Rampage IV and 750 will NOT work

tangoseal

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
9,331
Well I wanted to report that if you have a Rampage IV and plan on using an Intel 750 SSD drive do not waste your money. They WILL N O T work in this board. I absolutely can't understand why I can't get the card to work.

I have tried 10 different bios flashes. Every possible card configuration. It only detects the card once every 20-30 power downs power ups.

This is the 3rd card I have tried. Thought the first two were bad and found out that nope... this motherboard is not compatible no matter what I do. I was able to get it to boot once or twice and then as soon as I add any other card on the bus it will NOT detect the 750. You think that Asus would put out an updated BIOS for compatibility reasons but the last update for Bios was 2 years ago.

I give up. Now I have to sell this card and get a regular SSD, which I just F'ing sold, and would have to get another. Or I have to scrap the 3930K and board and get a new board and processor and spend another $600 when all that I need is a damn bios update.

So before I do something drastic like take this board and 3930K outside and shoot it with my .308 (no I will not give it away for free). I will destroy it before I give it away, would anyone have any suggestions?

I thought about the Samsung 950 in a PCIe adaptor card but god forbid I do not want to go through all of this again.

Is it time to retire my 3930K once and for all? As new hardware is coming out this system just has NO support from Asus anymore.
 

tangoseal

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
9,331
After trying about 3 different custom Bios and card configurations I finally got the thing to work steady. Whew ... sigh
 

thebeephaha

2[H]4U
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
2,054
Feel like elaborating on what finally worked out for anyone else who might have a similar config? :)
 

tangoseal

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
9,331
Feel like elaborating on what finally worked out for anyone else who might have a similar config? :)

I can and will. But not tonight I am too tired. I will find the link that I downloaded the custom bios from.

It was a custom bios and you had to use the Bios Flashback method as published by Asus, google will find it. I also set compatibility module to disabled, operating system to other fpr UEFI purposes (cant remember where exactly in bios), and set my system to fast boot.

Also I took my PC completely apart to do a full dust down with a air compressor and blow gun nozzle. There is a chance some dust was blocking a connector in all of my PCIe slots, I know sigh all of em?, and the card suddenly could make a good connection after dust down. But I doubt it.

The bios was a custom 4801 version that posts at 4901 for RIVE board. Apparently has some NVME enabled in it or something. I do not know how they modify bios. Above my paygrade.
 

flatty

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 2, 2016
Messages
178
But why you were so drastic about "no 950 on Pcie card"? you were on NVME or AHCI route?
 

tangoseal

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
9,331
But why you were so drastic about "no 950 on Pcie card"? you were on NVME or AHCI route?

Because all hardware is different. Where the 750 was purpose designed to work on Z97 and X99, X79 was not on the compatibility list until recently and only if mobo manufacturer updated bios to support nvme detection.

The 950 may have worked. Its all a gamble when using 5 year old hardware like mine. Yes Sandy is that old now... well going on 5 years.

And I didn't say NO 950 I said possibly get a 950 m.2 and use an adapter card.

Its ok no worries it took a lot of work, 3 different cards, and it finally boots and is stupid fast. Much faster feeling than a regular sata ssd.
 

flatty

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 2, 2016
Messages
178
Because all hardware is different. Where the 750 was purpose designed to work on Z97 and X99, X79 was not on the compatibility list until recently and only if mobo manufacturer updated bios to support nvme detection.

The 950 may have worked. Its all a gamble when using 5 year old hardware like mine. Yes Sandy is that old now... well going on 5 years.

And I didn't say NO 950 I said possibly get a 950 m.2 and use an adapter card.

Its ok no worries it took a lot of work, 3 different cards, and it finally boots and is stupid fast. Much faster feeling than a regular sata ssd.


That's normal, sata is <600 and pcie (assuming used a 4x card) is 2400. :))

thx anyway for confirmation that's working via an adapter
 

tangoseal

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
9,331
Oh I got the 750 fully working. Never went the samsung route. Took a few cuatom bios flashes and some goofy bios settings and now it boots 100% each time. The intel card is overkill fast.
 

thebeephaha

2[H]4U
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
2,054
Here's my benchmark results on my P9X79 WS board:

gFSL0eg.png


I had to disable CSM mode in the BIOS and that was it. Running the latest BiOS rev 4802.
 

tangoseal

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
9,331
Here's my benchmark results on my P9X79 WS board:

gFSL0eg.png


I had to disable CSM mode in the BIOS and that was it. Running the latest BiOS rev 4802.


Just benched mine tonight on 3930K (Stock speed, forgot to put my OC back on) and RIVE mobo. Got almost exactly the same numbers. My 4k q32 was a little bit faster around 500'ish but thats almost mirror image. That is about as fast as these 400GB drives are apparently in the fastest systems out there.
 

TxDay

n00b
Joined
Aug 9, 2016
Messages
2
So Wheres The Link to the BIOS?
I can and will. But not tonight I am too tired. I will find the link that I downloaded the custom bios from.

It was a custom bios and you had to use the Bios Flashback method as published by Asus, google will find it. I also set compatibility module to disabled, operating system to other fpr UEFI purposes (cant remember where exactly in bios), and set my system to fast boot.

Also I took my PC completely apart to do a full dust down with a air compressor and blow gun nozzle. There is a chance some dust was blocking a connector in all of my PCIe slots, I know sigh all of em?, and the card suddenly could make a good connection after dust down. But I doubt it.

The bios was a custom 4801 version that posts at 4901 for RIVE board. Apparently has some NVME enabled in it or something. I do not know how they modify bios. Above my paygrade.


Got A Link To That BIOS???
 

tangoseal

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
9,331
PCie Kingston HyperX Predator is working "bolt in" on X79 (and X58)

Nice. I do not think the Kingston is as fast as the Intel part, but at these speeds, there is no human perception possible between the two products. I like the fact it is very compatible card because of the on board boot rom from what I gather.
 

LFaWolf

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 7, 2016
Messages
1,191
Would you please upload where you find the BIOS and your config? I have the same board and thinking of getting a 750 as the price is cheap. Otherwise I will stick with the 850 EVO. thanks,
 
Top