Powered or passive subwoofer for clear speakers?

rtangwai

[H]ard|Gawd
I recently bought a used set of speakers. They were slightly more than I wanted to pay ($75 CAD) but they look nice and they go well with my acrylic computer case. I have tried them out and they sound a bit tinny, although they are loud enough as they are powered. They sound fairly well on orchestra and chamber music, but anything with real bass is getting cut off. Can they drive a passive subwoofer or do I need a powered subwoofer with its own amp?

I'm not an expert on computer speakers/audio, so it's kinda hard for me to describe the speakers. Although there are 4 speakers (2 big ones like megaphones, 2 smaller ones like balls), sound is strictly stereo. I wasn't going for surround-sound anyway, they are for music.

Here is a picture of the speakers:

47258388651_8b8de2f92a_o.png

Maybe I should have spent more money and bought a set of Soundsticks III instead? I'm working with a clear acrylic theme for my setup.

Full range speakers have a hard time producing bass, especially sealed.

If your volume box has a sub out, then you'll have to find out if its a powered port or just aux, in which case if it is aux you'll have to buy a powered sub. I have a feeling this is just a two way though. Gnarly looking speakers.

If you want to get funky, you can Y-split off of the main channel, which will decrease your volume to that speaker fyi, and send that splitter to a sub.

Holly shit lol.....different tastes i guess but that is no no;)

Bizzare system. The full size Ferguson Hill system (FH001) is an absurdly high end speaker system that seems to have retailed for something like $26k.

Either way, here is the back of the FH007 mini system's amplifier (which would have helped us if you included a picture).

Looks like there is a subwoofer out so you'll need a powered sub. Just so happens, Ferguson Hill sells a sub specifically for that system, the FH008.

test-ferguson-hill-FH007-01.jpg

Last edited: