Resident Evil Village (RE8)

MelonSplitter

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 6, 2006
Messages
1,035
Update and Fixed: Well it wasn't the game afterall, it was my CX48. My fix was to change my CX48 to game mode. I originally was using Standard mode for PC. Now HDR is not greyed out in game and it looks HDR gorgeous. I hope this helps.
 

chameleoneel

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Messages
5,943
Update and Fixed: Well it wasn't the game afterall, it was my CX48. My fix was to change my CX48 to game mode. I originally was using Standard mode for PC. Now HDR is not greyed out in game and it looks HDR gorgeous. I hope this helps.
input lag will be a gigantic improvement, as well.
 

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
12,532
Anyone experience any stuttering and have a high end PC? Looks like the issue might have been Capcom's anti tamper DRM.

https://www.dsogaming.com/news/resident-evil-village-crack-completely-fixes-its-stuttering-issues/

It had both Denuvo and Capcom's in house solution and has now been cracked. Apparently the cracked version is running more smoothly with less stuttering. Wondering if anyone actually experienced the stuttering or was it just something a few PC configurations and people are blowing it out of proportion for click bait articles?

I don't mind some DRM but if it starts hurting performance you're doing something wrong.
 

jobert

Gawd
Joined
Dec 13, 2020
Messages
692
Anyone experience any stuttering and have a high end PC? Looks like the issue might have been Capcom's anti tamper DRM.

https://www.dsogaming.com/news/resident-evil-village-crack-completely-fixes-its-stuttering-issues/

It had both Denuvo and Capcom's in house solution and has now been cracked. Apparently the cracked version is running more smoothly with less stuttering. Wondering if anyone actually experienced the stuttering or was it just something a few PC configurations and people are blowing it out of proportion for click bait articles?

I don't mind some DRM but if it starts hurting performance you're doing something wrong.
The stuttering is there to some degree for everyone. I have tested the game on two setups with nearly identical results. Anyone saying the game never stutters for them are just not very sensitive to it. It is no different than the people that claim Star Wars Jedi Fallen Order never stutters yet I can reproduce it on every single system I have tried it on.
 
Last edited:

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
12,532
The stuttering is there to some degree for everyone. I have tested the game on two setups with nearly identical results. Anyone saying the game never stutters for them are just not very sensitive to it. It is no different than the people that claim Star Wars Jedi Fallen Order never stutters yet I can reproduce it on every single system I have tried it on.

Will be interesting to see more people compare the version with Capcom's DRM and without it.
 

djoye

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 31, 2004
Messages
3,017
I had stutter in the demo when dealing with the swarm/sister, I took a detour to cleanup some of my game backlog so I'm not yet that far in the full game.

RTX 3090 + i7-9700K
 

jobert

Gawd
Joined
Dec 13, 2020
Messages
692
This mod was updated and now fixes the stuttering I guess by bypassing the anti tamper code. It was posted on the Steam forums and works for all those that tried it and also I can confirm it worked for me. I tested on the first daughter that attacks and fps drops into the 30s and lots of stuttering without the mod but stayed perfectly smooth and pegged at 60 fps with it.

https://www.nexusmods.com/residentevilvillage/mods/60
 

jobert

Gawd
Joined
Dec 13, 2020
Messages
692


At least now the real issue has been brought to light and the random people that said "it works great for me must be your pc" look pretty damn foolish. I swear I just wanted to slap the few clowns on the Steam forums claiming nothing was wrong with the game and that everyone having problems just doesn't how to setup their pc. I get so sick of that BS because every real performance issue I ever encounter has always turned out to be the game and not my pc. Every time I have an issue its easily reproducible on any another setup I try it on and is also mentioned in reviews from places like digital foundry.
 
Last edited:

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
12,532
Apparently the cracked version has issues. Certain animations and actions won't work.

