Post your Smoothie/ipcop/etc. specs

Shockey

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 24, 2008
Messages
2,033
I've wanted this same setup for a while not but the PSU is always the loudest part. Let us know what your results are. I am currently running something very similar but a much older cpu.
Going in my garage where i keep my toys. Dl380 G4. Should be quieter than that.(doesn't run all the time)
 

aaronearles

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 31, 2006
Messages
2,016
lol, that's impressive, I sat and stared at that appliance trying to figure out what it was, knowing I recognized it from somewhere, then I scrolled down to read the description. Nice work, is the slot on the right a CF card slot?

What's the deal with the rack, home made?
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2010
Messages
7
yep thats a cf card slot. The rack was actually for audio equipment. I modify it a bit, it can hold 12u
 

iGamer

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
1,675
just got a new PFSense 2.0 server up and using my Asus RT-N16 running Tomato as my 54G AP (it supports 2.4GHz N but I don't have anything that connects through N yet)

Dell Optiplex GX270 SFF
3GHz Pentium 4 w/ HT disabled
1.5GB DDR SDRAM
40GB HDD
Integrated Intel Pro/1000 MT as Lan
and Intel Pro/100 S as Wan
 

-Jess-

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 28, 2010
Messages
291
Rackable Systems 2U Server
2 GB RAM
160 GB HDD
2x On board Intel NIC

Running Untangle 8

Parents refer to it as the "leafblower".
 

ktr

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 27, 2010
Messages
162

PigLover

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 11, 2009
Messages
1,180
There is a 3rd 4mm fan grill in the back of your server case. You really should either seal it up or put a third fan on it. The Mini-Kaze is nice and quiet, but it dosn't move a lot of air - its real important that the air it does move comes in from the front, moves over your electronics and goes out the back. Having that open grill gives the air too easy a path in from the back and right back out...completely wasting the fan behind the empty drive tray.
 

ktr

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 27, 2010
Messages
162
There is a 3rd 4mm fan grill in the back of your server case. You really should either seal it up or put a third fan on it. The Mini-Kaze is nice and quiet, but it dosn't move a lot of air - its real important that the air it does move comes in from the front, moves over your electronics and goes out the back. Having that open grill gives the air too easy a path in from the back and right back out...completely wasting the fan behind the empty drive tray.
That middle grill is ducted for the power supply fan. It is a bit hard to see in that picture above. Here is the better picture.



As for fan not moving a lot of air, regardless, the CPU and chipset are under 35C on load. The stock fans were super loud and only drop the temps maybe by 2c.
 
Last edited:

ktr

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 27, 2010
Messages
162
Where did you purchase your barebone system?
I purchased the barebone off a local vendor on EBay. I got it and the CPU for $140, both brand new.

The reason I got this particular unit is the Intel NICs, the low power consumption (PSU is 125w), and the small form factor.
 

EnderW

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 25, 2003
Messages
10,985
Just finished building my Untangle server.
Was able to reuse some old parts I had so total out of pocket cost was only $146.67

Antec Solo
Antec EarthWatts 430W
Supermicro MBD-X7SPE-H-O (open box) $118.67
2x2GB Hynix DRR2 SO-DIMM (used) $20
Hitachi 0A50837 80GB 2.5" SATA (used) $8
 
Last edited:

ThreeDee

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 5, 2001
Messages
10,854
My old Intel Dell mobo finally blew some caps after 7+ years of service .. reused the 2.6 s478 celery and 2 512mb DDR and used it in my new smoothie setup that a guy at work just gave me..

new setup specs:
Micro ATX Sony Vaio media something something (looked like it prolly was spendy in its day)
P4 2.6GHZ Celeron
3 memory slots: 2x512mb DDR + 1x1GB DDR = 2GB Total
60GB HDD
SiS chipset (had my doubts, but it seems to be flying along great so far)
Onboard Realtek NIC
3x Intel NIC's
fresh install of Smoothwall Express 3.0

