Post your HeadPhones!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Apr 17, 2004
Messages
712
magnetik said:
damn.. those must hurt! :p Do you amp em? lol

lol thank god i only use them for ' meditation sessions ( when i turn up the volume so loud that i feel like im in a dream ;))' and use them for like 40 minutes max at one time. and i just plug them into the speaker jack on my sound card, or the headphone outlet on my speakers
 

ivandal2

Gawd
Joined
Apr 18, 2002
Messages
984
finally recieved my s.fi5 ebs...so I'm reserving a spot for a pic, will have one up later tonight.
 

compuguru

n00b
Joined
Jun 29, 2004
Messages
43
strid3r said:
Got the connector, techflex, and heatshrink off of partsexpress for roughly 7 bucks and shipping. The cable was about 11 shipped off eBay. Of course, I have a lot of leftover material leftover, about 30ft of cable left and didn't even use half the heatshrink and techflex I ordered.

Got any links for those parts? I just ordered those cans and I may want to recable them...
I looked on parts express but I wasn't sure which size techflex or heat shrink to get.(1/8"?)
Also, what type of wire did you use? (plain speaker wire? 1/16"?)

Thanks

- Jay
 

strid3r

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 14, 2003
Messages
2,124
compuguru said:
Got any links for those parts? I just ordered those cans and I may want to recable them...
I looked on parts express but I wasn't sure which size techflex or heat shrink to get.(1/8"?)
Also, what type of wire did you use? (plain speaker wire? 1/16"?)

Thanks

- Jay

For the wire, do a search on eBay for "silver teflon". I used 22 awg in a litz braid config. All the other parts were from partsexpress, I used 1/8" techflex and 6mm heatshrink (1/4"?).
 

compuguru

n00b
Joined
Jun 29, 2004
Messages
43
strid3r said:
I used 1/8" techflex and 6mm techflex (1/4"?).
I assume you mean 1/8" techflex and 6mm heat shrink?
(cause I cant seem to find 6mm techflex)

anyway, thanks for the info...

- Jay
 

MrSlacker

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 1, 2004
Messages
1,218
saturnine2 said:
Oh noes! I went off the deep end!

Esob.JPG


I got the Triports cheap from MrSlacker @ Head-Fi. He found them on the side of the street! :p The left side isnt working, but I inspected it and its just a loose connection. I'm gonna recable them with a Senn HD580/600 cable, and try out some Blu-Tack and fiber fill.
wow my Triports are even on [H] :D

i am hoping to get Grado SR-225 and Koss KSC-75 soon.
 

Bleed

Gawd
Joined
Jul 7, 2003
Messages
618
just got my Grado 325i :D

P1010030-1.jpg


and to make it more comfortable, I ordered a Beyer DT770 Headband pad. still deciding if i should get the Senn 414 pads or the C-pads.

saturnine, went with 325i's instead of the new HF-1 :p. I have the bowls reversed, and I actually like the sound, but its a bit uncomfortable though :(, so Im using some rat shack comfies right now.
 

cypher22

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
338
almost finished dynalo(wired up to test today, this is not the final wiring).....just need a case.

Very nice sounding amp......think I like it better than my ppa. Can already tell its better than ppa for electronic music....much more slam.
elna cerafines, wima caps, vishay resistors
IMG_1683.jpg
 

MrPrez

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 13, 2004
Messages
263
Bleed said:
just got my Grado 325i :D

P1010030-1.jpg


Are the 325i some of grado's best? Or, more importantly, would they be good for lets say, music, and Counterstrike?
 

jaffy

[H] Custodian
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Messages
5,584
MrPrez said:
Are the 325i some of grado's best? Or, more importantly, would they be good for lets say, music, and Counterstrike?
They are great for most music with the right amp, no doubt about that. For gaming though, they are seriously lacking. The soundstage sucks compared to other cans in the pricerange.

If you HAVE to use a Grado headphone for gaming, I would recommend the RS-1 or PS-1.
 

towert7

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 18, 2003
Messages
2,930
Hey ColStripe, how's that headphone stand working out? I was thinking of buying one of the single ended ones.
Is the build quality good?