So I assume the "best version" of this game is the Steam version with the updated mod.
 

jobert

Gawd
Joined
Dec 13, 2020
Messages
692
Apparently the cracked version has issues. Certain animations and actions won't work.

So I assume the "best version" of this game is the Steam version with the updated mod.
Sad thing is companies know they can release games that have issues and still have most user reviews be positive if the game itself is halfway good. There are plenty of games out there with hitching and stuttering and the devs know goddamn well its happening before release because there is no way their testers are that oblivious. Borderlands 3, Jedi Fallen Order, The Sinking City, The Medium., The Outer Worlds, Outlast and Observer are some games I can think of right of the top of my head that cant run perfectly smooth and will have some hitches and drops. In fact some of those games cant even hold 60 fps in spots no matter how much hardware you throw at it. FFS even the old Batman Arkham Asylum game has massive drops when walking through certain areas. And gsync nor freesync helps at all with the type of stutters I am talking about and in fact can exacerbate the issues. It does seem pretty clear that Unreal Engine is part of the issue in many of those games as very few devs can make smooth game with it. Usually the Gears of War games are smooth but I know Gears of War Ultimate as been broken for nearly 3 years now and Microsoft or the devs don't give a crap. If I could sell my Steam account I would just give up on pc gaming and keep things simple with a $400 console as I am getting too picky in my old age to want to keep spending money on expensive pc hardware and put of with issues left and right. ok rant over... :ROFLMAO:
 

Drexion

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 14, 2004
Messages
1,464
The issue isn't Denuvo, but the way capcom's DRM interacts with it. Capcom's DRM also has insert points on some animations, causing the DRM to trigger checks everytime they are played. Some devs include their own DRM on top of Denuvo to make their exe's harder to bypass.
 

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
5,524
I finally played through Evil Within 2, and honestly, I feel it was a better game compared to RE8 across the board when you're looking at just spending a single playthrough. RE8 technically has better graphics, but I really enjoyed how much more variety of locations there are in the Evil Within series.

For actual horror, I still think RE7 was the best. RE8 didn't scare me a single time.
 

GOD'SlittleSERVANT

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
Messages
7,224
I finally played through Evil Within 2, and honestly, I feel it was a better game compared to RE8 across the board when you're looking at just spending a single playthrough. RE8 technically has better graphics, but I really enjoyed how much more variety of locations there are in the Evil Within series.

For actual horror, I still think RE7 was the best. RE8 didn't scare me a single time.
Bro, whaaat? Those Lycans are scary mofos.
 

Aireoth

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 12, 2005
Messages
5,934
I finally played through Evil Within 2, and honestly, I feel it was a better game compared to RE8 across the board when you're looking at just spending a single playthrough. RE8 technically has better graphics, but I really enjoyed how much more variety of locations there are in the Evil Within series.

For actual horror, I still think RE7 was the best. RE8 didn't scare me a single time.
Capcom has been quoted that they backed off on the suspense of RE8 so I'm not surprised.
 

chameleoneel

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Messages
5,943
Good thing is, all the bad press about this is likely to push Capcom into finally developing a patch to smooth out performance issues.
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
32,401
Still seeing reports of stuttering. Capcom just needs to either get rid of their own DRM or Denuvo if they don't want to completely get rid of it. And stop putting anti-cheat systems in single player only games.
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
22,088
since this is an AMD sponsored game will we ever get DLSS support?...so games won't ever have both FSR and DLSS?
 

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
12,532
since this is an AMD sponsored game will we ever get DLSS support?...so games won't ever have both FSR and DLSS?

According to this list, some games have both:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_games_with_support_for_high-fidelity_image_upscaling

Not sure how accurate that is. Doubtful many developers will implement both. Really necessary if you want to use ray tracing. I preferred Cyberpunk with ray tracing and DLSS over no ray tracing without DLSS personally.
 