..haven't gotten around to installing any mods yet
 

VanFanel89

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 21, 2004
Messages
2,905
Currently running Endian Community Firewall 2.4.1, planning to swap over to Pfsense pretty soon though:

MSI Fuzzy RS690T
AMD Athlon 4450e 2.3 GHz Dual Core
2 GB Patriot DDR2-800 SODIMM
80 GB Hitachi 2.5" SATA Drive
2xMarvell 1 GBit embedded nics and 1x Intel Pro/1000 GT NIC
Some cheapo Raidmax mini-ITX case with a 150 watt PSU

As for what it feeds:

1x NetGear GS108T "smart" switch
1x NetGear WNR3500L which acts as an AP (has Tomato, woo!)
1x NetGear GS105E Semi-Smart switch (does VLAN - all I care for).

Clients:
2x desktops
1x virtualization server with 2 VMs
3x laptops
A home-made PBX out of a DNS323
1x PS3

Router box + UPS:


The GS108T and WNR3500L


The GS105E secondary switch


The Virtualization box
 
Last edited:

ukr_888

n00b
Joined
Mar 29, 2011
Messages
2
Gateway E-4200 (all original hardware except power supply fan and NICS)
Pentium II (Deschutes)
3 x 3Com 3c905 100BaseTX [Boomerang] (Red+Green+Blue)

Running transparent proxy, net-traffic (bandwidth counter), hddtemp, mbmon graphs, update accelerator.

I do not run Snort IDS because my poor 350MHz PII will get bogged down sometimes and when it comes to games it really puts the hurt in my ping and incoming packets. Maybe when I upgrade to an Atom 330 it will be possible. I will never go back to a store bought router again.
 

djBon2112

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 29, 2006
Messages
5,279
pfSense

Via C3 1GHz
1 GB SODIMM RAM
3 Intel Gig Ethernet cards

Works awesome!
 

dashpuppy

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
6,163

what was the cost of this barebone's box ?
 

RavinDJ

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 9, 2002
Messages
4,116
pfSense 2.0 RC1
1U SuperMicro Server
P4 - 2.40Ghz
2GB RAM
250GB SATA
2 Internal 10/100/1000 NICs.
 

saedrin

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 5, 2009
Messages
2,010
pfSense 2.0 RC2 (64bit)
1u Norco RPC170 case
ZOTAC IONITX-L-E - Intel Atom 330 (1.6GHz, dual-core)
4GB DDR3 1066
8GB Kingston SSD
PC Power and Cooling 300watt 1U PSU
HP NC360T (intel controller) dual port pci-e NIC

Running perfectly. Pulls ~50 watts. I'm considering moving to a new AMD Hudson board that I have laying around since the power draw is about 20 watts lower.















 

s0lid

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 17, 2011
Messages
202
My humble pfsense rig:

Ahtlon XP-M 2500+
1GB DDR1
Asrock K7S41GX
4GB CF
Random 2U case
Zalman 7700 cooler
Antec 300W minuet psu
3com nic, does it really matter with 8/1 internet connection?



 

Chibo

Gawd
Joined
Jun 21, 2003
Messages
605




Atom n270
2GB DDR2
Dual gBit NICS
Unused (so far) MiniCard slot
pfSense 2.0RC1

Code:
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 03)
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 03)
:(

Oh well, it works.
 

