Remapped Documents folder in Vista causes game faults

blaitarch

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 17, 2002
Messages
1,140
I have my Documents folder remapped to a partition (V:) on my single drive. this causes game such as the entire modern C & C series to fail to load; it also affects World in Conflict - has anyone seen this and know a way around it (besides a separate account).
 

Frostex

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 29, 2008
Messages
2,143
Remapped how?

My Documents folder in vista doesn't technically exist, the OS uses junction points to send them files to the "users" folder where the accounts really exist, for backwards compatability with XP based applications.

I wouldn't advise trying to move or remap either of these folders since it may cause problems with applications not designed for Vista and any other badly written installers etc.
 

blaitarch

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 17, 2002
Messages
1,140
You can change the location of many of Vista's folders (Pictures, Music, Documents) using the location tab in the Properties dialog box.

I have done this with the Documents folder and now certain games don't load. Many others do.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2004
Messages
672
This issue does exist and is quite annoying. I run a Active Diretory at home and have my folders redirected to the server and quite a few games simply "fail" at handling this.

I had to create a seperate user account (local user instead of domain user) and skip the redirected folders for this to work. I have performed some testing and found that some games will work with redirected profiles that redirect to a local hard drive (but different path) and breakdown when using a mapped drive or UNC path.

I find this problem more on multiplatform games than on "Windows only" games. Though a few "Windows only" games fail as well.
 

Razor_FX_II

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - January 2009
Joined
Jun 23, 2008
Messages
1,156
To fix all this, all you need to do is add your new My Documents or game directory folders to the Path string in the Environment Variables under Advanced System Settings in the Advanced tab.

 

Frostex

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 29, 2008
Messages
2,143
Sounds like a fault of the game, it's probably assuming the install path rather than reading it as a system variable.

I'm not convinced theres a lot you can do about that, maybe poke about the registry settings for the game and see if thats stored as a path there, or maybe in the game config files. It's going to be different for each game.

Best bet is to leave the system folders where they are for maximum compatability.
 

blaitarch

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 17, 2002
Messages
1,140
I will certainly give that a try

To fix all this, all you need to do is add your new My Documents or game directory folders to the Path string in the Environment Variables under Advanced System Settings in the Advanced tab.

 
Top