PSA: Windows 7 support ends tomorrow, Jan 14, 2020

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mazzspeed

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 27, 2017
Messages
2,545
Good to know, I'll just stick with my older install media, lol.
oh, it probably did and possibly. you should enter the key next time and see what happens. you may be triggering it by not using a key so it wants you to go online to try and find a key or sell you one.
Of course the media used or the method of media creation as well as whether a key is entered is irrelevant, as the account creation portion of the Windows installer is called the OOBE and is cloud based - So chances are you're not going to have the option to create a local account if you're connected to the internet during install no matter what you do.
 

odditory

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
5,869
my 1903 was totally up to date and took ~5 min to update to 1909, on both my home system and work laptop. there is a thread here somewhere talking about how quick it was.
Because it was an essentially empty update. The size delta between stock 1903 and 1909 images was like 220k. They did nothing.
 
Last edited:

M76

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Jun 12, 2012
Messages
10,275
My own experiences from just 1 day ago just seems to contradict yours. Either there is a version difference (even though you are claiming there is not) when you were doing it or something else was causing the issue. Whatever is going on, no one else seems to be affected by it.
It wouldn't be the first time when MS was doing something different in different regions.

I can't believe we still couldn't eradicate the "It didn't happen to me, therefore when it happens to someone else they're either lying, stupid, or their computer is crap" argument.

First off why would I make something like this up. Second what would I do "wrong" that would magically create an entirely new app from scratch that wants me to continue setting up windows online.
 

Red Falcon

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
10,168
This didn't happen to me therefore it doesn't exist. Logic™
This message doesn't show up on Windows 7 systems that haven't been updated in the last few months, so it must have been a later update that included the countdown message, much like what Microsoft did back in 2014 with Windows XP and the "finale" message as on of its last updates.
 

M76

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Jun 12, 2012
Messages
10,275
This message doesn't show up on Windows 7 systems that haven't been updated in the last few months, so it must have been a later update that included the countdown message, much like what Microsoft did back in 2014 with Windows XP and the "finale" message as on of its last updates.
My Windows 7 just installed an update yesterday. Also I was joking (see the 'discussion' I had above, I thought Logic™ would've revealed that it is not serious)
 

Red Falcon

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
10,168
My Windows 7 just installed an update yesterday. Also I was joking (see the 'discussion' I had above, I thought Logic™ would've revealed that it is not serious)
haha, I gotcha :D
 

Mazzspeed

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 27, 2017
Messages
2,545
This didn't happen to me therefore it doesn't exist. Logic™
I have experienced exactly what you experienced on a few occasions, but each time I've been able to just close the manipulative requester and carry on as normal. Are you saying you couldn't close the requester trying to force a Microsoft account once Windows was installed and booted to desktop with networking?
 

M76

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Jun 12, 2012
Messages
10,275
I have experienced exactly what you experienced on a few occasions, but each time I've been able to just close the manipulative requester and carry on as normal. Are you saying you couldn't close the requester trying to force a Microsoft account once Windows was installed and booted to desktop with networking?
I don't remember exactly how I got out of it, but I could avoid creating an online account still.
 

Mazzspeed

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 27, 2017
Messages
2,545
I don't remember exactly how I got out of it, but I could avoid creating an online account still.
At this point in time I believe you can simply close the Window and carry on as normal. However, there was a point in time where not everyone was getting the version of the cloud based OOBE as part of the Windows installer that was forcing the use of a Microsoft account as opposed to a local account, as a result those not experiencing the 'feature' were calling others lairs no matter how much evidence they provided - Citing 'Microsoft would never do such a thing'.

I'm now noticing such individuals accepting the fact that Microsoft are forcing the use of a Microsoft account when performing a Windows 10 Home install connected to a network, meaning the feature is now being pushed to everyone. It wouldn't surprise me at all, even if one performs an offline install, upon connecting to the internet on first login the use of a Microsoft account is forced onto the user before they can continue to use the OS in the not too distant future. Especially with Windows 7 becoming EOL.
 

ManofGod

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
11,531
No? I said it restarted itself. Why on earth would I restart in the middle of an update?



I've done dozens of Windows 10 upgrades and updates between major releases for clients on a wide range of hardware, and in no case did it ever take just a few minutes. At best an hour, at worst, several hours.



If it was an issue unique to me, why do all of the major tech sites have extensive coverage of the problem, pages of workarounds to try and laundry lists of users complaining about the same thing? It's not a one off problem, it's very widespread.
It is a one off problem because no, it does not simply sniff that a wireless connection exists and BAM!, it is online and says it will not allow a local account creation. And no, all the major tech sites do not list that extensive coverage of that specific issue and does not have pages of workarounds for it.
 

