Problems with a 9800! HELP!

Krazy_Joe

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 29, 2004
Messages
472
does anyone know if powercolor's 9800 card will work in a 4x agp slot? I noticed that it says 8x agp but doesnt say anything about 4x... could this be my problem?
 

arabdon1203

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 9, 2005
Messages
203
Krazy_Joe said:
does anyone know if powercolor's 9800 card will work in a 4x agp slot? I noticed that it says 8x agp but doesnt say anything about 4x... could this be my problem?

what brand is the psu
 

ATIIsBetter

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 19, 2005
Messages
1,202
4x should be fine... I had a friend with some wierd overheating problem on his 9800 Pro, he used Catalyst to set the AGP slot to 4x, and problem solved... He was still able to run any game he threw at it.... Doom 3, CS:S, F.E.A.R., ect

Point being, that shouldnt matter
 

Krazy_Joe

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 29, 2004
Messages
472
i mean there is no video on boot... i dont see post screen or windows but it works fine in my newer pc
 

Nivram

Gawd
Joined
Aug 31, 2004
Messages
586
Power could be a problem, depending on what else you're running on that system.

Also, are you getting any beep code? That could be telling you something as well.

I know it sounds dumb, but are you sure the card is seated properly? I only say it because it happened to me. I changed out some ram in a system, and it was easier to do with the video card out. I pulled the card, changed the ram, and put the vc back in. When I flexed the (cheap) case to seat the retaining screw for the card, it pulled it out ever so slightly from the agp slot. I turned on the machine and WTF?? Beep code?? No video??? What the heck is this thing doing????? :confused:

About 5 minutes later, I figured it out. :)
 

arabdon1203

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 9, 2005
Messages
203
Krazy_Joe said:
i believe its just a generic 300 watt psu... do you think the card isnt getting enough juice?

Yes, then Im betting its power. Generic psu's are no good. You can get a good psu for around $30-$40
 

Synful Serenity

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 4, 2004
Messages
1,256
I was also thinking of getting one....Would a 300 watt Antec SmartPower be enough for that x850xt? 15 amps on the 12V.
 

Synful Serenity

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 4, 2004
Messages
1,256
I would too, but if I upgrade the ps now, I might as well do the rest of the system too, and then I'd just get a x1800xl or something :p....It's either replace the 9800 pro with this AGP x850xt as a band-aid fix for the next 6-12 months or so, or upgrade everything else now. So it really boils down to whether this supply is enough. Except for a video card upgrade, I'm not spending any more on this setup. If the power supply goes, it goes!
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2005
Messages
800
It depends what else is in your system, really. If you're going to get a power supply anyway, it's better to spend the few extra bucks for something beefier.
 
Top