Radeon Software Adrenalin 2019 Edition 18.12.2

Discussion in 'AMD Flavor' started by TaintedSquirrel, Dec 13, 2018.

  1. TaintedSquirrel

    TaintedSquirrel [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,366
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    https://www.amd.com/en/support/kb/release-notes/rn-rad-win-18-12-2

     
    Maddness and Pieter3dnow like this.
  2. Sabrewulf...

    Sabrewulf... Gawd

    Messages:
    961
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    So from what I can tell without trying myself (and why bother then), well here, I;m just gonna copy this guys post I read (among others)

    "You can only use undervolt OR overclock GPU OR overclock RAM, no combination of the three. They seem to be present profiles, not doing any real testing except to see if the profile works or crashes.

    Using undervolt, I had no change in voltage.
    Using GPU overclock I got 1%.
    Using RAM I got 890.

    Manually I'm able to far outdo any of those, and wonder of wonders, do all three at the same time.

    It's at best a placebo to make some people think they have driver parity with Nvidia. I am sorely disappointed, though I'll admit my expectations were colored by the lack of them saying anything and seeing what Nvidia is capable of doing automatically. "



    Bit of a bummer, was hoping for some intelligence with this so called "One click tuning with Auto Overclock GPU, Auto Overclock Memory and Auto Undervolt GPU." Hopefully they will expand on it in the future.

    So back to manual UV/OC I go, but now with all the states opened up, see what that does. Don't think I got the best chip during that Newegg/Ebay +%15 off deal. Still trying to tame the beast, find my sweet spot.

    Will have my AIO water cooled Vega 64 build posted sometime when I get the Video/Pics together. It worked out great, damn cool and most important, QUIET! Fuck that blower cooler!
     
    Nolan7689 likes this.
  3. Maddness

    Maddness [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,159
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Strange but i'm unable to find the auto overclock in wattman.
     
  4. Sabrewulf...

    Sabrewulf... Gawd

    Messages:
    961
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Right below the graphs -

    upload_2018-12-13_13-4-24.png
     
  5. Maddness

    Maddness [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,159
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    No it's not there. I just checked again.
     
  6. Sabrewulf...

    Sabrewulf... Gawd

    Messages:
    961
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Maybe do a clean install if you didn't. They have some bugs to work out yet, I cant get the fancy new overlay to work, just seeing the previous, the new overlay only works in Exclusive Fullscreen Mode games, otherwise your just have the old one show. Still testing.

    Update: Got the Overlay working, default is ALT + R, not CTRL + R...
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2018
    Maddness and Pieter3dnow like this.
  7. Pieter3dnow

    Pieter3dnow [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,368
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Review from Guru3D: https://www.guru3d.com/articles-pages/radeon-adrenalin-2019-edition-driver-overview,1.html

    Not to bad :)

    This would be for displays that have different specs in nits without having effects either be to bright or to dim on different monitors..
     
  8. Nuby1Canuby

    Nuby1Canuby Gawd

    Messages:
    759
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    The instant Gif creator looks interesting. A 5 second low quality 640x360 Gif is about 12MB in size.
     
    cybereality likes this.
  9. Maddness

    Maddness [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,159
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Yes, i think i will DDU it tonight when i get home.
     
  10. Maddness

    Maddness [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,159
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Well after using DDU I can say there must be an issue with the overclocking and Polaris based cards. I still don't get the option come up.
     
  11. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,167
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    it doesn't show that for my 470 either. youre prob right.
     
  12. Maddness

    Maddness [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,159
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    After doing a search, auto overclocking for GPU and memory is Vega only at this stage. We will need to wait for an update from AMD.
     
    Pieter3dnow likes this.
  13. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,167
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    yup but im used to using AB anyway so no biggy for me.
     
    Maddness likes this.
  14. Maddness

    Maddness [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,159
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    That's true. I just wanted to try it out and see how it goes.