Gideon

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 13, 2006
Messages
2,473
I guess today is the first day that I start infecting the whole world...Win 7 FOR LIFE MAN !!!!!
You know the funny part is people saying you have to upgrade the OS or your a security risk, while they use a unpatched Intel machine :) Enjoy Windows 7, I still prefer it over 10.
 

wandplus

n00b
Joined
Jan 14, 2020
Messages
11
I prefer the way you find programs in Windows 7 compared to Windows 8.1 but I just installed it on a SSD in a machine (that had a HD) with a GTX 1050 Ti and ran a game at higher framerates and with more special effects. As a matter of fact, I thought my performance in the game had likely improved because of smoother gameplay. I installed Classic Shell though to make it easier for me. lol :)
 

ep0x73

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 5, 2013
Messages
2,569
hmm, windows 7 upgrade advisor is not working, won't connect to MS server
I am sure a few programs I have won't transfer over if I upgrade to 10
 

ManofGod

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
11,531
hmm, windows 7 upgrade advisor is not working, won't connect to MS server
I am sure a few programs I have won't transfer over if I upgrade to 10
Just download the Windows Media Creation tool, create the USB drive and have at it. If you think that certain programs will not work on Windows 10 and you need them, just do not do it or upgrade your programs.
 

nilepez

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Jan 21, 2005
Messages
11,607
I prefer the way you find programs in Windows 7 compared to Windows 8.1 but I just installed it on a SSD in a machine (that had a HD) with a GTX 1050 Ti and ran a game at higher framerates and with more special effects. As a matter of fact, I thought my performance in the game had likely improved because of smoother gameplay. I installed Classic Shell though to make it easier for me. lol :)
If you type, you find them the exact same way in every OS since 7 (if not Vista). That said, 8.1's full screen menu was visually jarring, but ultimately didn't affect how I launched programs.

10, OTOH is virtually identical to 7 (unless you need a menu that looks like windows 95 or XP).
 

GotNoRice

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
9,352
Food for thought. If Microsoft really thought that Windows 7 is dead, then why did they go through so much trouble to make sure that the new Chromium-based Edge browser will install and work fine on Windows 7? Considering that the new Edge was released a day after Windows 7 "support" ended.
 

GiGaBiTe

Gawd
Joined
Apr 26, 2013
Messages
993
It is a one off problem because no, it does not simply sniff that a wireless connection exists and BAM!, it is online and says it will not allow a local account creation. And no, all the major tech sites do not list that extensive coverage of that specific issue and does not have pages of workarounds for it.
https://www.howtogeek.com/442609/confirmed-windows-10-setup-now-prevents-local-account-creation/
https://www.pcworld.com/article/3409788/how-microsoft-made-it-harder-to-create-windows-10-local-accounts.html

<insert tons of threads on all major tech support forums on the same problem here>

If Windows detects a wifi adapter in setup that's usable, it will force you to make a microsoft account via connecting to an available wifi network. Windows 10 Home has more problems because some of the admin tools are disabled, as well as many WU features.
 

Red Falcon

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
10,168
https://www.howtogeek.com/442609/confirmed-windows-10-setup-now-prevents-local-account-creation/
https://www.pcworld.com/article/3409788/how-microsoft-made-it-harder-to-create-windows-10-local-accounts.html

<insert tons of threads on all major tech support forums on the same problem here>

If Windows detects a wifi adapter in setup that's usable, it will force you to make a microsoft account via connecting to an available wifi network. Windows 10 Home has more problems because some of the admin tools are disabled, as well as many WU features.
Windows 10 as a "service".
Yeah, we're getting serviced all right... :meh:
 

odditory

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
5,869
Food for thought. If Microsoft really thought that Windows 7 is dead, then why did they go through so much trouble to make sure that the new Chromium-based Edge browser will install and work fine on Windows 7? Considering that the new Edge was released a day after Windows 7 "support" ended.
Well, Chrome already worked on Windows 7, and since MS just copied Google's homework, they didn't really have to do anything. But as usual they react 3-5 years too late.

Like, all those years that Microsoft fucked around with Windows10-only "Metro Edge" in their infinite arrogance, refusing to acknowledge that maybe Windows 7 and 8.1 support would be a good idea, because "lol we'll force everyone onto Windows 10 eventually anyway and then they'll HAVE to use it" -- total disaster.

And all the while Google and Mozilla just hung back continuing to support everything, and here we are.
 
Last edited:

ManofGod

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
11,531
https://www.howtogeek.com/442609/confirmed-windows-10-setup-now-prevents-local-account-creation/
https://www.pcworld.com/article/3409788/how-microsoft-made-it-harder-to-create-windows-10-local-accounts.html

<insert tons of threads on all major tech support forums on the same problem here>

If Windows detects a wifi adapter in setup that's usable, it will force you to make a microsoft account via connecting to an available wifi network. Windows 10 Home has more problems because some of the admin tools are disabled, as well as many WU features.
If you manually connect to the wifi network then yes, it will attempt to make you use a Microsoft account in Windows 10 Home. However, it does NOT automatically connect to the wireless network just because one exists in the area and therefore, will not force you to use a Microsoft account to login. I was very specific in what I said for that very reason.
 
Last edited:

Delicieuxz

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
1,046
"Get Windows 7-based Support Until 2021! - Windows Embedded POSReady 7 (Overview & Demo)"

 

Mazzspeed

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 27, 2017
Messages
2,545
If you manually connect to the wifi network then yes, it will attempt to make you use a Microsoft account in Windows 10 Home. However, it does NOT automatically connect to the wireless network just because one exists in the area and therefore, will not force you to use a Microsoft account to login. I was very specific in what I said for that very reason.
Microsoft never specifically state just what connecting to WiFi will do, the wording used is very unspecific and fairly manipulative. The average person that doesn't install Windows 20 times a week is likely to be fooled into connecting to a network. If you're plugged into a wired network connection, a Microsoft account will be created and the unsuspecting user will see no prompts asking if they want to connect to a network beforehand.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top