Recommend SATA card with 8 ports...

Database

Detroit Redbirds!!!
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
2,537
I need a SATA card with 8 ports. Raid isn't required as I will be using this with WHS.

I have my eyes on this one. SUPERMICRO AOC-SAT2-MV8

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16815121009&Tpk=supermicro sata card

1. Is it fast enough to max out gigabit lan?
2. Does it support 2 TB drives? I've seen people say different things.

I have 4x Seagate Barracuda LP ST32000542AS I plan on using with it. Just recieved the drives. Have update the firmware on all of them to the latest version and running a long test with SeaTools before using any of them.

Here is the motherboard I am using, the card will need to work with it.
ASUS-M3N78-VM
http://techwiki.hardwarecanucks.com/product/0MTE3ODM1/ASUS-M3N78-VM/#spec
 

Database

Detroit Redbirds!!!
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
2,537
Are you using the PCIe x16 slot for anything?

Nope, all slots are empty, using onboard graphics...

I do plan on getting an intel gigabit NIC but that'll be standard PCI. The onboard NIC has an issue performing backups of clients using WHS.
 

Dangman

Ninja Editor SuperMod
Joined
Dec 15, 2005
Messages
46,062
1) Well you have to factor in the speed of the hard drives as well. Not to mention overhead. Considering the drives you chose, the fact that controller will be on the PCI slot, and the fact that you're planning on hooking up an Intel PCI NIC, the answer is no, that whole setup cannot max out gigabit LAN

2) Can't tell either.

Well if that PCI-E x16 slot isn't being used, I recommend this PCI-E controller card instead:
$100 - SuperMicro AOC-SASLP-MV8 PCI-Ex4 8 Port SATA Controller Card
$15 - 3ware SFF-8087 to Multi-lane SATA Forward Break-out Cable
---
Total: $130 plus tax and shipping

That above is basically an updated version of the card you had in your post. I have seen that same controller used with many other 2TB drives out there.

And to further decrease any chance of a file transfer limitation, I recommend a PCI-E Intel NIC as well:
$30 - Intel EXPI9301CTBLK 10/100/1000Mbps PRO/1000 GT PCI-E x1 NIC OEM w/ 1 x RJ45

So once you get those two parts the only hinderance to maxing out or approaching the limits of a Gigabit LAN network either be your network itself or the hard drives themselves.
 

Database

Detroit Redbirds!!!
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
2,537
Thanks Danny this looks perfect...

I've been using this box with WHS for a couple years now... using 3 1 TB drives. I'm debating on between updating this box with the intel nic, sata controller, etc and continue using it or replacing it with a NAS device like the Synology 411+

This would be a much cheaper option it appears and provide more flexability.... I might just keep this running WHS v1
 

nisemono

n00b
Joined
Sep 29, 2010
Messages
11
I have the AOC-SAT2-MV8, my only issue with it is it doesnt seem to Pass though the SMART Status, but I have used it with 2TB Drives with no issues for a single stream, but not saturating Gigabit LAN.

Danny, do you know if the AOC-SASLP-MV8 passes through SMART Status?
 

Dangman

Ninja Editor SuperMod
Joined
Dec 15, 2005
Messages
46,062
Thanks Danny this looks perfect...

I've been using this box with WHS for a couple years now... using 3 1 TB drives. I'm debating on between updating this box with the intel nic, sata controller, etc and continue using it or replacing it with a NAS device like the Synology 411+

This would be a much cheaper option it appears and provide more flexability.... I might just keep this running WHS v1
No prob.

I would keep updating that box. Greater flexibility as you said.
Danny, do you know if the AOC-SASLP-MV8 passes through SMART Status?
It does.
 

OmegaAvenger

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
3,240
Odd. His does:
http://hardforum.com/showpost.php?p=1035314408&postcount=409

As does his (in Linux too):
http://hardforum.com/showpost.php?p=1035451504&postcount=433

Maybe a config issue with yours? And are you sure that you're using the AOC-SASLP-MV8 and not the AOC-SATA-MV8?

I'll have to correct you there. I have two cards in my system now, and I never got around to posting, but only the card in my first PCI-E slot pass thru SMART.

I haven't bothered to figure out why TBH. I'll need to look into it.
 

Dangman

Ninja Editor SuperMod
Joined
Dec 15, 2005
Messages
46,062
I'll have to correct you there. I have two cards in my system now, and I never got around to posting, but only the card in my first PCI-E slot pass thru SMART.

I haven't bothered to figure out why TBH. I'll need to look into it.

Ahhh gotcha.

Thanks for the correction!
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2010
Messages
12
I'll have to correct you there. I have two cards in my system now, and I never got around to posting, but only the card in my first PCI-E slot pass thru SMART.

I haven't bothered to figure out why TBH. I'll need to look into it.

Odd. Mine is in the 'first' (top) PCI-E slot. I guess I will have to dig through the card's bios/firmware screen on boot when I get home. Off hand, does anyone remember if there are any SMART related settings that can be changed on the card?
 

sub.mesa

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 16, 2010
Messages
2,508
The Marvell controllers have alot of issues, you could compare the price to Intel SASUC8i and flash it with IT-firmware so it acts as non-RAID controller. The LSI 1068E chip works on all OS so makes it very widely usable.
 

dan_panner

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 6, 2010
Messages
71
I like Danny's answer. :) This is something I have considered for a while too. WHS is awesome.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2010
Messages
12
Odd. Mine is in the 'first' (top) PCI-E slot. I guess I will have to dig through the card's bios/firmware screen on boot when I get home. Off hand, does anyone remember if there are any SMART related settings that can be changed on the card?

Couldn't find anything SMART related in the card's bios, and switching the card to a different PCI-E slot results in the card not even being "seen" - nothing on boot, no drives, nothing.

:confused:
 

Loto_Bak

Weaksauce
Joined
Oct 12, 2004
Messages
96
A real quality card out of china for a decent price, I'd take it over any marvel or SIL controller anyday. It even supports port expanders when you add more drives later :)

LSI SAS3081E-R PCI-E Express SAS/SATA Host Bus Adapter $95.60

#Edit
This is a PCI-E 8x card, if you plan on expanding to >8 drives make sure you dont go with a 4x controller otherwise you'll be bottlenecked
 
Last edited:

acesea

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
211
Like others I recommend lsi based 1068e cards. One such card that is not well known but sells used as server pulls for much less than others is the pcie IBM ServeRAID BR10i SAS3082E-R LSI1068E. It an lsi card and has the same bios and specs as SASUC8i, SAS3081E-R, and AOC-USASLP-L8i, 8 ports in the form of two sff8087 connectors, but does not come with pci bracket.
 
Top