Rails for Norco 4020

coolrunner84

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 5, 2008
Messages
147
I hope this is the right place to ask this. If not, mod please move to the correct forum.

Can any recommend server rails for the Norco 4020 case. I have two of these cases that I need to mount onto a used server rack I bought.

I also need some cage nuts and mounting screws.

Is it safe to use casters on a server rack?


Thanks.
 

Ockie

*** Self Proclaimed Storage King ***
Joined
Mar 2, 2005
Messages
17,999
You will need to use a universal shelf/rail system. The rails they sell for the case is junk and does not work on most racks out there. I think they just used a generic rail for this case which does not fit to EIA standards (go figure).

Check out gruber.com for a universal rail, it's basically two rails your system will just rest on, nothing fancy but works great.


If your rack was not designed for casters, then it's not safe.
 

Berg0

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 16, 2005
Messages
1,038
agree with Ockie, I've heard bad things about those cheap rail kits. for my disk shelves I just use "universal rails" which are basically aluminum L channel that has appropriate mounting for square hole racks. I got about 2 dozen sets that came out of a few NetApp racks I bought (the NetApp disk shelves sat on them). Not much reason to put a disk shelf on sliding rails anyway, with two dozen or so disks in the front of a server, I think most cheap rails would just bend in half anyway, hahaha.
 

epimetheus

Gawd
Joined
Jun 20, 2004
Messages
815
I got the Gruber rails based on Ockie's recommendation and am very pleased with them. This should be a sticky or something, there's been at least 5 threads asking this same question since I got my 4020. Ockie should get a commission from Gruber or something.
 

Vorex

n00b
Joined
Jul 14, 2007
Messages
38
I used the recommended Norco rails on my IBM rack with no issues--rails are crappy quality so expect to spend a bit of time getting your server aligned on the rails. They fit alot more snug then ibm/hp/dell offerings but when I look at the price vs a $200 versarail or rapidrail kit it's hard for me to complain
 

Vorex

n00b
Joined
Jul 14, 2007
Messages
38
agree with Ockie, I've heard bad things about those cheap rail kits. for my disk shelves I just use "universal rails" which are basically aluminum L channel that has appropriate mounting for square hole racks. I got about 2 dozen sets that came out of a few NetApp racks I bought (the NetApp disk shelves sat on them). Not much reason to put a disk shelf on sliding rails anyway, with two dozen or so disks in the front of a server, I think most cheap rails would just bend in half anyway, hahaha.

+1
netapp rails are very good quality, they have self aligning pins so getting them inplace is a breeze
 

epimetheus

Gawd
Joined
Jun 20, 2004
Messages
815
I used the recommended Norco rails on my IBM rack with no issues--rails are crappy quality so expect to spend a bit of time getting your server aligned on the rails. They fit alot more snug then ibm/hp/dell offerings but when I look at the price vs a $200 versarail or rapidrail kit it's hard for me to complain

Most people over in the Data Storage Systems subforum have had trouble using the Norco rails. The width of the case plus the rails is wider than the opening between the rack rails on most racks. It certainly is on mine. I have an old "digital" rack and none of the 20+ configurations with the Norco rails worked for me. If you've got a rack that they work with, that's great, but from what I've seen, you'd be in the minority.
 

coolrunner84

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 5, 2008
Messages
147
it doesn't seems as though Gruber has anymore of those shelf rails. Their ebay store is not listing them. I also sent them an email and never received a response.
 

epimetheus

Gawd
Joined
Jun 20, 2004
Messages
815

It's not the rails themselves that cause problems, it's the width of the Norco case itself. I don't have a lot of experience with other brands of rackmount cases, but from what I understand, the Norco is wider than most other rackmount cases. When you put the rails on it, it doesn't fit between the mounting rails on most racks. Some people have said that is fits on their rack, but it seems a majority don't fit.
 

Ockie

*** Self Proclaimed Storage King ***
Joined
Mar 2, 2005
Messages
17,999
it doesn't seems as though Gruber has anymore of those shelf rails. Their ebay store is not listing them. I also sent them an email and never received a response.

They are terrible with email.


I will be willing to sell mine if you are interested. Just PM me. I managed to procure quite a few of them over the time.
 

Berg0

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 16, 2005
Messages
1,038
if you can use rapid rails (square hole mounting) I've got a pile of extra NetApp rails as well.
 

OmegaAvenger

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
3,240
I though those net app rails had to hook into slots inside the rack? at least thats how my netapp rack is. turned out to be a blessing in disguise. I almost sold it till I got my job at frys, glad I can keep it now :)
 

Berg0

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 16, 2005
Messages
1,038
I though those net app rails had to hook into slots inside the rack? at least thats how my netapp rack is. turned out to be a blessing in disguise. I almost sold it till I got my job at frys, glad I can keep it now :)

I looked, you are right!

At work we have a different brand of rack that our NetApp gear is in, but the rails were not provided by NetApp, got confused. At home I've got a NetApp branded rack, and the front of the rails does hook into vertical slots, and the back hooks into horizontal slots, and screws into the side to keep them in place.
 

hmchk

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
76
I'm going to be mounting into a rack with square holes. I don't know the brand unfortunately because my roommate bought it. So was there ever a consensus on this topic on which rails were some of the best to use?

I don't mind more expensive rails as I just find them on ebay. Quality and ease of installation are my priorities. I watched my roommate put rails on a HP DL360G5 the other day in about 5 minutes including mounting them in the rack... was hoping to find something similar to that for the Norco 4220 case I've got. Any recommendations would be very helpful.
 

OmegaAvenger

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
3,240
I looked, you are right!

At work we have a different brand of rack that our NetApp gear is in, but the rails were not provided by NetApp, got confused. At home I've got a NetApp branded rack, and the front of the rails does hook into vertical slots, and the back hooks into horizontal slots, and screws into the side to keep them in place.

I have one too! :D
 

nitrobass24

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - December 2009
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
10,462
Well i just got my Dell Rack and sure enough the Norco ones dont work.

Im guessing its because the case is too wide :(

Are the gruber things still the best?
 

nisemono

n00b
Joined
Sep 29, 2010
Messages
11
Bumping an Old thread.

Having a similar issue on a Middle Atlantic Slim 5 Rack, is Gruber still the recommended solution?
 

cymon

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
453
If you can find the Gruber rails, they are pretty good. I've used them to mount some dl385's, as well as a cisco 5509 (soon to be a cisco 6509).

The one thing that I have noticed about the gruber's is that they tend to flex side-to-side. They don't have any issues holding up heavier servers, however, if you have a longer rack (i have them in an apc netshelter which is like 33" long) then they are a bit unstable (in that they can bow outwards easily when installing the server). If your rack is shorter (front rail to back rail) then mine you will not have an issue.
 
Top