Post your "rate my cables" here

jmroberts70

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 15, 2002
Messages
2,953
[to Complx] Dude! you need another thread for this build!! I'd love to see how it was constructed (if you managed to document it)...
 

Complx

n00b
Joined
Jul 10, 2013
Messages
59
[to Complx] Dude! you need another thread for this build!! I'd love to see how it was constructed (if you managed to document it)...

I didn't make a proper work log, but I do have a thread I made with some final images, with a link to an album of images, you can see the thread here: http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1771129

how did you come up with the plan for the "case"? is that something premade or did you design and build it yourself?

I designed and built it myself, was about 2 1/2 months of designing and half a month to have it built.
 

ekuest

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
6,094
cool! ive seen wall mounted computers before but yours looks more like art and less like a computer nailed to the wall. you did a great job! you should get a sticker printed with your logo on it and put it on the cpu heatsink. :)
 

Private_Ops

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
1,870
Phenom II 555 (Unlocked Quad at 3.5Ghz)
4GBs DDR3-1333
MSI 785G-E53 Motherboard
Onboard HD4200 overclocked to 700MHz
500GB ST500 Samsung Hard Drive
400w modular PC Power & Cooling PSU

 

my-name-here

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
281
How'd I do?]

really neat case idea. the case is begging for more attention to internal aesthetics. don't get me wrong, it's put together very neat but it's a framed computer on the wall.... would love to see it done up more on the inside.
 

Wibla

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
315
Undergoing fileserver upgrades, moving from ancient 3ware card to newer SAS based controllers...

4MHLGv2.jpg


7eeO3rP.jpg

New card gets hot. Temporary fix...

Tomorrow, I'll be doing some brain surgery on this box to swap motherboards and add another SAS controller, cabling should be a fair bit tidier afterwards :D
 

omk

n00b
Joined
Oct 12, 2004
Messages
19
Is there a way to choose the resolution of the posted pics in this thread?
I had to resize the originals.
 

Wibla

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
315
Is there a way to choose the resolution of the posted pics in this thread?
I had to resize the originals.

Save resized image as copy, use a proper image host, not dropbox?

Update to my fileserver pics posted above, I finshed my hardware swap today.

DSC_7809_1200.jpg


DSC_7800_1200.sized.jpg

Tried to make the power wiring better, not sure if it's a success though.

DSC_7802_1200.jpg

Because ASUS are a bunch of retards, I had to swap the the graphics card and one of the HBAs, and suddenly my slightly dodgy fan didn't cover both HBAs, enter the small piece of wood to get the fan moved upwards a bit.

Bonus: Went from 40-50MB/s write (due to PCI-X bug) and 450MB/s read to 640MB/s write and 1.3GB/s read. Yowza! Now I need a PCI graphics card so I can get my PCI-E intel NIC going again :D
 

rat

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 16, 2008
Messages
4,915
Bonus: Went from 40-50MB/s write (due to PCI-X bug) and 450MB/s read to 640MB/s write and 1.3GB/s read. Yowza! Now I need a PCI graphics card so I can get my PCI-E intel NIC going again :D

YEOWZA, Indeed. I would say that's a nice bump... :D
 

rat

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 16, 2008
Messages
4,915
lol @ all the [H] users who don't know how to resize shit

No kidding.

RULE OF THUMB, NOOBS. YOUR PICS SHOULD NOT BE MORE THAN 1000 PIXELS WIDE. RESIZE THEM BEFORE YOU UPLOAD THEM TO LINK THEM IN THIS THREAD.
 

powruser

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 6, 2011
Messages
436
Fixed. FYI there was a reason it wasn't resized. I uploaded from my phone and the mobile version of imgshack doesn't give option to resize but whatever.
 
D

Deleted member 238539

Guest
@sonsonate, love the PC-X1000, that was one of my favorite Lian Li cases. So do you have a 1200 or an 850?
 
S

sonsonate

Guest
@sonsonate, love the PC-X1000, that was one of my favorite Lian Li cases. So do you have a 1200 or an 850?

Both. I used the 850W only on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays. 1200W on the rest of the week.


...


:D

I use the 1200w, but I had to get the PSU extension bracket for this case since the hard drives sitting there at the bottom prevent me from getting that monster into the case. I taped some gauze to the exposed underside to keep the dust bunnies from hopping in and making it a home. I ran out of plugs for SATA on the ax850 due to the height of this case. I think I lose like one or two connectors running the cables to the top and I had a third card for Physx that I used the molex adapters -- I had the money for the 1200, so why not. The 850 is being used in what is now my daughter's (our 3rd PC).

Edit: I love the 1000, but dude, this case took me a long time to puzzle out how to wire it well. It's definitely no Corsair easy-peasy or Silverstone case. I wish Lian Li gets to the point where ease-of-use is not second to aesthetics.

Oops. Fixed.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
D

Deleted member 82943

Guest
the point is, take the 5 seconds to make the images posted be accessible. why should someone else have to pick up the slack for your lazy posts?
 

MouseTrap

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 16, 2012
Messages
262
Please forgive the crap cellphone shots...lol

But here's one of the latest completions....:)


e6a7afd4-3f56-45df-959d-7e2aed01022e_zps92e9e8ac.jpg~original


051489bc-f518-425b-8ffe-317d2993ae9a_zpsed8e6ace.jpg~original


fa1b64d6-584d-4ddf-880f-0c0556bd27db_zps3a9de79b.jpg~original


f295539b-c7ae-4d18-bff8-bdee46b0484d_zps901ae7db.jpg~original
 
Last edited:

Krenum

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 29, 2005
Messages
18,836
the point is, take the 5 seconds to make the images posted be accessible. why should someone else have to pick up the slack for your lazy posts?

Why should someone have to resize their picture just because a select few have special needs?
 

T-ReV7

n00b
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
41
The best solution is for the forum to not allow people to direct link to massive images and or do some kind of auto resizing like many forums do.
 

Wibla

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
315
Why should someone have to resize their picture just because a select few have special needs?

"special needs"?

On some other forums, like SA, you get infracted and set read-only for a few days if you post table-breaking images. They also have a timg tag that auto-resizes the images and makes them clickable for zoom, so there's really no excuse. This archaic forum software probably doesn't have it, though.
 

rat

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 16, 2008
Messages
4,915
Why should someone have to resize their picture just because a select few have special needs?

"special needs"?

On some other forums, like SA, you get infracted and set read-only for a few days if you post table-breaking images. They also have a timg tag that auto-resizes the images and makes them clickable for zoom, so there's really no excuse. This archaic forum software probably doesn't have it, though.

Also, cellular browsing with limited bandwidth and/or data quotas. There's really no justification for full resolution images.

Are you telling me that I'm SUPPOSED to have a horizontal scrollbar when my browser is fullscreened on a 1920x1080 monitor, Krenum?
 

MisterClean

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 9, 2010
Messages
2,799
4CANIm6.jpg


This is as far as I got sleeving before life got in the way. Then some other stuff happened, and now the PC is a hot mess lol. I really need to tear the whole thing down, finish the sleeving, and make it purdy again.
 
Top