Received my 3008WFP today.

Roliath

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Messages
2,914
I picked up my Dell 3008fwp a03 today. i'm freaking in love with it.

dscf0350t.jpg
 
Last edited:

a ronin

Gawd
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
782
Guys, I bought mine almost a year ago and I'm not sure which revision it is but it seems as thought the brightness is dimming on me or another possibility is that I have grown accustomed to the brightness and perception has changed.

WHen I first received it, I couldn't use it on more than 20 brightness but now I need to have it on 60 to have it on my acceptable threshold.

Has anyone run into a similar situation?
 

Lateralus

More [H]uman than Human
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
17,610
I just purchased a 3008WFP also, after using a 3007WFP-HC for a few months. I am really happy with the 3007 but wanted the additional inputs so I could connect my consoles. I had planned on selling the HC but there are things that I like about both monitors, so I'm leaning towards keeping it (or even buying an Ikea Galant and buying a third 30"). My current desk cannot accommodate two 30" monitors so the HC is just sitting in the floor waiting for me to roll my chair into it, lol.

Anyone want to share some calibration settings? I know it's best to do it yourself with a colorimeter, but as of right now I have no idea what settings to use or if I'm even close to what they should be.
 

jbjtkbw00

n00b
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
2
I just purchased a 3008WFP also, after using a 3007WFP-HC for a few months. I am really happy with the 3007 but wanted the additional inputs so I could connect my consoles. I had planned on selling the HC but there are things that I like about both monitors, so I'm leaning towards keeping it (or even buying an Ikea Galant and buying a third 30"). My current desk cannot accommodate two 30" monitors so the HC is just sitting in the floor waiting for me to roll my chair into it, lol.

Wow, I would have thought that I wrote this.

Anyways, if anyone is knowledgeable before I contact Dell for a third time, I'd like to pose a question. Gaming on my 3007 was and is flawless. Aion played beautifully. Now, with the 3008WFP rev. A03 (this being the only component that's changed), I get a ton of artifacting while trying to play. Same goes for Star Trek online. I'm running the monitor off of dual ATI Radeon 4870 X2's. Even when I lower the resolution, I get the same thing.

Ideas anyone or do you guys think the monitor is truly defective?
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2010
Messages
5
What is the difference between Rev A02 and A03?

I ordered a Dell 3008wfp a few day ago and it hasn't been shipped yet. After asking the vendor he told me that it is only Rev A02. So i want to know what they changed from A02 to A03.

Please help me to find that out, i have googled for 2 hours now without any success :mad:
 

jbjtkbw00

n00b
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
2
Wow, I would have thought that I wrote this.

Anyways, if anyone is knowledgeable before I contact Dell for a third time, I'd like to pose a question. Gaming on my 3007 was and is flawless. Aion played beautifully. Now, with the 3008WFP rev. A03 (this being the only component that's changed), I get a ton of artifacting while trying to play. Same goes for Star Trek online. I'm running the monitor off of dual ATI Radeon 4870 X2's. Even when I lower the resolution, I get the same thing.

Ideas anyone or do you guys think the monitor is truly defective?

UPDATE: My monitor was indeed defective. Received the replacement yesterday and all is well in the Trek universe (and Aion too).
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2010
Messages
5
since nobody really knows i try to lighten the darkness as far as possible:
these are the changes made by dell concerning the 3008wfp:
-correction of HDMI input (A04)
-audio capabilities
-changing of error codes in firmware
-adding new test pages in on-screen-menu

i don't know the mapping from A01-A03 on the last mentioned changes.

hope this helps
 

trainee

n00b
Joined
Mar 14, 2008
Messages
35
since nobody really knows i try to lighten the darkness as far as possible:
these are the changes made by dell concerning the 3008wfp:
-correction of HDMI input (A04)
-audio capabilities
-changing of error codes in firmware
-adding new test pages in on-screen-menu

i don't know the mapping from A01-A03 on the last mentioned changes.

hope this helps

Do you know when the A04 revision should be available?
 

