Rise of the Tomb Raider

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Hardware' started by polonyc2, Jun 10, 2014.

  1. Sikkyu

    Sikkyu I Question Reality

    Messages:
    2,879
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    when I click the link it takes me to the thumbnail, not the screenshot.
     
  2. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    16,838
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    you click on the pic and it enlarges it...if you want full size, you click it again...
     
  3. eloj

    eloj 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,612
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
  4. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    16,838
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    this is a stunningly beautiful game...the textures on cloth, rocks, the ground, ice etc look gorgeous at times...the particle effects are also amazing...

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2016
  5. harmattan

    harmattan [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,241
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Having a very strange issue since the 16.1.1 AMD hotfix. The game almost invariably locks up at the load screen. The only way I can force load progress is to alt+tab out of the game, then alt+tab back in. Also, since the hotfix, the menu is extremely sluggish. Anyone else seen this?
     
  6. sblantipodi

    sblantipodi 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,441
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    hi,
    is there some news in SLI scaling performance?
    Does it scale well now?
     
  7. MorgothPl

    MorgothPl 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,016
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    So much more fun than in first part. Lots of jumping puzzles and trying to figure how to get to some parts... like in the original series :) And I changed from SMAA to FXAA, I really don't see much difference in quality, but 60FPS experience is great :)
     
  8. sblantipodi

    sblantipodi 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,441
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    The latest patch is the reason why I changed my negative vote for a positive one.
    My GTX980 Ti SLI scales well with a constant >90% GPU usage on both GPUs.

    I have maxed out the game completely except for the ingame AA, now I'm using 4K DSR (4x DSR 0% smoothness). Games looks incredibly awesome, 4x DSR 0% smoothness is in my hopinion better than in game SSAA4x, it requires less resources and it improve textures quality by a really wider margin.
    Framerate averages 60FPS in a solid way now, very rare drop to 38FPS and some spikes to 80FPS but the average is solid in the 55-65 range.

    Technically speaking I am satisfied now, now I can start the game and play it to see if it is the good game that reviewers are talking about :)

    Good work guys.
     
  9. cageymaru

    cageymaru [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    19,814
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Hope the new AMD and Nvidia cards coming this year can run the game maxed out at 1440p60 fps on a single card.
     
  10. Dion

    Dion 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,721
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Game constantly crashes for me now after patch.

    Went back to old patch now its crashing too.. Guess ill have to wait for a 2nd patch.
     
  11. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    16,838
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    game is a lot of fun...there's a ton of tombs, crypts, caves, collectables, side-missions etc
     
  12. eloj

    eloj 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,612
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    In sections where you can avoid combat, are you awarded XP for doing so? I feel like they put out a video to that effect but I can't remember.
     
  13. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    18,650
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    I haven't tried the new patch yet, but I was already running the game with everything on Very High at 2560x1440 and get more than 60 FPS (70-80 was typical).
     
  14. staknhalo

    staknhalo [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,215
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Friend got me the Baba Yaga DLC, will play that with the new patch out.
     
  15. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    16,838
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    every time a new icon appears on my map indicating a new cave, crypt, side-mission etc I find myself wanting to do everything the game has to offer...the side stuff is very Ubisoft-ish but the game hits all the right notes for me making exploring everything a ton of fun...the optional tombs are really beautiful
     
  16. cageymaru

    cageymaru [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    19,814
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Nvidia says that there are areas where the frame rate will drop tremendously with a 980ti @1440p. This is a game that you max out @1080p60 with a 980ti. Which is a good thing as it will give me and others incentives to upgrade when the next batch of cards comes out. :)
     
  17. LurkerLito

    LurkerLito 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,128
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    There are places that dipped into the 40fps range for me with AA off when I played through the game with a 980Ti at near maxed out settings on my rig. I finished it with a 91% complete rating and mostly it ran at near 60fps (though I always have vsync on as I hate tearing). A very good TR game well worth the money and that was prepatch. I had only one CTD the whole time I played so they did this one right IMHO. :) I might give it a try later, but over all I am done with the game for now.
     
  18. Domingo

    Domingo [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,226
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Haven't tried the game with the new patch yet, but performance was mostly fine before. There are those weird hiccups near smoke/fire, but not much else.
     
  19. lee0539

    lee0539 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,804
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2001
    no patch for the microsoft store version. well at least i now know never to buy from microsoft store
     
  20. cageymaru

    cageymaru [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    19,814
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Yes, I heard about that. I guess it was good that I was blocked from buying it from them, :)
     
  21. Domingo

    Domingo [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,226
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    The "campfire effect" is still in the patched version. Not really seeing any performance changes, although I do like being able to eliminate the film grain with a toggle. I think I actually like the look of it better on, but options are always appreciated.
     
  22. Ryan7968

    Ryan7968 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    281
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    The patch seems to be giving me better performance in SLI. I can run SSAA x4 now smoothly whereas before I felt forced to run FXAA. With all settings at max but textures at High, I get nearly double performance with two cards compared to one.

