Q6600 + 2560x1600 monitor: 7970/680 a waste?

That's_Corporate

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 30, 2006
Messages
1,738
If so, and the Q6600 would be leaving way too much performance on the table, how cheap of a CPU can you get to fully utilize the 7970/680 at 2560x1600?

I heard gaming at such a resolution means the CPU performance is almost irrelevant, just wondering HOW irrelevant one can go before it's just dumb to not upgrade :)
 

the_real_7

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
1,344
that is a tough resolution on a modern day cpu let alone the q6600 is going to bottleneck those cards even if it was overclocked . . .
 

rtangwai

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 26, 2007
Messages
1,369
I've tried it with a Q9550@3.6GHz and a HD6950, not a pretty sight. Going to a 3570K@4.3GHz was a huge performance increase - I could choose to add more eyecandy or get 50% more FPS in some games. CPU performance is less relevant at very high resolutions but you still have to feed data to the GPU so a big CPU is still necessary, especially if the FOV from the bigger resolution means increased number of objects to keep track of.
 

Liger88

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
2,657
The Core2Quads are starting to show there age these days. I'd say i7 920 would probably be the oldest generation you want to get away with for almost anything with regards to gaming if you're looking at the high-end. The difference between a Q9550 and a Nehalem, Sandy Bridge, or Ivy Bridge counter-part can easily be 5-15FPS depending on resolution and settings.
 

whitewater

n00b
Joined
Apr 16, 2012
Messages
62
A Q6600 with a 7970 @2560x1600 is like running a Q6600 with a 6870 @1920x1200...so it's pretty balanced in most games actually. I hope you've overclocked it. Might be worth thinking of upgrading that CPU in the next 12-18 months though.
 

Jorona

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 6, 2011
Messages
3,545
If its stock, yeah, might not be pretty. Those chips gain the most going to 3ghz, anything over that is icing.

Get the big bad card, you can always move it to your next build, and you'll see a gain now.
 

That's_Corporate

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 30, 2006
Messages
1,738
Thanks for the advice!
Looks like my Q6600 is a bit long in the tooth.

What is the cheapest CPU I can get away with without giving up any frames at 2650x1600? As for games, let's say any AAA title. The only game I play that's CPU intensive is Civ 5, if that helps.
 

fuzchunk

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 10, 2012
Messages
128
on a budget the newer amd fx chips are good on one card at that res under most situations . but an 3570k is the gamers go to. perhaps card now and see how good haswell is
 
Top