R5 3600 on X370 board

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by WackyWRZ, Oct 30, 2019.

  1. WackyWRZ

    WackyWRZ n00b

    Messages:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    So I bought a 1700 and Gigabyte X370 Gaming 7 board a year ago (among other parts) and never got around to building my new PC. I've started working on it and know the 1700 is a bit old now, but don't want to re-buy everything - probably not being able to get a whole lot out of those parts.

    I am wondering how well the R5 3600 would work on this board / chipset. The CPU is supported on the board with a BIOS update, and the board seems to have pretty decent VRMs. I mostly play League and Starcraft 2, with some old BF4 mixed in. I also use the computer for work which involves heavy multitasking.

    I figure I could probably get the 3600 for $80 or so after selling the 1700. Just not sure if it's worth it on the board or if I'm asking for trouble. Or if I would just be fine using the 1700 and waiting for a price drop on the 3 series.
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2019
  2. Geforcepat

    Geforcepat Gawd

    Messages:
    911
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Nice mobo. Yes the 3600 will be fine on it. I've a 3600 on an asus 370 pro and it works fine. I wouldn't waste any money on a 570 if you already have a good 370.
     
  3. Sulphademus

    Sulphademus Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    354
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    I am running a 3600X on a B350, works fine.
     
  4. funkydmunky

    funkydmunky 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,395
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    With the games your playing I think you would be more then fine with the 1700. You GPU is going to be the biggest factor.
     
  5. Jandor

    Jandor Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    282
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    I'd rather update with a 3700X from a 1700, but then I rather not update at all. A 3600 is clearly not worth it. In heavy multitasking it may even be slower than a 1700. There is no clear slow downs with a 1700 in gaming. It is the graphics card that counts on heavy gaming and the 1700 is good enough to support a 2080Ti. Don't watch those benches on some games with older engines easy on graphic cards that show at Full HD 150FPS vs 135FPS. Look at those who are at 60FPS vs 58FPS at bigger than Full HD, some times in favor of the 1700. If you look close, then, all the difference at around 60FPS is the graphics card you put in.
     
  6. jmilcher

    jmilcher [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,327
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Personally I’d dump the 1700 and go with the 3600 without hesitation. Ipc gains, much better memory compatibility, cooler running chip, amongst other reasons. You wouldn’t be asking here if you were content with what’s in front of you. And yes the 3600 willl work fine on that board.
     
    horrorshow likes this.
  7. RamonGTP

    RamonGTP [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,809
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    It's an enthusiast forum, people ask about upgrading hardware they're content with all the time.
     
  8. Chimpee

    Chimpee [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,457
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    I go with a 3600, higher FPS and higher low's make a better gaming experience. Regarding Multitasking, you will gain from running single threaded application but will lose out in multithreaded application, this is my opinion, I feel like that isn't a huge loss as you will have better IPC and running at higher clock.
     
  9. jmilcher

    jmilcher [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,327
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    And 99% of the time what is the response? You answered the question already with your response.
    This is [H] where people encourage bad habits for little gain besides e-peen growth. Which is why these boards have very little to do with over locking anymore.
     
  10. RamonGTP

    RamonGTP [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,809
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    I’m just saying, people upgrade shit for fun sometime. I did. After upgrading my main system from a 3770k to a 3900x/x570 I got curious. Wondered how 8 cores would perform supposed to 12 and how it would do on an entry level B350. Scoured the forum here for parts got good deals on everything including a 2x8gb kit and built it out just to run some comparison benchmarks even though I could have found them online. It cost me under $300 but I had fun with it. Tossed in an unused Vega 56 I had laying around, bought a new case and that system has found a new home at my GFs apartment so I can play me some Modern Warfare every now and again then I’m there.