    Very High textures is of course still pushing it at 1080P. Most of the time the cards are using between 3700MB and completely full. While running the game I'll see the system process use from 6000MB to 9000MB at Very High (2500-3500 on High). The performance is lower overall at Very High, but most of the time seems smooth enough. It is the increased stuttering during transitions or when some sort of event happens that the Very High setting becomes the most jarring. I think the Very High textures do look better but for the best overall experience I have to use High.
     
  23. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    16,838
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    the new 'Specular Reflection Quality' set to Very High seems to have an impact for me...I'm running the game maxed out at 1920 x 1200 except for Textures set to High instead of Very High with ReShade SMAA and was getting solid 50's+ frame rates but now it seems to have dipped slightly according to Afterburner...or maybe it's because I entered a new area which seems to be very graphically intense- Geothermal Valley
     
  24. harsaphes

    harsaphes [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,432
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Anyone using a controller with the game?
     
  25. rsbennett00

    rsbennett00 Gawd

    Messages:
    768
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Yes, start to finish. Works beautifully like the first.
     
  26. custom90gt

    custom90gt Gawd

    Messages:
    532
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    I was up in the air about selling the copy that I received with my 980ti, however after looking at a few of the pages from this thread, I think I'll keep it. Looks amazing.
     
  27. Lemonade727

    Lemonade727 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    110
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    It's definitely one of the titles that will push the Ti depending on what settings you opt to play with.
     
  28. Domingo

    Domingo [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,226
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Yup, works great. It's fairly easy, so have no fears about lining shots up, too. Only run into one harder spot (difficulty up, too) and I'm 1/3 of the way in.
     
  29. Q-BZ

    Q-BZ [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,290
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    I've experimented with it.

    You can't go wrong with either KBM or controller in this game. Everyone should be happy. I'm sticking with KBM myself.


    Overall I continue to be very impressed with this game.
     
  30. Domingo

    Domingo [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,226
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    In playing around with details from high and very high, I'm not really noticing any performance difference at all. I just went back to very high. In just a quick "eye test," I think it makes more of a difference than 2x vs. 4xAA, so I'm sticking to 2x AA and very high.

    Can anyone explain how the cards and points work? Are those wildcards that are in the game or are they toggled on/off somewhere? I can't quite figure out where my point scores and cards are affecting the game.
     
  31. Dion

    Dion 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,721
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Game requires aiming.. So nope..
     
  32. custom90gt

    custom90gt Gawd

    Messages:
    532
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Yeah I don't think running it at 3440x1440 will help a ton. At least it's not 4k I guess.
     
  33. Domingo

    Domingo [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,226
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    As I get further, I'll definitely echo the sentiment that you need to crank the difficulty on this game.
    After playing Uncharted on the higher difficulties, this game is incredibly easy. Gamepad aiming and all.
     
  34. custom90gt

    custom90gt Gawd

    Messages:
    532
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Cool I'll remember to crank up the difficulty on it. I dunno if I can do the gamepad aiming though.
     
  35. addictedto60fps

    addictedto60fps [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,329
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    It's been a long time since I played the last Tomb Raider, but if I remember correctly, the combat on the last one was also similarly very easy? In any case, yup, crank up that difficulty, as it makes the game much more interesting and the combat much more engaging. Some of the later combat encounters are actually quite cool.
     
  36. Domingo

    Domingo [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,226
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    I'm not great at gampad aiming, but I'm at least passable. I recently played through Uncharted 1 with the difficulty cranked, so that might have an effect on my opinion, too.
    Still, it seems like enemies love standing around and letting you shoot them or just running at you. There are a few instances where they pin you down a little, but the lack of a good cover mechanic forced them to make the enemies too easy.
     
  37. syd2o2

    syd2o2 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    150
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    I have a strange issue with save games. I've got to 9%, just after the bear. But I can't use my save files to continue. If I click on continue, it starts the game from the start. If I manually go to load and select any save, when it loads, it still starts from the beginning. Saves themselves are showing 8% and 9%. Anybody encounter this? Any way to continue without starting over?
     
  38. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    16,838
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    I've been playing on Seasoned Raider (which is the Hard setting)...game is still too easy except for a few fights but overall I wouldn't play it on the default setting...the Challenge Tombs (puzzles) also don't seem all that difficult but they do require some thinking...graphics continue to impress me...really is one of the better looking PC games I've played in awhile
     
  39. Domingo

    Domingo [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,226
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    I think it's a good game. Difficulty is my only real gripe with it. Wolves are more dangerous than most armed troops. The lack of a cover/stealth system is strange seeing how the game kinda sorta tries to make you do both at random.
    Graphics are excellent, controls are pretty sharp, and I like the progression system.
    Puzzles are simple enough, which is fine. Uncharted 2 and 3 go a little too overboard with epic 20-step giant puzzles, so I kinda appreciate simpler ones. A game loses immersion when you manage to shatter a 50 million year old stone puzzle room in 4 places and still solve the riddle.
     
  40. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    18,650
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    The game automatically puts you into stealth around enemies. Notice how Lara gets low to the ground. You don't get broken out of it until you're noticed. It worked the same way in TR 2013. Except the parts of the game that force a live encounter I've been able to go through most without ever breaking stealth. Cover works much the same way. When you move close to a wall or low structure Lara will automatically assume cover, and you can peek out to fire from it when you aim.