Post your GTX 980 TI Overclock Results

Discussion in 'nVidia Flavor' started by Artificiary, Jun 13, 2015.

  1. pippenainteasy

    pippenainteasy Gawd

    Messages:
    537
    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    I wouldn't expect any 250W computer component to last more than a few years.

    It's always the lower power components that never seem to die.
     
  2. Supercharged_Z06

    Supercharged_Z06 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,427
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Most video cards that see continuous/daily use typically don't make it much past the 3-4 year mark. Most due to fan assemblies wearing out... and then the board getting cooked. Either that or the heat typically does them slowly in, especially if they are overclocked. Exception to this is typically any video card that's waterblocked... they pretty much seem to last forever.
     
  3. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    16,541
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    My GTX Titan X is still going strong in my friend's PC, still using a custom 425W BIOS running at around 1450 MHz with just the ACX 3.0 air cooler.

    My pair of reference EVGA GTX 780, bought new in the middle of 2013, are still used daily in my dad's PC for gaming when he has downtime with work.

    My pair of BFG Tech 8800GTX, a 190W card, lasted about 7 years before they gave up the ghost with regular gaming sessions lasting at least 6 hours a day when I was in university and later looking for work.
     
    Solhokuten and Araxie like this.
  4. Unknown-One

    Unknown-One [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,867
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Why not? My GTX 780 Ti (which the 980 Ti replaced) is still alive and kicking in my girlfriend's PC, and it's 6 years old.

    This 980 Ti is the shortest-lived graphics card I've ever owned. Even tried baking it to see if that would bring it back to life, but so far, no luck.

    Oh well, already replaced it with an RTX 2070...
     
  5. davidm71

    davidm71 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,446
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Finally got around to water cooling the 980 Ti Kpe's I had out of boredom. Had the waterblocks in the closet but considering the cost of these cards I felt I didn't want to take the risk till now. Anyhow now that they're water cooled the temps max out at load from 35-38 or 38-40 degrees depending on the card in SLI. Setup a custom rom at 1507 mhz locked in at 1212mv. Think I can go higher as it sometimes had boosted to 1544 to 1551 mhz but when I tried to set those frequencies in AB it would crash Furmark or 3DMark go to hell in a handbasket. Any Kingpin owners care to share their highest clock rates?

    Thanks
     
  6. Devil Inc

    Devil Inc n00b

    Messages:
    22
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    I have a 980ti Classy on water that I've benched at 1600 core/8612 mem, but it just barely made it through. I have several runs ranging from 1580-1590 core. I would think the KPE on water could match or better a Classy.

    Here's a link to a TimeSpy run from awhile back. I do not recall the exact OC settings in Afterburner though.

    https://www.3dmark.com/spy/157587
     
  7. davidm71

    davidm71 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,446
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004

    Maybe its because I'm running SLI (almost typed SOL lol) anyhow got a probeit cable to measure what exact volts the cards are getting and at 1506 they're getting 1.18 and 1.17 v depending on the card but if I'm hitting a wall its all Maxwells fault and not the Kingpin design which as good as it is can't do much to help overclock a bad chip.
     
  8. Devil Inc

    Devil Inc n00b

    Messages:
    22
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    If I remember right my cards didn't care if there was a voltage increase using Afterburner. Can you disable SLI/PCIE slots on your setup to try individual cards. I had a pair of Gigabyte GHz Ed. 780s prior to the Classy and they would hit the same clocks in single and SLI. I'm not sure if it helped, but they were consecutive serials.
     
  9. CAD4466HK

    CAD4466HK [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,192
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    I thought the KPE had special chips to allow real voltage readings using Precision X? I know I read that somewhere before.
     
  10. CAD4466HK

    CAD4466HK [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,192
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Found it. Pretty good read too if you want to go [H]C with your KPE.

    https://xdevs.com/guide/maxwell_big_oc/
     
  11. davidm71

    davidm71 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,446
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Well I just got my ProbeIt cable and took real world voltage readings. Right now I'm at 1506 Boost and at that speed Precision XOC will report 1.212-1.202 volts depending on the card under Furmark load but Probeit with volt meter will state its at 1.17-1.18 volts. The difference being vdroop which I can compensate by disabling vdroop with the Classified Maxwell Tool resulting in a sold 1.222-1.232 volts depending on the card. Furthermore Precision XOC readings are only accurate when not under load I found because of that vdroop and setting fixed voltage level will seem spot on accurate on my volt meter until its under load. Theres also a 6mv discrepancy I think where the card supplies 6mv more voltage than what is being actually supplied.

    Anyhow my cards without software like Afterburner give 1.212-1.202 volts at 1506 boost on their own as I modded my firmware recently to max out at a constant 1506. Sometimes a little less. For example will do 1215 mhz at cut scenes and drop to 1300-1430 mhz when it doesn't need the horsepower but got it at 1506 for most of time anyhow. I'm sure I can lock in 1506 with Kboost but don't think its neccessary. Going to try to boost it higher soon as my card has dip switches that give it a +25- +50 mv boost via hardware. It also has dip switches to control vdroop but haven't had luck figuring it out.

    Thanks
     
    CAD4466HK likes this.