-Jess-

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 28, 2010
Messages
291
Atom n270
2GB DDR2
Dual gBit NICS
Unused (so far) MiniCard slot
pfSense 2.0RC1

Code:
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 03)
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 03)
:(

Oh well, it works.
Chibo, exactly what model motherboard/case is that?
It looks great for a backup pfSense box. :D
 

anywhere

n00b
Joined
Feb 5, 2012
Messages
2
hm, saw this post, decided to register and brag about my awesome setup


bridge
openbsd 5.0
p1 75mhz
32mb ram
460Mb conner EIDE

4nics, fa311's
sis0 modem no ip assigned
sis1 router1 no ip assigned
sis2 router2 no ip assigned
sis3 piggy to lan of router1

sis0,1,2 > bridge0


router1
cyrix 133mhz
32mb ram
openbsd 5.0
1Gb western digital eide

2xfa311's
ext and int network

router2
openbsd 5.0
p2 233mhz
32mb ram
1Gb western digital
3xfa311's

ext, 2xint

router1 is 10.0.0.0/24, tight firewall rules, only ssh and web traffic, what the bridge doesn't catch, main debian fileserver, laptop, desktops, media stuff

router2 handles 10.0.1.0/24 and 10.0.2.0/24, not as tight as router1, but for experimental stuff. vpn experiements, 2nd fileserver, etc.

bridging gives me another free public IP address, which opens another door for trying out things, along with invisible firewalling. :p

and for kicks,

my main fileserver is a debian setup
intel dual core 3.0 with 3Gb ram, and 8x1Tb WD's SATA

two SATA controllers, a pair of 4x1Tb raid5's mirrored via mdadm. eventually like to split the mirror so i don't choke out the PCI bus....but right now redundancy is more important the speed..
oh yeah, the only money i have in this setup is the SATA drivfes and controllers. the router/bridge hardware was found in dumpsters, and the intel box was given to me for an lap/face valve and port/polish job for a buddy's trans am one evening.....
 
Last edited:

jmroberts70

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 15, 2002
Messages
2,953
HOLY THREAD REVIVAL!! I still like to see pics --even if they're not that sexy of a build...
 

InorganicMatter

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 19, 2004
Messages
15,451
Wow, I forgot about this thread.

Sadly, in my efforts to save energy and simplify my setup, my ClarkConnect box ended up on the chopping block. Ended up replacing it with a Buffalo router running Tomato Firmware. Nowhere near as flexible, but it's totally silent and dead simple.

RIP my old Mini ITX box.
 

LOCO LAPTOP

[H]F Junkie
Joined
May 4, 2006
Messages
10,678
Just my over the top core i3 2100, 4gb 1333, 40gb hd pf sense dual wan box. ;)


Ordered a u2 case from newegg today. should be here late this week.
 

ThreeDee

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 5, 2001
Messages
10,854
Smoothwall Express™
(..gave Untangle a go but was experiencing some high pings with Steam and few other online oddities.. I'm guessing my lowly Atom setup wasn't up to the task perhaps..)

changed out my Sony Viao P4 setup for:

Atom 230 setup w/ 2 x 2GB PC5300 DDR2 ECC Ram
20GB X360 Sata Drive
200wtt Dell PSU
Intel Dual 10/100 PCI NIC
 

MooCow

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 13, 2000
Messages
7,411
Wow, I forgot about this thread.

Sadly, in my efforts to save energy and simplify my setup, my ClarkConnect box ended up on the chopping block. Ended up replacing it with a Buffalo router running Tomato Firmware. Nowhere near as flexible, but it's totally silent and dead simple.

RIP my old Mini ITX box.
This was on my mind as well, cause when I touch the heatsink over the Atom CPU, its HOT. So I have to run a low speed fan over it 24/7. But its getting hot for a reason... energy consumption.

I have two options: Get into VMware ESX server and hardware, and run the router there with a couple other OS's, or start using Tomato.
 

InorganicMatter

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 19, 2004
Messages
15,451
I have two options: Get into VMware ESX server and hardware, and run the router there with a couple other OS's, or start using Tomato.
I ended up at a middle ground.

My file server had Microsoft Hyper-V on it already. I made a VM and installed Ubuntu server. Moved my web stuff to that. Could also run a proxy on it with AV and all that if I wanted.

Tomato firmware uses regular old iptables, so it's easy to tie it in with Linux in a VM.
 
Top