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
5,524
since this is an AMD sponsored game will we ever get DLSS support?...so games won't ever have both FSR and DLSS?
Won't ever happen unless we ever get some new version of DLSS that allows us to force it via the NVCP regardless of specific game support or not.
 

chameleoneel

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Messages
5,943

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
22,088
Avengers and Necromunda have both. Hardware Unboxed put out a video.

looks like Avengers got FSR support a few days ago...it still seems like developers will choose one or the other but good to know its possible to have both
 

Krenum

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 29, 2005
Messages
18,795
It would be great if Capcom could fix the FOV rather than me having to rely on 3rd party mods.
 

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
12,532
So I'm having an issue with this game. Noticed it happening with others every now and then, but RE8 it is constant. If I minimize a game, upon maximizing it I only get around half the frame rates. On latest Nvidia drivers. Is there some setting that I should enable in the Nvidia control panel to present this from happening?

Edit: Also seems to happen randomly when the game plays an in game cutscene. Sometimes it halves my frame rates. A restart fixes it. Was thinking it was something on my PC's end but now I am not too sure. When the game runs normally, it runs and looks great though.
 
Last edited:

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
20,976
Doing a replay through the game for a 3rd time, but am playing on "casual" for the sole purpose of earning money to improve my weapons. I've discovered that the achievement for completing the game without healing is 100% feasible in this mode. Especially if you have unlimited ammo for any of the better weapons like the STG-12 or the Dragoon. I've only used a single healing item and it was literally just to clear it out of my inventory. I've been collecting almost everything (to sell), but a 4-5 hour speedrun seems very feasible if I just kept moving forward and skipping every cutscene.

Someone had mentioned earlier that the game always started in a window for them. That seems to be happening for me, too. I almost always start in a window or fullscreen in the wrong resolution. Might be a Gsync thing since this is my first experience actually having Gsync capability. Either way, I have to change something basically every time I launch the game. The FPS I can pull = pretty amazing, though. Between 90 and 100 most of the time, with a few areas dropping into the 70's and some going all the way to 120.
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
32,401
So I'm having an issue with this game. Noticed it happening with others every now and then, but RE8 it is constant. If I minimize a game, upon maximizing it I only get around half the frame rates. On latest Nvidia drivers. Is there some setting that I should enable in the Nvidia control panel to present this from happening?

Edit: Also seems to happen randomly when the game plays an in game cutscene. Sometimes it halves my frame rates. A restart fixes it. Was thinking it was something on my PC's end but now I am not too sure. When the game runs normally, it runs and looks great though.
It's probably an issue with the game. I was having a similar issue with Doom Eternal when it first came out, but it was fixed in a game patch. Also sounds like there is still some memory leakage when you use ray tracing from what I'm reading, which would only be fixed by restarting the game.
Doing a replay through the game for a 3rd time, but am playing on "casual" for the sole purpose of earning money to improve my weapons. I've discovered that the achievement for completing the game without healing is 100% feasible in this mode. Especially if you have unlimited ammo for any of the better weapons like the STG-12 or the Dragoon. I've only used a single healing item and it was literally just to clear it out of my inventory. I've been collecting almost everything (to sell), but a 4-5 hour speedrun seems very feasible if I just kept moving forward and skipping every cutscene.

Someone had mentioned earlier that the game always started in a window for them. That seems to be happening for me, too. I almost always start in a window or fullscreen in the wrong resolution. Might be a Gsync thing since this is my first experience actually having Gsync capability. Either way, I have to change something basically every time I launch the game. The FPS I can pull = pretty amazing, though. Between 90 and 100 most of the time, with a few areas dropping into the 70's and some going all the way to 120.
Starting in windowed isn't a G-SYNC thing. I would try to edit the game's config file to put the game in fullscreen and then set it to read-only to see if that fixes it.
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
20,976
I did it - I actually made it through the entire game only healing once...and it was inventory-related. With unlimited ammo (and the Dragoon or especially the WCX), I think it might be feasible at any difficulty.

