Problem with google.com

Max-Powers

Gawd
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
558
This has been happening a lot lately. I go to google.com, my home page, type something in, and it comes up with the search list. When I click on one of the web pages, especially if I just click and not open a new tab, it takes me to an add. Sometimes it won't let me hit back, but mostly it will just back out to Google.com and not the search list like it should have.
Anyway very annoying and wanting to know if google sold out or what. I am running the newest moozilla. I ran malwarebytes and MSE.
 

IRSmurf

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 1, 2007
Messages
2,312
Does this occur when you use Chrome? Maybe it is one of your ad(d)-ons in Firefox.

Don't just answer, "It can't be my plug-ins." Actually use Chrome. Use IE if you cannot install Chrome... but I'm not sure if whatever plug-in you've installed has affected both Firefox and IE at the same time.
 

YeOldeStonecat

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 19, 2004
Messages
11,330
This has been happening a lot lately. I go to google.com, my home page, type something in, and it comes up with the search list. When I click on one of the web pages, especially if I just click and not open a new tab, it takes me to an add. Sometimes it won't let me hit back, but mostly it will just back out to Google.com and not the search list like it should have.
Anyway very annoying and wanting to know if google sold out or what. I am running the newest moozilla. I ran malwarebytes and MSE.

You have the Olmarik trojan....it's a Google redirection rootkit. Time for Combofix. ;)

It's a recent rootkit/trojan that's been spreading like wildfire over the past 2 months....we're swamped with cleaning this bugger off of PCs...in all my years of doing SMB work I've never seen such a widespread bug.
 

YeOldeStonecat

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 19, 2004
Messages
11,330
In addition to any changes in your proxy settings it often makes (you may see use proxy server and it's set to local host..127.0.0.1...or some IP address out in Russia)...check your TCP/IP settings..DNS..make sure that's not been whacked too.
 

Max-Powers

Gawd
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
558
Can anyone tell me more about this? I have tried everything. Running every virus scan and spyware scan in safe mode, researching, and I cannot get rid of this.
There has to be a way to continue using firefox and google. I will not give up, accept defeat, and reformat.
in safe mode I ran
super anti spyware
malewearbytes
MSE
symantic
combofix

then tuneup utilities cleaner
I go to firefox, do a simple google search, click, and am redirected. IE does not do it, but I hate IE.
 

Snowknight26

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 8, 2005
Messages
4,388
Do the search results point to go.google.com?

Do you have any devices under Non-Plug and Play Drivers in the device manager (you have to show hidden devices) that end in .sys?
 

Apophis

Weaksauce
Joined
Feb 1, 2003
Messages
88
Biggy...You also need to turn of all system restore on any and all drives...and make sure you are admin when in safe mode...
 
Top