PSA: Measure Twice - Order Once

FrgMstr

Just Plain Mean
Staff member
Joined
May 18, 1997
Messages
50,296
FrgMstr - thanks for this info.
Your picture in the OP is sobering.
You are welcome. I am not trying to throw shade at the 3080 which looks to be incredibly impressive. Just wanted you guys to be aware of AIB card sizes and to make sure and give that a look before you pull the trigger. I have a water cooled 2080 TI FE in my own system. I am going to wait and see what Navi 21 is all about before I make any decisions. I figure with Black Friday not far away, it will likely be better to at least wait till then no matter what I upgrade to.
 

Teenyman45

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 29, 2010
Messages
2,467
And this is why CaseLabs older cases like the TH-10 are just so accommodating to pretty much any consumer grade computer hardware.
 

Kardonxt

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 13, 2009
Messages
3,218
I doubt this will fit in my ITX case now that i'm actually paying attention. I guess that makes not upgrading an easy choice lol.
 

Axman

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 13, 2005
Messages
5,718
Now that's my kind of ITX builds.
I think you could make a really nice, long, cooling-optimized mini case with a full-size power supply in front of the motherboard, in briefcase-style package, specifically built around 3080/3090 builds.
 

TordanGow

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 25, 2015
Messages
1,449
I know it's ancient but this is why I love my HAF case. Don't even need to think about hardware size... Until today. I had plenty of room in there with two gigabyte 3 fan 280X GPUs rev 3s. They were like 296mm. I'd have no issue ordering a 300mm card without measuring. A 323mm one I'd honestly have to check. That's friggin huge.
 

cybereality

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
6,162
I'm gonna wait and see if the 3090 AIO are a better size, I assume the cards will be smaller. Just have to see if I can fit a 240mm rad in my case.
 

Nytegard

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 8, 2004
Messages
3,266
The size is what scares me. I always get a super huge case, but these cards just look ridiculously large. I've been meaning to upgrade my computer anyway. Perhaps I just need to go for a premade system which can guarantee the card will fit.
 

catogtp

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 28, 2007
Messages
1,180
My current card is listed at 11.8"(300mm) and the FE 3080 is listed at 11.2"(285mm) which is what I am aiming to get. EVGA lists their 3080 FTW3 as 11.81"(300mm). I have a vertical mount slot in my Fractal Define R6 so it seems I am hopefully in the clear.
 

iamjanco

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 8, 2016
Messages
458
So I was just sent over this picture of a system build with an RTX 3080. Looks like it is causing some builders some issues, and that case is far from small (look at the size of the mainboard behind it). Hell, even if it could slip in there with that fan removed, how the hell is going to get any circulation across those cooling fins.

MEASURE TWICE GUYS!!!!!!! Make sure you got your ducks in line before dropping your hard earned cache.

View attachment 279384
Ain't it the truth (thanks, bud). Though the owner of that build could always use a pcie flex cable and leave it mounted crooked. Maybe emphasize the slant with some custom rgb lighting in the form of arrows pointing at it and a support bracket that's crooked as well.

Who knows, he might even win a prize ;)
 

Sparky

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 9, 2000
Messages
3,232
but he has bragging rights
doesnt need to fit
Should fit fine in a SG-14 ITX build
 
Last edited:

kilroy67

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
1,063
I have a full tower Corsair 780T with the HD cage removed, I have a 1080 in there now, I measured and have 19 total inches to play with until it hits my intake fans.
 

///AMG

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
3,319
Yea I was planning on the XC3 but I keep hearing about fan whine issues. If I can even get one I guess I would have to get the FE.
 

tangoseal

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
8,816
Im still rocking my Caselabs TH10 Magnum... card can be 2 foot long and my case is like, meh who cares.

Sorry ITXrs this card is not for you.
 

Ready4Dis

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 4, 2015
Messages
2,059
Im still rocking my Caselabs TH10 Magnum... card can be 2 foot long and my case is like, meh who cares.

Sorry ITXrs this card is not for you.
Why? My 10.1l case can fit a 2.2 slot (haven't tried 2.4, but it might fit ok) and >350mm GPU... with 360mm of rad space and a full size ATX PSU. Why is this not for us? Because you say so? No, I'm laughing at those with ATX/mATX cases who can't fit one ;).
 

ManofGod

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
12,008
Oh well, remove the fan and enjoy the use of the card because most did not get one of the 3080's at all. :) Do you have to connect all 3 8 pin connectors to use the card or will it work with only two of them?
 

Xerack

Gawd
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
632
I'm still rocking the good 'ol Corsair 800D case...with upgraded I\O panel...just wish they'd do another update for usb-c. I have been wanting to update this case to something else...I guess I'll decide after I get the new video card to make sure it'll fit..lol...and maybe a new Threadripper...4? =P
 

tangoseal

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
8,816
Why? My 10.1l case can fit a 2.2 slot (haven't tried 2.4, but it might fit ok) and >350mm GPU... with 360mm of rad space and a full size ATX PSU. Why is this not for us? Because you say so? No, I'm laughing at those with ATX/mATX cases who can't fit one ;).
Are you literally that cynical? I was making a Generic joke about tint ITX cases vs. these super big ass cards.

Wooosh right over your head
 

Ready4Dis

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 4, 2015
Messages
2,059
Are you literally that cynical? I was making a Generic joke about tint ITX cases vs. these super big ass cards.

Wooosh right over your head
I understand it was meant as a generalized joke, but I wanted to point out that it's not just mITX guys and not all of us are in that position :). I took it in light and meant mine to be in the same as there are a good # of cases that a lot of these won't fit.
 

VirtualMirage

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
251
Now here is a possibly silly question I am I trying to figure out with measurements:

Where do the measurements start and end?

3090_Measurement.jpg


So if Nvidia says the RTX 3090 FE is 313mm long x 138mm wide, where are those measurements taken?

So if looking at the image above, is the width taken at A, B, or C?

Same goes for length, is the length taken at X or Y?

These questions, of course, can apply to any graphics card. But with as large as these 3080 and 3090 cards are (both FE and AIB), it may be in our best interest to know for certain what is being measured so that we know how much room we will have in our case.

Thanks for any help on this.
 

VirtualMirage

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
251
Interesting...I thought that would have been an easy/quick answer, but I guess it is more difficult than it appears.
 

FrgMstr

Just Plain Mean
Staff member
Joined
May 18, 1997
Messages
50,296
Now here is a possibly silly question I am I trying to figure out with measurements:

Where do the measurements start and end?

View attachment 281975

So if Nvidia says the RTX 3090 FE is 313mm long x 138mm wide, where are those measurements taken?

So if looking at the image above, is the width taken at A, B, or C?

Same goes for length, is the length taken at X or Y?

These questions, of course, can apply to any graphics card. But with as large as these 3080 and 3090 cards are (both FE and AIB), it may be in our best interest to know for certain what is being measured so that we know how much room we will have in our case.

Thanks for any help on this.
Just got word back from an AIB that uses B and X.
 
Top