Problem setting up the P5K WiFi connection for the PS3

MrPatate

Gawd
Hi,

I'll say it right away I'm a newbie regarding wireless network and I don't have a lot of knowledge for wired network either. Its a shame since I'm pretty good for the rest of computer thingy...

Anyway!
I'm trying to setup a wifi access point with my P5K Deluxe on board wifi, to share my internet connection for my PS3.
The devide is enable, I installed the "Asus Wifi-AP Solo" software to control it, changed it from "Station Mode" to "Access Point". I tried WEP and WAP with password and it's at 802.11g/b and chose which ethernet connection to share. I've let the rest at "auto".

On my PS3, the console see the network(and some others), I choose mine(it's at 100%) and enter the password. Then it tries to perform the connection, exchange the password but after that it never gets an IP.

I'm sure it's a dumb thing, but I looked at the manual, checked on google, Asus forum, etc but never found a valid answer....

Help please!

61 view and no one has any suggestion or proposition!?!?
has anyone ever used this motherboard?

the AP software; it also acts as a DHCP server, correct?
maybe you need to setup Internet Connection Sharing on the PC also?

that would be my guess

I've never tried setting up a PC as an AP, but you will need some sort of DHCP server. In your case, you would need Windows Internet Connection Sharing setup, so that Windows knows to share the connection, and that it will need to provide an IP address to any connecting devices.

Unless the Asus software you're using does that... in which case.. maybe there's an option that's not checked that should be?

one last thing... have you tried without setting a WEP, WPA, or WPA2 key in the AP software? Leave it open, just to test?

the AP software; it also acts as a DHCP server, correct?
maybe you need to setup Internet Connection Sharing on the PC also?

that would be my guess