Ram fails because I don't overclock

Sinster

Gawd
Has anyone heard of this before?

I've been building computers my own computers for 15 years and never had problems with ram failing. I'm on my 3rd RMA in 3 months Crucial Ballistix I know it's not the top of the line.. Here is the e-mail from Crucial techs

Thank you for contacting us. I'm questioning if the Ballistix modules are right for you since you are not "overclocking" and not utilizing that key function of the Ballistix modules. Maybe the Ballistix modules aren't for you and you would be better off going with our Crucial modules that are not meant for "over-clocking". I could swap out the Ballistix modules for Crucial standard 1066 modules (CT12864AA1067) if you would like or do you still want to go with the "over-clocked" Ballistix modules? Please let us know and we will set up the RMA accordingly.

Because I keep receiving fault RAM they want to downgrade me. I have had OCZ and Mushkin in this machine and they haven't failed. In fact when the Ballistix keep going south on me I throw in my Mushkin and keep trucking one.

Gigabyte GA MA790X-DS-4 rev.1
AMD 9850
8800GTX
X-Fi
PhysX Card

It's because you're 'overclocking' memory is certified for operation at higher than spec voltages e.g. the 'overclocking' memory requires 1.9v instead of the DDR2 spec 1.8v
you may need to up the voltage in the BIOS manually to 1.9v to get the memory to work because teh SPD on the memory (the thing that makes your BIOS use the manufacturer provided default voltage) is not being read out properly by your mobo or because your board does not support higher voltage settings (e.g. DELL/HP/IBM/etc OEM boards will not allow BIOS voltage tweaks).

given enough voltage most memory will overclock fairly decently providing the PCB layout and chips are good quality.

anyway, go with 'normal' memory or go buy Kingston ValueRam which does the job just fine. stay away from 'overclocking' memory unless you want to play with BIOS settings.