After 3 playthroughs, I've managed to max out the F2 Sniper Rifle, V61 Pistol, and SYG12-Shotgun. I'm about halfway to fully upgrading the S.T.A.K.E. as well. It should be maxed about halfway through another playthrough. I have unlimited ammo for everything but the S.T.A.K.E., too. Honestly, you don't really need anything except the Dragoon and maybe a rocket launcher to break walls/armor.

It's probably overkill, but I think I'll probably give the "village of shadows" mode with all this firepower. If nothing else, I shouldn't have to pick up anything but money and crafting items.
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
22,088
Resident Evil Village August 24th PC Patch Test Confirms Major Issues Have yet to Be Fixed

YouTuber Sholva took a good look at the August 24th patch, highlighting in their test video how the patch also fails to address some of the game's critical issues, like the memory leaks, VRAM-related issues, and more...

 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
22,088
Capcom wants PC to be its main platform for games in the future

Capcom aims to have 50% of its sales on PC and 50% on consoles by 2022 or 2023...Chief operating officer Haruhiro Tsujimoto made the comments to Nikkei at this week's Tokyo Game Show

Record-setting sales numbers potentially play a role in Capcom's decision to increase focus on PC...the Resident Evil series became Capcom's first to surpass 100 million lifetime sales...

https://www.pcgamer.com/capcom-pc-games-future/
 

chameleoneel

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Messages
5,943
Capcom wants PC to be its main platform for games in the future

Capcom aims to have 50% of its sales on PC and 50% on consoles by 2022 or 2023...Chief operating officer Haruhiro Tsujimoto made the comments to Nikkei at this week's Tokyo Game Show

Record-setting sales numbers potentially play a role in Capcom's decision to increase focus on PC...the Resident Evil series became Capcom's first to surpass 100 million lifetime sales...

https://www.pcgamer.com/capcom-pc-games-future/
Hopefully it means they put more effort into making sure their DRM solutions don't interfere with game performance....it took them forever to not completely fix the stuttering and frame-dropping issues for RE8.

....Monster Hunter Rise once again ships with Denuvo, etc.
 

jobert

Gawd
Joined
Dec 13, 2020
Messages
692
So they want those sales from the PC gamers yet they are too damn lazy to even fix all of the PC specific issues. What is it with all these game makers that get away with that shit? I still blame all these users that give games that have noticeable issues a positive or overwhelmingly positive review score. FFS there's no possible way that these games have anybody play testing them before they're released. As I said before in numerous threads, some of the most popular and well-reviewed games out there are stutterfests or have other issues that have never been fixed.
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
22,088
Hopefully it means they put more effort into making sure their DRM solutions don't interfere with game performance....it took them forever to not completely fix the stuttering and frame-dropping issues for RE8.

how does RE8 run today?...the stuttering is still there?
 

Pivo504

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
2,925
The last Capcom game I bought was RE 2 remake. Great game as it was one of my fav games besides obviously the original and the visuals on pc were awesome. I tried re7 and village but didn't care for either much. R 7 started out good but went kinda downhill and lost interest towards the end. I started to miss the life less zombies of re2 and the wackos talking to you while they try to kill you got annoying lol. I kind of wish Capcom would do a first person re where your in the mansion like the original.
 

jobert

Gawd
Joined
Dec 13, 2020
Messages
692
I really wish they would fix the 30 FPS animations in re2 and re3 remake as well as revillage. It is absolutely ridiculous that those animations should be in the PC versions or next-gen console versions. It is completely jarring looking at times.
 

chameleoneel

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Messages
5,943
how does RE8 run today?...the stuttering is still there?
oh I'm sorry. I conflated some other lingering issues and the stuttering.

They fixed the stuttering caused by their anti-piracy meausures (but only 2 months ago).

But as others have stated, the game still has some issues which should be pretty easy to fix.
 
Top