Printer for Tyan K8's????

Satamax

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
199
Hi everybody!

Well, just a silly quick question. What printers do you use with the dual opteron boards out there? Exept the Tiger, all the others have no serial port. What do people use nowadays??? USB IR or what?

Best regards.

Max.
 

Tigerbiten

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - February 2007/January 2
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Messages
5,028
My Tyan Thunder K8W, S2885, has a nine pin serial port.
But I do use a USB printer with it.

Luck......... :D
u=Tigerbiten.gif
 

dagamore

Gawd
Joined
Oct 25, 2002
Messages
649
arnt most printer either LPT (read parralle) or USB or Network driven, and if so why does the lack of a COM (read serial) port mater at all?
 

Satamax

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
199
Hi everybody!

Well, sorry guys, i meant parallel port and not serial! I've posted that one to late to still have the ideas clear! Well, when i'll switch, i'll most certainly have to buy a new USB printer instead of my old Epson 640 parallel port one!

Best regards.

Max.
 

Tigerbiten

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - February 2007/January 2
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Messages
5,028
My Tyan Thunder K8W, S2885, also has a Parrallel port.

Luck........ :D
u=Tigerbiten.gif
 

Satamax

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
199
Thanks a lot guys!

Tiger, one problem; the 2885 doesn't have SCSI! :( I'm after an 2882 UG3NR pro ! Otherwise, i'd be looking at the 85, for the agp! But it doesn't have onboard video, but sound! i'd rather have the contrary, onboard vid and AGP for simple implementation of a dual monitor as i'm runing my thunderK7 curently! Main vid PCI and secondary vid AGP!

Best regards!

Max.
 

Tigerbiten

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - February 2007/January 2
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Messages
5,028
The s2882 does have a parallel port but its an internal one (13x2) similar to the floppy/ide ports.
So to use it all you need will be an internal-external addapter of the right size/type.
But from the look of the manual you do not get it with the mobo.

Luck........ :D
u=Tigerbiten.gif
 

Satamax

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
199
Thanks a lot Tigerbiten, that's verry intresting! I understand that dyan didn't bother with this port much as it is not verry intresting in servers, where most of the Thunder K8 goes! But if you work with toshop and print a lot !!!!!

Best regards.

Max.
 

Brad4321

Gawd
Joined
Feb 1, 2003
Messages
553
thunder k8w and a cannon i960

It takes one of those rare USB ports. I didn't realize how many I needed until I suddenly have only 3.
 
Top