R9 fury strix with a 500W psu ???

Discussion in 'Video Cards' started by xmadror, Mar 16, 2017.

  1. xmadror

    xmadror Gawd

    Messages:
    708
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    I got myself a new 1080ti (havent received it yet :() and I wanted to give my card to my sister which has received my older parts recently. I was gonna skip the 1080ti because I tough the price was gonna be higher but I could not resist. So at that time I ordered for her a 500W psu along with a rx 480.

    I was gonna give her my r9 fury strix (air) and resell her rx480 but then I tough that her psu might be too weak.

    The rig consist of a 3570k oc'ed at 4.2ghz (~1.115V if i remember correctly) with 16gb ddr3 2400, asrock z77 extreme 4, 1 ssd with 2 hdd powered a evga 500W 80+ psu (100-W1-0500-KR) which has a 40 amp 12V rail.
    The fury would not be oc'ed (very poor oc on it anyway) from I've read it should work but the psu would be pretty much at its limit.

    What do you guys think ?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. tom_ozahoski

    tom_ozahoski Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    234
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    The fury draws nearly twice the power and 500w most likely wont cut it. Does she game or have the need for a fury?
     
  3. xmadror

    xmadror Gawd

    Messages:
    708
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Gaming is the main purpose, right now its rise of the tomb raider and probably witcher 3 next.
    The rx 480 is doing a pretty good job with an older 27" 1200p lcd monitor. I just wanted to give her the fury since is a better card and it's probably not gonna sell for much anyway.
    She has also shown interest in my 34" ultra wide since I may make a move for a 40" 2160p screen soon and the rx 480 would have a harder time at 3440*1440.
     
  4. Algrim

    Algrim [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,512
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    If you want to gift her your Fury get a better PSU and she'll be set for a while.
     
  5. tom_ozahoski

    tom_ozahoski Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    234
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Eh after looking around more the 500w might get you by. If it were me I would try it out.
     
  6. Algrim

    Algrim [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,512
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
  7. tom_ozahoski

    tom_ozahoski Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    234
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Just sell me the 480 and get her a new power supply :wtf:
     
    Sulphademus likes this.
  8. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,905
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    it might work but its will be really close to maxing out the psu. best to up it to at least a 600w to be safe, especially with OCing.
     
  9. xmadror

    xmadror Gawd

    Messages:
    708
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Didn't knew [H] did a review on my exact card. Seems like it might be doable on 500W after all. A 3770k @ 4.8 would also draw more power then a 3570k @ 4.2.
    Power seems to be measured at the wall so the actual output would be slightly lower (by 10-15% ??). 367 x 0.9 = 330W which seems reasonable for a 40Ax12V=480W psu.
    It would be a load just under 70%.


    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Anyone else think this is reasonable or is this asking for trouble ?
     
  10. Algrim

    Algrim [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,512
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    It's going to come down to how old the PSU is and what kind. Throw it in and see what happens. (y)

    EDIT: Stupid phone... I meant to use the thumbs-up icon instead of the thumbs-down. Now that I see it on the big screen... Whoops!
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2017
    pendragon1 likes this.
  11. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,905
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    sure try it then. fire it up and then run occt system stress test. if it keeps running it should be ok. if it powers off you need a better psu.
     
  12. whateverer

    whateverer Gawd

    Messages:
    987
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Should be okay. Don't up the voltage on that GPU, though, it's a power-hungry thing.
     
  13. xmadror

    xmadror Gawd

    Messages:
    708
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    I received/installed my 1080ti today along with the accelero hydrid III-120 cooler (not installed yet).
    I'll probably try to install the fury something next week.
     
  14. xmadror

    xmadror Gawd

    Messages:
    708
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    I installed the fury today and after some benchmark and game test its working fine.
    I'm going to hold on to the rx480 for ~2 weeks just in case before I put it for sale.

    On another note the 1080ti with the accelero hybrid III-120 is pretty awesome, generally around 50C and highest I've seen so far is 54C at 2000+mhz while being nearly silent!
     
  15. rgMekanic

    rgMekanic [H]ard|News Staff Member

    Messages:
    3,937
    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    You can also pretty safely undervolt a Fury quite a bit at stock clocks and save a ton of power
     
  16. HybridHB

    HybridHB [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,248
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    I run a lightly oc'd fury @1050mhz and a 3770k @4.5ghz. My pc and monitor are the only things plugged into my UPS and during gaming the ups reports around 460w of usage. The monitor itself uses 75w of power so the whole pc was pulling under 400w of power. I think 500w will be fine if its a decent quality unit.
     
  17. FinestRyeBread

    FinestRyeBread Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    162
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    I have a fury tri-x with a 600w psu and that may be pushing it
     
  18. sweets3450

    sweets3450 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    217
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    bad idea for many reasons. never go cheap no the psu ($$, or draw/max) get a more capable psu