Red Alert 3 Beta now open!

JaYp146

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 24, 2005
Messages
5,546
Thanks.

EDIT; after downloading the client (1 hr) and installing, you are then forced to download an 860 MB update file, which takes even longer. :rolleyes:

Death to EA...
 

K3Fallout

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 27, 2007
Messages
317
Based on what I've seen I heard that there's no single player mode to try units out,only multi. So expect zergling rushes or whatever the Red Alert equivalent is.
 

Riftsaw

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
2,239
Couldn't you just setup a game with a fellow [H] member and try out strats between each other?
 

NKDietrich

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 25, 2004
Messages
5,442
Thanks.

EDIT; after downloading the client (1 hr) and installing, you are then forced to download an 860 MB update file, which takes even longer. :rolleyes:

Death to EA...

Well for me it was only an hour total to get both. 1600MB is far from scary these days.
 

The Donut

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 28, 2003
Messages
3,115
Whenever I type in the random letters/numbers, it just goes back to the promotions pages.. :confused:
 

aybdude42

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 24, 2006
Messages
261
Whenever I type in the random letters/numbers, it just goes back to the promotions pages.. :confused:

Yeah, I got that too. Im going to try IE7....:eek:

edit: Tried IE, and it still took me back to the main page... I guess no beta for me :(
 

Justintoxicated

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 10, 2002
Messages
14,500
I got owned last night, looks like it might be a fun game though, but ever 2 seconds I was depleating my mines.
 

The Donut

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 28, 2003
Messages
3,115
It's now closed.

Anyone with a key that doesn't play, please PM me! Would appreciate it very much.
 

Zero82z

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 20, 2004
Messages
27,897
FUCK. Can't believe I missed this. If anyone has a spare/unused key that they could spare me, I'd be forever in your debt ;).
 

dj_2004

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 9, 2004
Messages
7,279
It's now closed.

Anyone with a key that doesn't play, please PM me! Would appreciate it very much.

You can have mine. I'm a subscriber so I've had it sitting for some time and I'm not much of a CNC fan anymore. However, I may want to try it again in the future but I will PM you when I decide to do so (this is highly unlikely though). PM coming.
 

Zero82z

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 20, 2004
Messages
27,897
Currently downloading the patch as someone kindly gave me a serial number :). EA's servers are quite fast as well; I'm getting about 600KB/s.
 

Dangman

Ninja Editor SuperMod
Joined
Dec 15, 2005
Messages
46,062
Couldn't you just setup a game with a fellow [H] member and try out strats between each other?

You could. Just make sure that you know the [H] member's name. You could also password protect the game for [H] members only.

BTW, I'm dangman4ever in the RA3 Beta. If you just want to test out units and strats or whatever, just hit me up. PM me, add me to your fdz list, whatever.
 

SocceRich20

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 4, 2003
Messages
2,512
DAMNIT, I can't believe I missed this. If anyone can hook me up with a key, I'd greatly appreciate it, I was a Red Alert 2 fanatic.
 

WhyYouLoveMe

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 24, 2005
Messages
6,513
DAMNIT, I can't believe I missed this. If anyone can hook me up with a key, I'd greatly appreciate it, I was a Red Alert 2 fanatic.

I'll send you a PM. I'm not going to play it anymore. I'm just not cut out for RTS games online. I turtle too much. ;)
 

Leb_CRX

Gawd
Joined
Sep 25, 2003
Messages
567
I am uspet I missed this too, been really looking forward to it, if anyone has a spare key, please PM me
 

Endurancevm

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 2, 2005
Messages
1,239
This beta sucks, it functions more like a pre-alpha. The server disconnects all the time, takes a long time to join a game, there is no cancel button. This is a fun game once you get into it, it just takes a hell of a long time to do it.
 

The Donut

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 28, 2003
Messages
3,115
For those wanting keys, be warned, just having the key will get you squat. If the key was already used by someone it gets tied to their EA/Gamespy account and cannot be used without their login information.
 

SixtyWattMan

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 4, 2008
Messages
4,466
The UI is absolutely horrid and I can't set my keys. Other than that the game runs smooth and I haven't had any crashes besides when I tried to minimize one time. You run out of ore very very fast too.
 

mikelish

Weaksauce
Joined
Jun 27, 2004
Messages
77
I got in on the open beta this morning, my roomate just got home and wants to join me but they closed the beta. if anyone has a key they arn't using please PM me it
 

lathode

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 23, 2007
Messages
1,441
Downloading the update now, pretty fast. I haven't even played C&C3 through, let alone the expansion that I got the key from. I remember liking RA2 though, hopefully this is similar. I just hate that you can't zoom out on C&C3, makes me feel closterphobic.
 

Zero82z

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 20, 2004
Messages
27,897
It seems like a bit of a cross between RA2 and C&C3, although I only played for about 5 minutes so I didn't have time to really judge it.
 

Viper8547

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 28, 2006
Messages
208
Been trying to play for the past two days and their entire online interface is just horrid, the error messages aren't even understandable. Even if I do get into a game, it stays at refreshing NAT and does not initiate the game. Is it that complicated to make a lobby/join game/create game system that works?
 

Wally

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
2,691
Is this looking like C&C3, with the "build millions of things as fast as you can and throw them indiscriminately at the enemy" mechanic, or are you allowed to actually make an effort? I liked CoH because it was the first RTS I played that rewarded you for putting some work in, rather than being boring. C&C3 was dull because of this.
 

Chaoticon

Gawd
Joined
Aug 21, 2006
Messages
625
Sigh....pre placed ore facilities instead of ore all over the ground like the first two.
 

jdm731

Weaksauce
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
120
I got signed up for it and had it downloaded, installed and patched but when I tried to log in it always told me my online ID was invalid even though I logged in through the website and double checked. I'm pretty much at a loss as to what to try next, I even tried making a new ID and it still didnt work. Anyone else have this problem?
 

Nasty

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
83
So how is the game? Is it still arcadey or have they added some simulation aspects to C&C?
 

CyberJunk

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 13, 2005
Messages
4,191
they just released a patch for this game like 2 days ago. I guess it makes the game more stable
 
Top