Question on Steam VR and multiple Oculus sensors

Discussion in 'VR & Head-Mounted Displays' started by 1Wolf, Jan 11, 2017.

  1. 1Wolf

    1Wolf Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    308
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    I'm running an Oculus with 3 sensors. The little Steam VR popup has an icon in it to represent the Oculus, a little icon for each of my Touch controllers, and 2 icons to represent sensors. There is no third icon to represent the third sensor. In addition, when in Steam VR with the Oculus on, I can see the images of the two front sensors represented in the VR world but if I look behind me I don't see an image for that third sensor.

    How do you tell if Steam VR is actually "seeing" your third sensor? And if its not, how do you tell Steam VR to recognize it? I don't think its actually using my rear sensor because in games where I turn my back to the two front sensors, it seems to lose tracking.

    Thanks!
     
  2. pj-

    pj- Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    168
    Joined:
    May 7, 2015


    It's supposed to show all of them in the popup. Can you confirm with the oculus software that the third sensor is actually working?
     
  3. Hagrid

    Hagrid [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,589
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    I had to play around with the ports to get it working with 3 cameras. I also bought the pic-e to usb 3.
     
  4. 1Wolf

    1Wolf Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    308
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Thanks pj,

    I'll confirm in the Oculus Home software when I get home from work today.


    Hagrid,

    You had said

    I'm not sure what that means?
     
  5. Hagrid

    Hagrid [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,589
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    The usb's did not like being all on the same controller or something. I had to swap around to different ports. The pcie to usb was for more ports/controllers. I may be wrong on the controller part though. But it works great now.
     
  6. VulcaN

    VulcaN [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,847
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2001
    So if you buy a PCI-E to usb 3 card, say 4 ports, you cant run everything off that one card?
     
  7. Hagrid

    Hagrid [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,589
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    From what I understand, they like to be on their own controller. Some MB's have several usb controller chips. They use some pretty good bandwidth I assume which is why they need their own usually.
     
  8. TheSmJ

    TheSmJ 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,356
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    To be a little more specific: Oculus recommends you keep it to no more than 2 sensors per controller. I have two of my sensors on a PCIe USB3 controller, and my 3rd on one of my motherboard's USB2 ports.
     
Tags: