PSA: No Ryzen 3000 Pre-orders Today (1st July)

Discussion in 'HardForum Tech News' started by ir0nw0lf, Jul 1, 2019.

  1. ir0nw0lf

    ir0nw0lf [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,322
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    According to the yahoos at TPU, no Ryzen 3xxx pre-orders today. Everyone can stop killing their F5 key now. :p

    https://www.techpowerup.com/256967/psa-no-ryzen-3000-pre-orders-today-1st-july-spare-your-f5-key

     
  2. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    28,651
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    HAL_404, jeffj7, PestXs and 1 other person like this.
  3. mnewxcv

    mnewxcv [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,483
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    It was a rumor since at least the presentation at ces. Or whatever tradeshow that was. Damn I'm slipping.

    But yeah was a rumor that 7.1 was pre-order.
     
  4. illaghee

    illaghee Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    393
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    i swear the lady herself said preorders on the 1st but now i cant remember it was during computex or e3... but i seen it somewhere.
     
    Darth Kyrie and mnewxcv like this.
  5. KATEKATEKATE

    KATEKATEKATE Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    303
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    i also thought i remember reading something about dr. su and preorders and july 1. zen 2 rumor mill is gigantic

    no preorders feels like a p. respectable move tbh... let the product speak for itself on launch day.
     
  6. Jim Kim

    Jim Kim 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,549
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    I hope that does not translate to "paper launch"
     
    DrDoU likes this.
  7. KATEKATEKATE

    KATEKATEKATE Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    303
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    i saw somewhere on [H] a premature distributor/e-tailer listing that said something about stock coming to them this week, so... fingers crossed?
     
  8. Brackle

    Brackle Old Timer

    Messages:
    7,253
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Thank god I plan to wait for reviews!
     
    DogsofJune likes this.
  9. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,527
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    If I end up buying a Zen2 cpu the one I want is not going to be out till September. Although I still really want a 7nm TR4 CPU for my windows workstation. I already have a 2700 for the linux server / pvr.
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2019
    mikeo likes this.
  10. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    28,651
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000

    I used to feel this way. I really wanted the PCIe lanes from TR. Based on AMD's Robert Hallock's comments in this video there will definitely be another Threadripper, but he said that since they went up in core count so much with AM4, TR4 is also going to have to up the ante or it doesn't make sense. I'm guessing this means 64 cores or some crazy shit like that?

    I was only into Threadripper for the PCIe lanes. I don't need crazy core counts. If I had to choose I'd choose fewer higher clocked cores, over more lower clocked ones.

    Between this and the fact that the x570 chipset makes it possible for motherboards to run an 8x PCIe slots from the chipset, in thinking that x570 (just barely) makes my expansion needs work, and offers me cheaper CPU's likely with higher clocks than TR.

    Because of this I'm probably going to go with an AM4 build, but I'm likely waiting for the 3950x in September, not because of the 16 cores, but because of the better binning and higher guaranteed (stock turbo) clocks.
     
    mikeo likes this.
  11. mikeo

    mikeo Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    474
    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    16 cores is more than enough for my uses, but the 4 ram slots don't cut it. Hopefully there will be a chip identical or slightly higher clocked than the 3950x on TR.
     
  12. GHRTW

    GHRTW n00b

    Messages:
    38
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2018
    Just 2 models of 24C and 32C for TR4 would be enough for this platform and whoever need more should go for an EPYC server imho.
     
    Joust likes this.
  13. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    28,651
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    I'm curious about this. What about 4x slots doesnt work for you?

    Do you need the quad channel performance? Or is the 64GB max not enough RAM for you?

    What is the application?

    On a side note though, which is bothersome, Tom's is quoting ASRock recommendations as anything 3200 or higher being achieved only using two slots, and the max dropping with more slots populated.

    Bummer if true.

    Screenshot_20190701-160409~2.png

    I was planning on going 4x16GB at 3733.
     
  14. Auer

    Auer Gawd

    Messages:
    889
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    I dont think ppl know what PSA means anymore.
     
    GoldenTiger likes this.
  15. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,527
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    I think a 7nm TR4 could start at 16C and go all the way up to the rumored 64C.
     
  16. mikeo

    mikeo Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    474
    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    On 64gb of ddr3 right now, x79 platform with an oc'd 12 core xeon. 4k video editing chews through 32gb real quick, isn't uncommon for it to sit around 40gb, and that's just the editing program.... wouldn't be an upgrade for my use without at least 64gb ram, and if I'm building a new system its going to have more ram than my old one.
     
  17. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,527
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    mikeo likes this.
  18. DogsofJune

    DogsofJune 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,872
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    This. I really want to see what they offer.

    I do wish they would hurry up and get these out for purchase.
     
  19. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    28,651
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    Yeah, I am going to wait for reviews just out of principle.

    That said, even at 4.8Ghz, my old hexacore Sandy-E i7-3930k I bought in 2011 is quite a bit slower per core than existing Zen+ Ryzens, so either way it will almost certainly be a significant upgrade for me.

    Will it hang with Intel's greatest core for core in lightly threaded (gaming) loads? Maybe, but probably not, but it will be so close that it will be utterly insignificant. And it will destroy intel in HEDT loads. That's pretty much guaranteed.

    Still, I'll wait for the reviews. I mean, they'll be out in 6 days anyway.
     
  20. KazeoHin

    KazeoHin [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,897
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    I think this is the "make sure we don't get too many support calls" list. Overclocking can do wonders to break QVLs
     
  21. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,233
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007

    This. Give it til release and the next AGEA wave and just like with Ryzen/+, if there are memory issues I'm sure they will be gone on a hurry. AMD knows thry need to make a big splash, and those springing for the 12/16 core parts are going to want the max speed/capacity memory wise.
     
  22. sirmonkey1985

    sirmonkey1985 [H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010

    Messages:
    21,587
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    this is a limitation of using daisy chain configurations. i believe there is at least one board that buildzoid reviewed that might still be T topology, i just can't remember which one it was. but that being said you could still get 3466 on x470 using 4x8/4x16 with the right cpu and right memory modules even though it was only rated for 2667 on daisy chain configured boards(asus was the only ones still using T topology on x370/x470) if i remember correctly per amd and the board manufactures so you may still be able to get 3600 or 3733, it just may not be easy to do.

    for the average consumer daisy chain is the best setup for performance since most people primarily run 2x8GB so daisy chain will easily allow 3600mhz+ where as T topology shows it's advantage when running 4x8/4x16.
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2019
    Mav451 likes this.
  23. Derangel

    Derangel [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,929
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    I will have to double check when I get home but I want to say it was the Asrock Taichi
     
  24. mda

    mda [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,655
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Crosshair 7s don't use the T Topology anymore AFAIK, so the number of actual X470 boards using that is probably quite low
     
  25. N4CR

    N4CR 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,969
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    With 12-16 cores on mainstream desktop platform i think there will be enough reason for manufacturers to do this and charge a slight premium.
     
  26. 1_rick

    1_rick Gawd

    Messages:
    617
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    No kidding!

    I'm running a 1600x right now and I'm almost certainly going to get a 3000 series, but I'm going to wait for a few reviews before I decide which one. I can't see more than 8 cores being useful enough to what I do at home to justify the extra expense, and I want to see if there will be any enhancements to PBO/PB/XFR (I may have missed it but I haven't seen any mention so far.) At this point in time, having gotten an RTX 2070 a few months ago, the only reason for me to go X570 would be something like PB enhancements.
     
  27. 1_rick

    1_rick Gawd

    Messages:
    617
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    Another great reason to wait for reviews! Wait and see which motherboards handle more, faster memory better.
     
  28. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,233
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    IMG_20190703_103524.jpg

    Not so patiently waiting for a 3700/3800 (or even a 3900x depending on my mood!)...

    On a side rant, I love custom water but I am beginning to see why so many of you settle for using AIOs. I moved to water because I have some crazy issues with certain sounds (thanks to 14yrs of barely controlled migraine).

    I probably shouldn't have picked it his stupid 75lb case up and dusted it before tearing it apart 2 weeks after back surgery but what other way is there then the [H] way?


    In case abyone is wondering, that is indeed my 3rd VII...I purchased 2, sold 1, and then purchased another. I think AMD is going to stop selling them once Navi is flooding the channel and these cards will be like the OG TITAN where they are worth more used then new thanks to the compute and memory capacity. History will tell if I am correct or not.

    So tempted to throw this one under water and see if it clocks better then my current one. I don't even know what kinda ram it has yet!
     
    N4CR likes this.
  29. Derangel

    Derangel [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,929
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    I want to go back to a custom loop after using an AIO for a while. AIOs have some advantages over a custom loop, but I vastly prefer being able to decide for myself what to put in the loop and not having to replace the entire set up if just the pump dies or something. Plus, trying to run an internal USB2 cable from the CPU socket down the bottom of a motherboard in a way that doesn't look ugly as hell is a pain in the ass.
     
  30. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    28,651
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    What advantages do you see AIO's having?(other than convenience)
     
  31. Derangel

    Derangel [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,929
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Cost, less work, easier warranty support.
     
    mikeo likes this.
  32. odditory

    odditory [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,702
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    90-95% of the cooling performance for 15-25% of the price. Plug and play.
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2019
  33. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,233
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007

    That's a bit of a stretch.... Ignoring the insane used deals you can get, the custom option is always going to perform better. A current gen 360mm AIO with all the stupid RGBOMGBBQSAUCE costs $150ish. You can build a nice entry loop for that.


    I have about $400 in ym loop, but I use high end compression fittings and large rads with a low fpi designed for quiet performance. I've had the 360mm rad since x58, along with a smaller rad (that Insold.off for what I paid for it 3 yrs later) and the pump and fittings.

    Now my pump gavr up the ghost after 6 years of running full speed 24/7, but was replaced with a brand new updated PWM model at no cost.

    So when you consider the lifespan, the cost isn't that big a deal. I snagged $220 worth of fans and a 420mm rad that lookedbrand new here for $90 shipped. So if you are smart you can find deals all the time.
     
  34. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    28,651
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    I feel like costs easily sneak up if you consider all the little parts that go into it.

    In a recent thread I illustrated the complete new cost of my current loop as follows:

    Could I have done it for less? Certainly, but I am a little bit of a perfectionist and particular about my design.

    My point - however - is that I fully buy the cost argument.

    What I don't buy is the performance argument. Sure, you can get the CPU down to similar temperatures, but with loud fans going crazy trying to cool it adequately, instead of a calmer experience with more radiator capacity.

    That, and you don't come anywhere near the GPU cooling performance even with one of those AIO equipped GPU's.

    I can run my Pascal Titan fully overclocked at full load and have it sit nicely at 24C on a cool day. I usually don't do this, because it is loud, so I let the loop temp rise to ~35C, which generally gives me sub 40C GPU temps with a very reasonable fan volume.
     
  35. Derangel

    Derangel [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,929
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    I’m thinking of giving Corsair’s stuff a shot when I do my next loop. They’re a bit pricey but I really like the companies they partnered with and the overall look of their blocks.
     
  36. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    28,651
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    I didn't realize Corsair had entered the custom loop market.

    I'll have to Google that.

    I have EK blocks now. The GPU block is brilliant. The CPU block is OK. I'm thinking of picking up a Heatkiller IV for my Ryzen build.
     
  37. sirmonkey1985

    sirmonkey1985 [H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010

    Messages:
    21,587
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    yeah they pretty much partnered with all the trusted name brands in custom loops.. for a beginner custom loop it's pretty damn nice and even i'm considering going that route instead of continuing to use an AIO.. price isn't that bad either surprisingly, the only thing that might stop me is the RGB crap though.
     
  38. Derangel

    Derangel [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,929
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    I’ve had Heatkiller stuff for both cpu and GPU blocks in the past, pretty good stuff.

    Corsair made some smart choices on partners. They use Hardware labs for the radiators and Bitspower for fittings. Their res is really neat too, it’s made out of a clear nylon to make it more durable. Apparently they picked a very expensive grade of nylon for it.
     
    Zarathustra[H] likes this.
  39. elite.mafia

    elite.mafia Broke Back [H]

    Messages:
    11,690
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    5 skus? What about the 3200g and 3400g...? I have seen some mixed info that those should be released same time as these chips on the 7th?
     
  40. 1_rick

    1_rick Gawd

    Messages:
    617
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    The 3200G and 3400G are Zen+, not Zen 2.
     
    drescherjm likes this.