Project: Home made equipment rack (pics)

agrikk

Gawd
Joined
Apr 16, 2002
Messages
933
I finally got around to building a cabinet for all of my computer gear. I have a lot of PCs for various reasons and decided to get rackable cases for them and stack them all up to keep things organized and accessible. Plus racks are seksi.

I like woodworking, and am developing my skills there so I decided to build a basic rack from wood, thereby making it cool looking and keeping the cost down. 21U prebuilt racks are expensive.


I'd already built the rack when I decided to take pics for a project post. Here's the back of the rack already built without the top after a first base coat of stain.
cabinet00sm.jpg



The front of the rack.
cabinet01sm.jpg



The back after the second and final coat of stain.
cabinet02sm.jpg


Back to the front.
cabinet03sm.jpg



The wheels on the rack go 'round and 'round.
cabinet04sm.jpg


The rack rails, purchased from starcase.com. $63 for 21U.
cabinet05sm.jpg


The cabinet with the rails added.
cabinet06sm.jpg


With the top shelf added.
cabinet07sm.jpg


Finished, baby. Yeah. I used a 2x6 on the front so that the cabinet would extend past the fronts of the racked equipment enough that I can add a door to the cabinet should I chose.
cabinet08sm.jpg


Racking my computers.
cabinet09sm.jpg


More gear added.
cabinet10sm.jpg


All cabled up.
cabinet11sm.jpg


My workspace. Time to repaint the floor. Concrete paint sucks...
cabinet12sm.jpg



Some time I'll probably add a door and sides, but for now I'm keeping it open because I like looking at the gear inside.

The total cost of this project was around $100 for the rail kit and the lumber.
 
Last edited:

mike2323

Weaksauce
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
121
Very nice. Did you build your desktops out of wood too?! That's pretty [h]ard.
 

goodcooper

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,771
i like the look of the rack... don't share your enthusiasm for wooden comptuter cases, but the rack turned out great... plus you have good hardware to go on it ;)
 

Elledan

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2010
Joined
Oct 18, 2001
Messages
15,913
Never thought that a simple wooden frame could look this good! :)
 

auxout

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 23, 2002
Messages
421
I like it, been looking to do something exactly like that. Didn't think simple wood could turn out that nice. Could you post measurments? I mean I know the obvious measurements but did you leave any gap for the rail width?
 

agrikk

Gawd
Joined
Apr 16, 2002
Messages
933
auxout said:
I like it, been looking to do something exactly like that. Didn't think simple wood could turn out that nice. Could you post measurments? I mean I know the obvious measurements but did you leave any gap for the rail width?

Here:

dimensions.JPG


I did leave a gap for the rail width, about 1/4" on either side.

I don't know where the castors came from. I had them in my hardware drawer and they ended up a perfect fit. I think they might have come from an old footrest or something, but I can't be sure. I am not sure if they're rated for this kind of weight, but they seem to be holding up so far and that's good enough for me. Heh.

I used ordinary construction lumber, the 2x4s are basic construction studs and the 2x6s are construction grade redwood, I think.

The trick was to dig through the pile for the best looking pieces (ones that were'nt really knotty or missing chunks). I took them home and let them dry for a few days and then sanded the hell out of them with a belt sander until they looked nice, smooth and ink-free.
 
Last edited:

vapb400

Gawd
Joined
Sep 19, 2004
Messages
786
Pardon my ignorance about racks. But all racks don't have slide out rails do they?

Yours has to mount brackets that screw into the holes, and you unscrew them when you need to pull out the computer?
 

tdg

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 27, 2003
Messages
3,816
Very nice, not only much cheaper that a prebuilt rack, but blends in nicely.


vapb400 said:
Pardon my ignorance about racks. But all racks don't have slide out rails do they?

Racks themselves don't have slide out rails, you can buy sliding rails for cases and other rack options though.
 

vapb400

Gawd
Joined
Sep 19, 2004
Messages
786
Ah cool, I did some more research after that post. How do the bottom to rackmounts with the handles mount?

Also does one typically have a mounting bracket in the back as well?
 

agrikk

Gawd
Joined
Apr 16, 2002
Messages
933
Typically in a four post rack setup like this one, you mount the server rails by screwing the slide piece or shelf unit to both the front and back posts on either side so the server slides in and out on the shelf or slide.

Smaller, lighter gear like switches or routers typically require only two posts to anchor it. These guys are just screwed to the front two posts.
 

YeOldeStonecat

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 19, 2004
Messages
11,330
vapb400 said:
Pardon my ignorance about racks. But all racks don't have slide out rails do they?

Those come with the servers and battery backup units.

Agrikk....pretty darned sweet.
 

Whatsisname

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 15, 2000
Messages
10,202
depends on the device. Many devices can get by just being held on by the front, such as devices like switches. Other heavier devices, like a UPS, usually need the rear posts unless you are some kind of lunatic.

vapb400 said:
Also does one typically have a mounting bracket in the back as well?
 

auxout

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 23, 2002
Messages
421
agrikk said:
The trick was to dig through the pile for the best looking pieces (ones that were'nt really knotty or missing chunks). I took them home and let them dry for a few days and then sanded the hell out of them with a belt sander until they looked nice, smooth and ink-free.

Thanks for the pic you rock.

QFT on that trick lmao, had some 2x4s delivered for a renovation recently they might as well have delivered the damn tree instead.
 

versello

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 19, 2003
Messages
2,061
vapb400 said:
Ah cool, I did some more research after that post. How do the bottom to rackmounts with the handles mount?

Also does one typically have a mounting bracket in the back as well?

You don't always need brackets in the back. Many OEM servers require them (although you can buy expensive adapters), but many barebones servers / chasis can be mounted from the front. It really depends on the weight, which some 2-post racks specify the weight it can handle. I have two 4u servers mounted only on front posts with no probs.
 

agrikk

Gawd
Joined
Apr 16, 2002
Messages
933
Zecora said:
Where did you get those rails from? Just any hardware store?

Thx,


Right above the pic of the rails, I mentioned where I purchased them, but I got them from http://www.starcase.com. Surprisingly, they were really hard to find. Very few places, it seems, actually carry rack parts like this. I don't suppose there's a monster market for custom sized racks, inless you are a musician looking for a nice rack, or a gearhead with an affinity for wood like me.
 
Top