Red Dead Redemption 2 on PC has issues (duh)

Discussion in 'HardForum Tech News' started by Burticus, Nov 5, 2019.

  1. Burticus

    Burticus [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,117
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    What? A hotly anticipated new PC game is flawed and needs patches? This is unheard of. /notreally

    https://kotaku.com/red-dead-redemption-2-is-having-a-rough-launch-on-pc-1839640519

    "Many players are reporting not being able to start the game at all, with it either crashing on the intro or giving them a message that the Rockstar launcher won’t launch. Some folks are having luck fixing the intro crash by disabling their anti-virus software. Other players are getting a message saying “activation required” when they try to launch the game, with some reporting that logging in and out of the Rockstar Launcher helps."


    Good times.

    giphy.gif
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2019
    Kinsaras and KazeoHin like this.
  2. amittalkin

    amittalkin [H]Lite

    Messages:
    114
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Well, its first day of the release. Let them give some time to fix the issues.
     
    Revdarian and harmattan like this.
  3. Burticus

    Burticus [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,117
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
  4. amittalkin

    amittalkin [H]Lite

    Messages:
    114
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Yeah it would be better if they wait 2-3 days and grab all the problems and fix together instead of releasing small patches every single day.
    Also, there goes my hope of playing this on my 4k screen with 1080Ti :(. So much GPU demanding game.
     
    LightsOut41 likes this.
  5. sfsuphysics

    sfsuphysics I don't get it

    Messages:
    13,720
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Sure there is... it's called "the game" north of 100GB, used to be easy to guess on lots of uncompressed audio and perhaps some super high res texture pack that most people won't use, but 100+ GB... yeah that's hard to swallow.
     
  6. Flogger23m

    Flogger23m [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,127
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Considering the game is a year late on PC, one of the biggest game launches for the past few years and that GTAV was probably the best selling game in history (at least for a modern game) I find it a bit unacceptable to be having these issues. They have plenty of money and delayed the game, I expect a near perfect port day one. Not that I will play this anytime soon, but this shouldn't be acceptable.
     
    HAL_404 and auntjemima like this.
  7. Roberty

    Roberty [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,940
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    I'm waiting on it to come out on Steam so hopefully these issues will be fixed by then
     
  8. M76

    M76 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,683
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Issues should be fixed before release, not after. That's why they are supposed to do testing.

    If I'm going to be a beta tester at least don't make me pay $60 for it.

    It is ridiculous that now some people consider it normal for games to have "issues" at release. Would you buy anything if it had issues? Say you buy a phone and it doesn't work because the software crashes, would you say "Oh, let's give them some time to fix it". This is insanity.
     
    auntjemima, DF-1, Flogger23m and 3 others like this.
  9. KazeoHin

    KazeoHin [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,892
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
  10. KazeoHin

    KazeoHin [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,892
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Unfortunately that's preorder culture. People buy the marketing, not the product.
     
    GoldenTiger and HAL_404 like this.
  11. BusyBeaverHP

    BusyBeaverHP Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    431
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    The issue is that it's only on Epic Games.

    ... I'll wait a few months for Rockstar to patch it.
    Steam.
     
  12. amittalkin

    amittalkin [H]Lite

    Messages:
    114
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Yes but they cant just emulate all configuration available for every end user playing the game. May be the game worked on their system and causing problem with end users'.
     
  13. M76

    M76 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,683
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    That excuse works for one off issues, not for issues that thousands or tens of thousands of people have.

    Testing is not running the program on "their system". It is running it on a wide variety of typical HW and SW configurations even before handing it out to external beta testers.
     
  14. profiled

    profiled Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    166
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
  15. GoodBoy

    GoodBoy [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,569
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Waiting for it to come out on Steam. If that is December 2020, fine with me.
     
  16. GOD'SlittleSERVANT

    GOD'SlittleSERVANT [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,004
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
  17. odditory

    odditory [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,689
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    It'll be on Steam next month.

    Game's been pretty flawless so far (9900k/2080)
     
    GoldenTiger and Armenius like this.
  18. odditory

    odditory [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,689
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    A) You can get a refund
    B) Some people having issues and being really vocal about it - and the clickbait blogosphere latching onto this - doesn't mean most people are having issues.

    Things to consider.
     
    GoldenTiger and Armenius like this.
  19. M76

    M76 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,683
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Since I saw the issues happening to people on this very forum that means it must be widespread. There is no such thing as a coincidence.
    Refunded at the retailers discretion. And I'm not paying $70 for the game (the asking price for RDR2 on the rockstar launcher in my region)
    If you buy third party keys it is non-refundable.

    Look at me making excuses for wanting a game to work on release. :rolleyes:

    I should not even be considering the option that a game simply won't work.
     
  20. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    19,161
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    *Looks at sig*
    Game runs fine on my rig, too :cool:.

    upload_2019-11-6_17-2-12.png
     
  21. GOD'SlittleSERVANT

    GOD'SlittleSERVANT [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,004
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    You damn right.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  22. madpawn119

    madpawn119 n00b

    Messages:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    This is why i'm Waiting till it hits Steam. Hope they have bugs fixed by then.
     
  23. Nightfire

    Nightfire [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,878
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2017
    Dang, 8700k owners must be chuckling at the 9700k owners:
    Screenshot_20191107-094635_YouTube.jpg
     
  24. MikeRotch

    MikeRotch Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    405
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    So you EXPECT a AAA game that is a year late to launch WITH issues? Oh man, what has this world come to?
     
  25. Ricky T

    Ricky T [H]Lite

    Messages:
    100
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2019
    What is the point as you're still going to have to use the Rockstar launcher no matter where you buy the game?
     
  26. Ricky T

    Ricky T [H]Lite

    Messages:
    100
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2019
    That bizarre game issue was explained in the video though...
     
    Armenius likes this.
  27. Nightfire

    Nightfire [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,878
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2017
    Yeah it can easily be fixed by capping the frame rate or increasing the gpu load. The HT-less cpus seem to 'blow their load' on this game engine causing a weird reset after an intensive portion since the 7700k does not have the same problem and it has the same number of threads as the 9700k.
    It would be interesting to see if the AMD cpus share this behavior with SMT disabled
     
    Armenius likes this.
  28. Ricky T

    Ricky T [H]Lite

    Messages:
    100
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2019
    I don't know if this has been mentioned yet but in my testing it's the water physics quality setting that is an absolute frame rate killer. It's a slider and if I leave it all the way off then I start off the benchmark in the upper 60s but if I slide it to the max then I'm in the low 40s. And there's not even water there as it's just a snowy scene...
     
  29. profiled

    profiled Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    166
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    about 20% gpu usage hit. gtx 1080 ti for water physics quality in max.
     
  30. Ricky T

    Ricky T [H]Lite

    Messages:
    100
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2019
    That setting seems to take a massive hit for me no matter what what else I change. I can literally run every other setting on low and at 720p and still can't hold 60 FPS at the beginning of the benchmark with that water physics quality slider maxed out.
     
  31. Delicieuxz

    Delicieuxz Gawd

    Messages:
    979
    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    That comes with the territory when buying an Early Access / beta game instead of waiting for the official release - which in the case of RDR2 is in December, when it releases on Steam. Thanks to the beta testers, though. They'll make the Steam release that much more enjoyable.
     
  32. Bankie

    Bankie [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,583
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Maybe it also controls the snow deformation feature?