~Thanks
 

ColStripe

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 2, 2004
Messages
77
towert7 said:
Hey ColStripe, how's that headphone stand working out? I was thinking of buying one of the single ended ones.
Is the build quality good?

~Thanks

Very nice stand, the black tubes are PVC. But for under $100, super super nice product. Larry does killer work.
 

ColStripe

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 2, 2004
Messages
77
saturnine2 said:
They are great for most music with the right amp, no doubt about that. For gaming though, they are seriously lacking. The soundstage sucks compared to other cans in the pricerange.

If you HAVE to use a Grado headphone for gaming, I would recommend the RS-1 or PS-1.

I'm a Grado fan, but I'd never use them for gaming. You do alot better with some closed Sennheiser or something like an Audio-Techinia A900. I agree with ya there.
 

jaffy

[H] Custodian
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Messages
5,584
Beautiful casework cypher! How is that window mounted? I've been meaning to mod my PPA enclosure for a while now...
 

cypher22

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
338
thanks, I ran a glue gun along the edges of the plexi while pressing the plexi hard against the metal. The glue dries instantly, clear, no mess. Its in there pretty good now.
 

Svperstar

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 10, 2004
Messages
391
MrSlacker said:
wow so many headfiers are also on [H]

LOL yeah just a few :p

EDIT: I actually kinda miss the days when I thought my 400 watt Logitechs had good sound quality and over $50 on headphones was just insane :p
 

towert7

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 18, 2003
Messages
2,930
Cool looking little amp you have there cypher22, nice window you added. How's the thing working out for you and about how much did it cost to build that one. Have you used any other amps that you can compare it too?

Maybe if my creative skills improve, and I get some time, ill try and build a little amp myself.

~Thanks
 

rayman2k2

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 6, 2002
Messages
8,070
I'm getting a set of E3c's for my iPod, and I'm not too sure what else I should get for my PC/Stereo...
 

cypher22

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
338
towert7 said:
Cool looking little amp you have there cypher22, nice window you added. How's the thing working out for you and about how much did it cost to build that one. Have you used any other amps that you can compare it too?

Maybe if my creative skills improve, and I get some time, ill try and build a little amp myself.

~Thanks

Its working good. I got the dc offset down to .00-1mv. There was a lot of tweaking to do. Cost was about $150 including the elpac power suppy($45) If you have a power supply you can probally build one for $75

I have a ppa with diamond buffers and steps psu that cost about a little more than double to build. The dynalo can hold its own against it.

I wouldnt really classify it as a little amp ;)
 

Svperstar

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 10, 2004
Messages
391
GodsMadClown said:
Use the ABX plugin in Foobar2000, kernel streaming to a decent soundcard. You can tell the difference every time between lossy and lossless. Even 320 CBR LAME, MPC or OGG.

Wow I was just skimming this thread from the start and I came across this.

Dunno if the poster still reads here but that is not true. Nobody can tell the difference between 320 LAME and Lossless 100% of the time, not even close.
 

Mister X

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 20, 2002
Messages
7,092
Circuitbreaker8 said:
Looks sweet, would look better w/ clean screws instead of phillips.

I assume by clean screws you mean buttonhead allen screws?
see you are stating an opinion that is a mater of taste and I personally hate those kind of screws. ;)
 

macrospect

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 22, 2004
Messages
1,711
Jesus Mr. X, your worksmanship on those amps is nothing short of amazing! Now to make ones with bass and treble adjustments :D
 

magnetik

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 6, 2000
Messages
6,093
DaRkF0g said:
Jesus Mr. X, your worksmanship on those amps is nothing short of amazing! Now to make ones with bass and treble adjustments :D

:) here are some more pics...

P1010006.jpg


P1010007.jpg


P1010008.jpg


P1010014.jpg


P1010024.jpg


P1010026.jpg


P1010032.jpg


P1010039.jpg
 

Mister X

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 20, 2002
Messages
7,092
I bet you didn't even turn it on before you took the top off did you? :p

That fugly retro switch does actulally look pretty good next to the IEC doesn't it? ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top