Neb

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 13, 2000
Messages
3,320
I just purchased a 3008WFP also, after using a 3007WFP-HC for a few months. I am really happy with the 3007 but wanted the additional inputs so I could connect my consoles. I had planned on selling the HC but there are things that I like about both monitors, so I'm leaning towards keeping it (or even buying an Ikea Galant and buying a third 30"). My current desk cannot accommodate two 30" monitors so the HC is just sitting in the floor waiting for me to roll my chair into it, lol.

Anyone want to share some calibration settings? I know it's best to do it yourself with a colorimeter, but as of right now I have no idea what settings to use or if I'm even close to what they should be.

I'm currently looking at picking up a 3008 to hook my consoles up to as well; how well does it work for that purpose?
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2010
Messages
5
Do you know when the A04 revision should be available?

No, sorry, i just asked about the revisions and needed 10 service calls for that.
Dell seems to not have any desire for providing a high degree of transparency on this topic. I don't know why - I at least want to know what i buy.
 

kortik

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 27, 2008
Messages
148
so are the revisions applied at the manufacturer or can it be done at home.
like firmware update. Someone enlighten me please.
 

Ultra Wide

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 23, 2000
Messages
1,397
so are the revisions applied at the manufacturer or can it be done at home.
like firmware update. Someone enlighten me please.

These are hardware revisions which may include firmware updates. These updates are not user serviceable.
 

timoric

n00b
Joined
Mar 8, 2010
Messages
6
http://picasaweb.google.com/tim.richmond/SoccerMomSBdayEaster#5464182797823611378[/URL]

I got my Dell Refurb 3008wfp off Amazon.com. I set it up with an Acer 8940g Laptop via displayport. Surprisingly, I have been able to play my games at 2560x1600 if I turn everything down to lower details. Some older games like C&C Generals Zero Hour and Lord of the Rings BFMO 2: The Witch King can run full resolution and all options on high.

A key thing I would like to point out is that using Firefox with the Color support set to on with that free plug in is great because I can view all my photos in Google Picasa with the correct colors.

The Media Player Classic fix didn't work for me, the Dell Monitor Profile Values I plugged into the excel made strange colors, like glowing purple patches of skin on Star Trek Blu-Ray Rip.

I tried the color-aware image viewer I found wasn't very good so I stick to Picasa but use the Web version to see true colors.

I got no dead pixels and I can see a sublte corner bloom at close angles that disappears from further back. I have my monitor as far back on the table as it will go. See the pic.

There is no audible noise from my monitor. I use the brightness at 100 percent, it doesn't bother me, I use Dynamic Contrast as well and Adobe RGB preset. Colors are definetly off on skin tones, looks too reddish, and green too neon greenish. I don't have a calibrator to use so out of luck. However, since I mostly use the Web, Firefox is ideal and I mostly see good colors. Movies look good too, just over-saturated. Also, I noticed playing with the NVIDIA slide on my 250 gts corrected slow frames on video playback, choose balanced not high image quality.

I can also point of that the scaler does an excellent job at lower resolutions.

My monitor although a refurb was nearly in perfect condition with just the lightest signs of use on some of the shiny plastic parts, the metal front and screen were pristine as were all the ports etc.

Displayport does the trick at the very high resolution even though the Nvidia page said that high of a resolution wasn't supported.

Great monitor, loving it!
 

chong67

Gawd
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
648
Do any of you have a good setting on your 3008 using Spyder or Eye One Display 2 calibration?

Please share. I am waiting to get my 3008 this week.
 

Jarmel

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
136
After some thought, I think I'm going to keep it. It seems my monitor probably just has IPS glow with a bit of backlight bleed in one of the corners. It's completely undetectable during the day or when something is on the screen. The chances of me getting dead pixels in the process of trying to get a slight improvement isn't worth the time or effort. So looking back at earlier in this thread, it seems the 3008s still suffer from backlight but possibly not as bad.
 

jrsmooth

n00b
Joined
Jul 22, 2010
Messages
2
I have an A02 monitor.

