Post your Smoothie/ipcop/etc. specs

athlon1.2

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 10, 2001
Messages
5,489
8GB Kingston SSD
How's that going? Just installed one in my pfSense last night.

Intel D410PT motherboard: Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU D410 @ 1.66GHz
2GB DDR2 RAM
HP 7170 dual Intel NIC (onboard Realtek is disabled)
Kingston 8GB SSD
PicoPSU





Oh and no cooling! The heatsink touches the top of the case. I do mean to cut up an old CD-ROM drive to mount the picoPSU input and place a 40mm fan where the PSU goes, but I haven't gotten around to it.

The kill-a-watt was saying 19 watts last night, FWIW.
 
Last edited:

LightStar

Weaksauce
Joined
Aug 19, 2009
Messages
78
my pFsense box. got it last week from my dad..

HP Proliant DL360g3
2x Intel Xeon 3.06ghz
2x2GB mem
2x36GB 15k scsi disks
 

Jay_2

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
3,583
my pFsense box. got it last week from my dad..

HP Proliant DL360g3
2x Intel Xeon 3.06ghz
2x2GB mem
2x36GB 15k scsi disks
Why? That's must cost a fortune to run! Cost it over 3 years and what you save in power / heat you could buy a nice low power server.
 

ThreeDee

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 5, 2001
Messages
10,854
Why? That's must cost a fortune to run! Cost it over 3 years and what you save in power / heat you could buy a nice low power server.
I had some power hungry smoothie boxes in the past .. that's why I "upgraded" to an atom setup .. something I should have done a while ago.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2010
Messages
45
We got some sun panels on the roof thats powering my little hobby :p
I want to put 1.5KW in Solar in my backyard. would certainly help during the summer! Cool concept though. i may do that for my Untangle Machine (Dell Poweredge 1750) It draws about 100-125W :(
 

jmroberts70

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 15, 2002
Messages
2,953
I'd like to revive this thread with a new project I've been working on. I'm slowly converting my entire home office to a rackmount system --and it has been a real challenge!! My main issue is that it must be QUIET --not a high priority in rackmount equipment. Just building my main PC workstation in a rackmount chassis to run nearly silent was quite a bit of work but now I'm turning my attention to replacing my Linksys WRT54G (running DD-WRT) with a new IPCOP or Smoothwall machine like I used to do (a few pages back in this thread). I'm considering something like this:


I can dedicate one of the two systems to a router / server while I can run a spare for running hard drive recovery options like Spinrite (which can tie up a machine for weeks). My worry is that the fans running in a 1U chassis most certainly would be pretty loud just to work at all...

Another option would be this:

I'm still using dual ITX systems so I'll be able to have a spare machine for other jobs but by being taller I can not only add more 3.5" drives to a file server but can probably employ quieter fans.

Are any of you aware of a truly fanless mini ITX platform (including the PSU)? So far, the Supermicro 1U "fanless" solution you can find on Newegg isn't actually that quiet as I was reading through the reviews others have posted...
 

athlon1.2

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 10, 2001
Messages
5,489
If you see above, my 1U atom is running without any fans. It's in the garage and I live in the south.
 

naota

n00b
Joined
Sep 23, 2012
Messages
41
My Firewall/Gateway Specs:

Tyan Dual P3 Motherboard.

Dual Intel Pentium 3 1.0Ghz Processors.
3 Gigs of PC133 Memory
3 Netgear 10/100/1000 Nics.
200 Watt Power Supply.
40 gig western digital hard drive.
48x cd Rom drive.
mid tower

Software running is PfSense 2.x
DHCP
DNS
RIP
NTP
SQUID
FIREWALL/NAT
Port Forwarding.
 

Phantum

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 25, 2001
Messages
1,716
Firewall/Gateway/Router

ALIX.2D13
500MHz AMD Geode LX800
x3 10/100 (VIA VT6105M on-board)
256MB DDR
4GB Kingston Elite Pro CF
pfSense 2.0.1-RELEASE
 

bmh.01

Gawd
Joined
Mar 28, 2002
Messages
610
Intel D2500CC
8GB Ram
2x 82574L Onboard and 2x 1000PT
Crucial M4 32GB SSD

pfSense 2.1

25w Full Load



 

Concentric

Gawd
Joined
Oct 15, 2007
Messages
1,007
Intel D2500CC
8GB Ram
2x 82574L Onboard and 2x 1000PT
Crucial M4 32GB SSD

pfSense 2.1

25w Full Load

http://gotflat.co.uk/pics/d2500cc_pfsense/P1030450.JPG

[IMG]http://gotflat.co.uk/pics/d2500cc_pfsense/P1030456.JPG[/QUOTE]

8gig-o-RAM seems like a lot, are you running a web cache or something?
 

hawk82

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 2, 2001
Messages
1,471
generic whitebox system I threw together probably 5yrs ago?
don't remember the mobo manufacturer
p3 450mhz
256mb PC133 RAM
15GB WD IDE 5400RPM HDD
generic 40x CDROM
1 d-link 10/100 DFE-530TX NIC (Red Interface)
1 Intel 10bt NIC (blue interface)
1 generic 10/100 NIC (Green Interface)
all in a Enlight desktop case, sitting on a 2U shelf in a half 2post rack.

