Pointing a dns to a dynamic ip ?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Imhotep, Mar 17, 2019.

  1. Imhotep

    Imhotep Gawd

    Messages:
    752
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    I'd like to point a dns from a domain name to a linux box which would be running a web server at home. Problem is I don't have a static ip.
    Would something like this https://www.noip.com be the best option or are there better ways of doing this for free.
    I may have this completely wrong ,so any help will be great...D
    Ideas much appreciated !

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Brian_B

    Brian_B 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,350
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    I’ve used dyndns for years
     
    FNtastic likes this.
  3. Imhotep

    Imhotep Gawd

    Messages:
    752
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Great, Thanks for a quick reply !
     
  4. BlueLineSwinger

    BlueLineSwinger Gawd

    Messages:
    600
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    If you own a domain name check with your registrar. Many of them offer some level of dynamic DNS service.
     
    rma likes this.
  5. Kyle_Bennett

    Kyle_Bennett HardForum Admin Staff Member

    Messages:
    48,957
    Joined:
    May 18, 1997
    Have used noip for 15 years or so. Great service.
     
    rma likes this.
  6. tedych

    tedych Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    331
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    No ground to hesitate here. Either static DNS to your dynamic IP and you change the record when your IP changes, or some dynamic service like noip or dyndns. For the former you could set a small TTL and manually change the IP (if it changes rarely) and if static domain DNS is what you wish in the first place.
    For the latter I use freedns.afraid.org for long time for my mother's place but even there the IP is changing once in a blue moon so I would consider a normal domain subname.
     
  7. Chas

    Chas [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,337
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Another bump for DynDNS or NoIP and a CName from your personal DNS to the dynamic.

    ALSO, before you go and spend out, read below.

    If you're running this off a consumer-grade router, check in the interface.
    I've noted that several makers are offering a free Dynamic DNS service (usually tied through one of the major providers) with their routers now.
     
    Kyle_Bennett likes this.
  8. Imhotep

    Imhotep Gawd

    Messages:
    752
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    The domain registrar are these guys https://www.ionos.com/?ar=1&otk=Z11gdtu62nllwf9d2o3nsjixdmaddkryszoakwmmfejl428k. I have set up the ddns on my router and at NoIp website. The subdomain works already and points to the box at home.
    Im confused about the Cpanel at 1and1. It tells me that the main domain can only be forwarded , so my limited understanding is that no CNAME should be created for the main domain ? How do I point it to the No IP DDNS.
    Do I create a CNAME despite their suggestion .

    Thanks everyone for your help / input. It is greatly appreciated.

    Untitled.png
     
  9. Imhotep

    Imhotep Gawd

    Messages:
    752
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Here is the main part of the Cpanel.


    Untitled2.png anel.
     
  10. Imhotep

    Imhotep Gawd

    Messages:
    752
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    I misspelled the main domain name. It does work or so I hope. Need a bigger cup of coffee. ..:D
    Thanks everyone !
     
  11. Biznatch

    Biznatch 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,164
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    I've run servers at home for years with a dynamic IP. I use namecheap as my dns host, and have my pfsense box configured to update the DNS settings for all hosts if my IP changes (which is VERY rare).
     
  12. thenapalm

    thenapalm Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    411
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
  13. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    27,653
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    I've been using No-ip for years.

    Basic service is free, but you have to log in at least once a month or it expires.

    A premium version costs only a couple of bucks a month and includes more advanced features, including port redirection so you could technically run a web server if you wanted, even if your ISP blocks port 80 and 443
     
  14. lassiterb

    lassiterb [H]ard|DCer of the Month - June 2009

    Messages:
    780
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    If you have your domain on Google domains, they provide DNS service for free and has dynamic DNS record support.
     
    Zarathustra[H] likes this.
  15. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    27,653
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000

    I did not know that. Good info