Put together a 2600K, GA-Z69XP-UD4, and Trident PC3-2133 system, continuous reboots

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by alkemyst, Mar 18, 2017.

  1. alkemyst

    alkemyst Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    224
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    I put this system together today and it never posts, not even beeps. The CPU loading LEDs on the motherboard has 4 lit. I used the 2nd and 4th slot for my RAM. It goes 5-15 seconds roughly and just reboots. I cleared the CMOS. Everything installed works fine in my other system (I am running on all of it now).

    I am hoping the seller didn't sell me dead setup. They had great feedback on eBay and everything came in original boxes/manuals/etc. I verified no pins were bent both when I got the motherboard and again once it failed.

    I want to swap in my slower PC-1600 memory next time to see if that works. I am also going to try the PC3-2133 in my GA-990FXA-UD3 once I find out if it's supported.

    Any ideas would be helpful, going to try this again next weekend.
     
  2. Spartacus

    Spartacus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,457
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Do you have any extra stand offs in the case that don't match up to the mounting holes on the new mobo?
    The stand offs must match up exactly to the mobo holes with no extras.

    Make sure you are plugging in the CPU power cable where it goes and not using a PCIe video card power cable for that.

    Look up the LED code, what does it mean?

    .
     
  3. alkemyst

    alkemyst Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    224
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    The standoffs perfectly match my other Gigabyte board and the two motherboard powers as well. The LED is just "CPU Loading".

    I found out my old GA-990FXA-UD3 should be able to use the PC3-2133 ram, but it's possible is shows up as 1600 (My motherboard is capable of 2000+OC RAM). I will give the new sticks a try and see if they are bad. One of the heatsink screws looked like someone had already removed it once since the little screw looks a little stripped. I should have tried my other RAM, but I was thinking I wanted faster RAM and forgot it's also DDR3 though.

    The good news is all that work my old setup is organized a lot better and I got rid of clutter I didn't need anymore (front USB and card readers) and added a lot more USB's to the back plane. I have all my card readers on my desktop now and USB 3.0/charging hubs as well.
     
  4. alkemyst

    alkemyst Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    224
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    I think I see the problem, for my 990FXA I am using slots 1 and 3 and 2 and 4 for my two different pairs of ram, the manual (like the manual says for the Z68XP) is to use slots 1 and 2....I just tried that on my 990FXA and it won't post (one long beep and 3 short beeps indicating memory issue). CPUz shows I am in Dual Channel Mode.

    The manual states for two modules use either DDR3_1 and DDR3_2 or DDR3_3 and DDR3_4, but also says Channel A is DDR3_1 and DDR3_3 and Channel B is DDR3_2 and DDR3_4. I am thinking if I just use 1 and 3 it should work next time. I didn't get any POST beeps with the Z68XP though.
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2017
  5. nightfly

    nightfly [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,011
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Replace the battery? I went through this, drove myself nuts trying to figure it out. Eventually got around to replacing the on board disc battery and then everything worked fine. Sometimes the monkey mechanic thing works. Human brains don't work all that well with low fuel (glucose), so sometimes silicon ones don't, either, once their volts or amps aren't quite what they're supposed to be.
     
  6. alkemyst

    alkemyst Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    224
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Thx nightfly, I will buy one of those too.
     
  7. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,015
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    your OTHER thread has the answers...
     
  8. alkemyst

    alkemyst Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    224
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Thanks, I am usually better at this...been working 15 hour days lately for the last few weeks on an urgent timeline.