher difficulties, this game is incredibly easy. Gamepad aiming and all.

I've been playing on Seasoned Raider (which is the Hard setting)...game is still too easy except for a few fights but overall I wouldn't play it on the default setting...the Challenge Tombs (puzzles) also don't seem all that difficult but they do require some thinking...graphics continue to impress me...really is one of the better looking PC games I've played in awhile
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
21,595
I think it's a good game. Difficulty is my only real gripe with it. Wolves are more dangerous than most armed troops. The lack of a cover/stealth system is strange seeing how the game kinda sorta tries to make you do both at random.
Graphics are excellent, controls are pretty sharp, and I like the progression system.
Puzzles are simple enough, which is fine. Uncharted 2 and 3 go a little too overboard with epic 20-step giant puzzles, so I kinda appreciate simpler ones. A game loses immersion when you manage to shatter a 50 million year old stone puzzle room in 4 places and still solve the riddle.
 

Armenius

Extremely [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
35,316
The game automatically puts you into stealth around enemies. Notice how Lara gets low to the ground. You don't get broken out of it until you're noticed. It worked the same way in TR 2013. Except the parts of the game that force a live encounter I've been able to go through most without ever breaking stealth. Cover works much the same way. When you move close to a wall or low structure Lara will automatically assume cover, and you can peek out to fire from it when you aim.
 
Top