Does anybody else have an issue with HDMI? Whenever I turn my PS3 off, the screen just goes blue instead of going into standby. According to Dell this is a "feature" or in my opinion a lack of feature.

Thanks for any help.
 

10e

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 20, 2006
Messages
3,383
Every monitor I've ever used with an HDMI connector does this including my 3008WFP. If it's a real bother the DVI-D connector could be used 100% the same way as HDMI with an HDMI to DVI cable, and the monitor will enter power-save when you turn off the PS3.

I have an A02 monitor.

Does anybody else have an issue with HDMI? Whenever I turn my PS3 off, the screen just goes blue instead of going into standby. According to Dell this is a "feature" or in my opinion a lack of feature.

Thanks for any help.
 

jrsmooth

n00b
Joined
Jul 22, 2010
Messages
2
Every monitor I've ever used with an HDMI connector does this including my 3008WFP. If it's a real bother the DVI-D connector could be used 100% the same way as HDMI with an HDMI to DVI cable, and the monitor will enter power-save when you turn off the PS3.

The last Dell I had certainly turned the screen and backlight off. Although the power light did stay green.

Does the Display Port behave the same as DVI or does it follow the HDMIs approach?

Thanks
 

10e

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 20, 2006
Messages
3,383
Same as DVI/VGA.

If the computer goes into power save or you shut it off, the display will go into standby mode, no backlight or image.

Which Dell monitor did that? Surprising.

The last Dell I had certainly turned the screen and backlight off. Although the power light did stay green.

Does the Display Port behave the same as DVI or does it follow the HDMIs approach?

Thanks
 

Mr. Wolf

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 8, 2006
Messages
7,162
I have an A02 monitor.

Does anybody else have an issue with HDMI? Whenever I turn my PS3 off, the screen just goes blue instead of going into standby. According to Dell this is a "feature" or in my opinion a lack of feature.

Thanks for any help.
Mine does it, too. It's annoying. I switched to an HDMI - DVI-D cable so I didn't have to deal with the 3008's HDMI port.
 

chong67

Gawd
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
648
My 3008wfp really goes into sleep mode. I mean its off if I tell the computer to turn off the monitor after so many minutes.

NOW, its a different story for my 2007wfp. I have it connect with a DVI cable with a adapter to convert it to HDMI and it works fine and can sleep. I bought me a new DVI-D with a HDMI at the other end and it cannot go to sleep. The monitor is still on n says no signal. I wonder if there is something wrong with this new cable.
 

enyceexdanny

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 22, 2003
Messages
2,618
Has any of the issues been resolved in the A03 revision? Just ordered 2 of these, but kinda worried about the backlight bleeding issue.
 

Jarmel

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
136
Damn, mine looks nowhere near as bad as that. Please tell me it looks better in person.
 

chong67

Gawd
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
648
I dont see backlight bleeding on mine cause I look at my monitor near and my background is usually white and not dark.

That is not photo of my screen.

Oh, backlight bleeding would be bad on a HDTV.
 

enyceexdanny

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 22, 2003
Messages
2,618
Just received 2 of these and luckily the backlight bleeding is very minimal. The "loose screen" issue is evident though. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-g-OgjEuRYg). Is this issue common on all of the 3008s?

The screen overall I like. Definitely brighter than my XHD3000 that died. These are what I hate about the monitor:

- No individual settings for each input, which my XHD3000 had. All settings are global.
- Hassle switching inputs. This is mainly due to the lack of a remote...
- No management software. (My XHD3000 has the EZtune with I liked very much)
- Thought the bezels would be brushed aluminum. It seems to be plastic that just looks like it.
- No auto selection of inputs. ( I see an option to "scan for inputs" , but that's not really automatic if I have to dig down the menu to select it.)

I have 1 bright stuck pixel (green). Not a big deal since I can barely see it. But if the "loose screen" issue is not widespread, I may replace these to see if I have better luck.
 

chong67

Gawd
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
648
Firmware? There is A1, A2 and A3. Its at the back of your monitor.

I believe Dell doesnt let you flash firmware on monitor.

Sorry if I miss inform you.
 
Top