Running IPCop 1.4.21. Blue interface has my wireless network for home plus is running a caching proxy server. Great for doing WindowsUpdates on customer's computers. Sucks the updates off the router's hdd instead of off the net.

What I'd like to do seeing people's posts here is downsize the power a bit. I hear the Intel Atom CPUs/Mobos don't use much power at all. Cheap too. Either throw in a large CF card or a laptop hdd to save power and space. Not sure if I'd keep the same case or go with an ITX.
It was finally time to replace this computer. New system that I installed last night is a Supermicro 1U Atom (x7spa-h) w/4GB RAM, 120GB Seagate Momentus SATA harddrive I had laying around.

Previous setup with P3 450Mhz router, two network switches, cable modem, VoIP ATA, accesspoint, and a Dell Optiplex 760 (used as a business computer) ran about 185W.

New setup with the Supermicro 1U Atom uses about 135W.

Or ~100W without the business computer on.

Paying on average $0.07/KWH. So that's some cost savings there.
 

jmroberts70

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 15, 2002
Messages
2,953
So... I'm considering a mini-ITX motherboard like this for use as an IPCOP machine. Since it has both dual ethernet ports and onboard wireless. Do you guys think I'll be able to make this my wireless access point as well? I have been reading good reviews on this motherboard for wireless performance but it is only in receive. Can this work in the other direction too?

Ultimately I'm trying to replace my old faithful WRT-54G with a single rackmount unit but I need to provide wireless access as well and don't want to setup a IPCOP machine just to have to add a WAP box on the end to get wireless working. Any thoughts?
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2000
Messages
2,412
Ultimately I'm trying to replace my old faithful WRT-54G with a single rackmount unit but I need to provide wireless access as well and don't want to setup a IPCOP machine just to have to add a WAP box on the end to get wireless working. Any thoughts?
I got a TP-LINK N750 to replace my WRT 54G v2. I still leave the Wireless to itself and keep the IPCop box on the Pentium 2.

I like being able to put the WAP up in the air without worrying about attenuation in the coax feeding the antenna.
 

athlon1.2

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 10, 2001
Messages
5,489
Does IPcop support Wifi? As long as it does you can see in the picture the Wifi is an Intel card in a mini-pcie slot so worst case you replace it with a supported card.

I also like to keep the wifi separate. For e.g. pfSense supports Wifi but I don't think wireless-N at all and not multiple SSIDs. Where I can place a separate AP in a better location (all the network stuff is in the garage -- putting a cordless phone there is fine, but Wifi not so great) and use VLANs with multiple SSIDs.
 

krneki

n00b
Joined
Jan 10, 2013
Messages
28
Hi guys, I just build my first HTPC/Router and after installing IPCop I was not happy about my connection latency.

My Asus tomato firmware has a latency of 3ms to the first node, but IPCop running as a virtual machine on my Ubuntu host has a latency of 15-80ms to the same node.

Latency inside the network is always under 1ms.

Any tips would be appreciated. :)

P.S: I have a Gigabyte GA-C847N Dual Core Celeron 847 Mini-ITX Board with Dual LAN + 4GB of ram and the CPU is at 1% in the IPCop VM.
 

krneki

n00b
Joined
Jan 10, 2013
Messages
28
Solved.

Maybe there will be another poor soul bashing his head trying to fix this problem, so here is what I did.

Switched to Windows 7 64 and tried IPCop on VMWare player. Still not good, 20-50ms latency to the first nod, but better. Then I tried m0n0wall and bingo, 3ms latency again, so I guess FreeBSD routers are the way to go. Also tried pfsense and while I still had 3ms latency the CPU utilization under heavy torrenting was 30% instead of 15% of m0n0wall (20/20 1000 connections).
 

MAFRI

n00b
Joined
Apr 22, 2010
Messages
54
Anybody a good idea for a motherboard which would fit inside a pizza box with 4 NICs and also capable of a riser card with a quadport nic?
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2009
Messages
39
I'm moving again my home network to pfsense, used it before for a short period of time to test it, had some issues with loud pc that was running it. Currently main router is TP-Link WDR4300 with stock firmware (will be main AP) Industrial Intel Atom N270 board with 2x NIC onboard + 2GB of ram, 60GB 2.5" notebook drive for Pfsense or some other hardware i have around. Last is my tp-link WD1043N (running gargoyle 1.5.9.9) using it as a bridge with WDR4300.

aaaand it's done. pfsense doing all the packet filtering from now on.
 
Last edited:
Top