R5 3600 on X370 board

WackyWRZ

n00b
Joined
Mar 3, 2016
Messages
47
So I bought a 1700 and Gigabyte X370 Gaming 7 board a year ago (among other parts) and never got around to building my new PC. I've started working on it and know the 1700 is a bit old now, but don't want to re-buy everything - probably not being able to get a whole lot out of those parts.

I am wondering how well the R5 3600 would work on this board / chipset. The CPU is supported on the board with a BIOS update, and the board seems to have pretty decent VRMs. I mostly play League and Starcraft 2, with some old BF4 mixed in. I also use the computer for work which involves heavy multitasking.

I figure I could probably get the 3600 for $80 or so after selling the 1700. Just not sure if it's worth it on the board or if I'm asking for trouble. Or if I would just be fine using the 1700 and waiting for a price drop on the 3 series.
 
Last edited:

Geforcepat

Gawd
Joined
Jun 2, 2012
Messages
939
Nice mobo. Yes the 3600 will be fine on it. I've a 3600 on an asus 370 pro and it works fine. I wouldn't waste any money on a 570 if you already have a good 370.
 

funkydmunky

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
2,580
With the games your playing I think you would be more then fine with the 1700. You GPU is going to be the biggest factor.
 

Jandor

Gawd
Joined
Dec 30, 2018
Messages
530
I'd rather update with a 3700X from a 1700, but then I rather not update at all. A 3600 is clearly not worth it. In heavy multitasking it may even be slower than a 1700. There is no clear slow downs with a 1700 in gaming. It is the graphics card that counts on heavy gaming and the 1700 is good enough to support a 2080Ti. Don't watch those benches on some games with older engines easy on graphic cards that show at Full HD 150FPS vs 135FPS. Look at those who are at 60FPS vs 58FPS at bigger than Full HD, some times in favor of the 1700. If you look close, then, all the difference at around 60FPS is the graphics card you put in.
 

jmilcher

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 3, 2008
Messages
4,697
Personally I’d dump the 1700 and go with the 3600 without hesitation. Ipc gains, much better memory compatibility, cooler running chip, amongst other reasons. You wouldn’t be asking here if you were content with what’s in front of you. And yes the 3600 willl work fine on that board.
 

RamonGTP

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 9, 2005
Messages
8,150
Personally I’d dump the 1700 and go with the 3600 without hesitation. Ipc gains, much better memory compatibility, cooler running chip, amongst other reasons. You wouldn’t be asking here if you were content with what’s in front of you. And yes the 3600 willl work fine on that board.

It's an enthusiast forum, people ask about upgrading hardware they're content with all the time.
 

Chimpee

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 6, 2015
Messages
1,644
So I bought a 1700 and Gigabyte X370 Gaming 7 board a year ago (among other parts) and never got around to building my new PC. I've started working on it and know the 1700 is a bit old now, but don't want to re-buy everything - probably not being able to get a whole lot out of those parts.

I am wondering how well the R5 3600 would work on this board / chipset. The CPU is supported on the board with a BIOS update, and the board seems to have pretty decent VRMs. I mostly play League and Starcraft 2, with some old BF4 mixed in. I also use the computer for work which involves heavy multitasking.

I figure I could probably get the 3600 for $80 or so after selling the 1700. Just not sure if it's worth it on the board or if I'm asking for trouble. Or if I would just be fine using the 1700 and waiting for a price drop on the 3 series.
I go with a 3600, higher FPS and higher low's make a better gaming experience. Regarding Multitasking, you will gain from running single threaded application but will lose out in multithreaded application, this is my opinion, I feel like that isn't a huge loss as you will have better IPC and running at higher clock.
 

jmilcher

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 3, 2008
Messages
4,697
It's an enthusiast forum, people ask about upgrading hardware they're content with all the time.
And 99% of the time what is the response? You answered the question already with your response.
This is [H] where people encourage bad habits for little gain besides e-peen growth. Which is why these boards have very little to do with over locking anymore.
 

RamonGTP

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 9, 2005
Messages
8,150
And 99% of the time what is the response? You answered the question already with your response.
This is [H] where people encourage bad habits for little gain besides e-peen growth. Which is why these boards have very little to do with over locking anymore.

I’m just saying, people upgrade shit for fun sometime. I did. After upgrading my main system from a 3770k to a 3900x/x570 I got curious. Wondered how 8 cores would perform supposed to 12 and how it would do on an entry level B350. Scoured the forum here for parts got good deals on everything including a 2x8gb kit and built it out just to run some comparison benchmarks even though I could have found them online. It cost me under $300 but I had fun with it. Tossed in an unused Vega 56 I had laying around, bought a new case and that system has found a new home at my GFs apartment so I can play me some Modern Warfare every now and again then I’m there.
 

dmdtobe

Weaksauce
Joined
Oct 7, 2019
Messages
65
Without knowing the rest of your system it'd be hard to say if either processor would be a bottleneck, but I'd argue against upgrading if you don't find any part of your current system lacking.
 

WackyWRZ

n00b
Joined
Mar 3, 2016
Messages
47
Thanks everyone! I haven't even built the new one yet. I'm still using the one in my sig - which isn't a bad system either, but it's been showing some slowness. The new one will have 16GB of Trident memory (B-Die), 1TB 970 Evo Plus, and a RX5700 XT for GPU. I actually managed to snag a 3600 from eBay for ~$140 with some coupons / offers I had available - so I'll be able to test them both and if I stick with the 1700, I won't lose money on the 3600 if I sell it at least! Still waiting on the GPU block from AliExpress.... Hopefully it comes some time this year :sleep: .
 
Top