Quiet/understated cases like the Corsair 550D - options?

grambo

[H]ard|Gawd
Hi,

Curious if anyone is making a better/newer version of something like the Corsair 550D? Mid-tower, sleek/understated looks (no RGB, no case window) focused on quiet operation. I looked at Corsair's website and didn't see much.

I've been running a Corsair Obsidian 550D since 2012 and am very happy with it. I like the understated industrial/matte black look and the sound dampening foam does a good job. I run 2x 120mm front intake, 1x 120mm bottom intake both of which have easily removable filters for cleaning and I run just 1x 120mm rear exhaust (I leave the top port closed). The positive pressure + filters means the inside of my case does not get dusty at all and no cat fur gets in.

Looking at doing a new build, would rather just sell everything I have now as a complete PC and buy new but having trouble justifying not just re-using the 550D. Front ports are USB 3.0 only, so having newer USB 3.1/Type C etc. for high speed external storage would be kinda nice but not a deal breaker.

Fractal Design Define series

Wow, Fractcal has really stepped up their game in the past 5 years while Corsair seems to have stagnated a bit? When I built this PC in 2012, Fractcal was OK but more budget focused and lesser build quality. Some of the higher end Define series look exactly like what I want. Debating if I really need Type C on the front panel, would be nice for sure.

Thanks

You might want to take a look at Be Quiet! case offerings.

A68V_131284641558252597ahbn5JPXni.jpg

You might want to take a look at Be Quiet! case offerings.

View attachment 172190

I check one of GN's videos on this design. The side panels seems really well thought. I have to say Fractal Design looks better but I have my doubts about build quality

I had the same dilemma earlier today