please check new build intel 2P

provoko

Gawd
Joined
Aug 6, 2004
Messages
656
Hey ppl, please sanity check my build below; it's mainly for video editing, no overclocking, no sli and will run win 7 pro.

CPU: 2 x E5-2660 (own)

MOBO between:
I had considered ASUS EEB form factor, but I'm liking my case selection that's EATX.
And considered: Supermicro X9DAE, non-ecc memory config is kind of weird in the manual

RAM: 8 to 16 dimms equaling 64gb

GPU: GTX 660 Ti

HDD: ~4

Fans/Heatsink: closed loop like:
Corsair H80i
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835181031

Case: Corsair Obsidian 800D
http://www.amazon.com/Corsair-Obsidian-Series-Computer-CC800DW/dp/B002JLAU58

PSU: KingWin 1000w
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B002OOL4Q4?tag=intercept-kb-20

I'm up for all suggestions, but mainly looking for a good PSU and I already own the CPUs.

Thanks! =)

----------------------
Parts ordered:

2 x E5-2660
2x Corsair H80i Liquid cooling
ASUS Z9PA-D8 ATX
4x Crucial Ballistix Sport 8GB DDR3 1600 (will double later this year)
ASUS GTX660 TI-DC2O-2GD5 GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
Thermaltake W0319RU 850w

Left to go:
case
drives
 
Last edited:

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x3
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,464
Running dual E5-2665's I pull 248w from the wall, that seasonic will be just fine.
 

provoko

Gawd
Joined
Aug 6, 2004
Messages
656
Last edited:

provoko

Gawd
Joined
Aug 6, 2004
Messages
656
Last edited:

Patriot

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - March 2011/June 2013/De
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
2,498
No on the thermaltake...
running CPUs in dual channel is ...less than ideal.
sigh already ordered...

Cases, I will give you some good options in a bit.
 
Last edited:

provoko

Gawd
Joined
Aug 6, 2004
Messages
656
No on the thermaltake...
running CPUs in dual channel is ...less than ideal.
sigh already ordered...

Cases, I will give you some good options in a bit.

Thanks. I'll be going quad channel in the near future.

What's wrong with the Thermaltake?
 

Patriot

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - March 2011/June 2013/De
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
2,498
Because Thermaltake has a habit of being barely inside the ATX spec with 12v ripple.
 

ND40oz

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
12,666

provoko

Gawd
Joined
Aug 6, 2004
Messages
656
I would have gone with the Corsair AX850 instead: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139015

Probably go with the 900D instead, much more room to work with: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811139019

If you end up going with an SSI-CEB or SSI-EEB board instead of an E-ATX, go with something like the Lian Li PC-V2120: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811112311

My wallet is starting to hurt. =)

Once I test the rails on this thermal take, if the results are bad, I'll go with corsair.

Thanks.
 

Patriot

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - March 2011/June 2013/De
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
2,498
Unless you have a load tester you will not see it.
Which is why reviews....
 

provoko

Gawd
Joined
Aug 6, 2004
Messages
656
Last night I put together the basic parts and it was fail. It booted for about 10 seconds, then shut off and wouldn't turn on again. At first I thought it was the PSU, so I tested in single cpu mode. As soon as I turned on the power in single cpu mode, the mosfets near the 2nd cpu socket started sparking and magical smoke appeared. Underneath the motherboard I could see that 1 of the mosfet chips fell off and 3 others were busted open. The 2nd cpu socket had 3 pins raised, and they were not like that before.

The ASUS manual/warranty bitches about cpu socket pins being damaged will void warranty, but the thing is brand new and I followed the manual perfectly. I RMA'd anyways. I'm also sending the PSU back.

Thermaltake's 6+2 pin is not the same as an 8 pin, so it's not going to be useful in the far future when I upgrade from 95W CPUs to 135 CPUs. I should have gotten something with 2x8 pin, 2x4+4 pin or some combination.

What's an alternative to not having the right 8 pins? PCI express pins did not fit into the motherboard.
 

ND40oz

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
12,666
Just get a PSU with 2 8 pin cpu plugs, then you know they're wired correctly if you're using a PSU with multiple rails. Instead of trying to figure out if your molex adaptor are using the correct rails with that particular PSU. Corsair AX or HX series are a good bet (lowest end HXs don't have 2 8 pin though), the AX850 isn't much more then you spent on that Thermaltake.
 

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x3
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,464
Are you saying that you tried to put a PCIe 8 pin connector into one of the mobo power sockets???
 

provoko

Gawd
Joined
Aug 6, 2004
Messages
656
Update: After my ASUS Z9PA-D8 was replaced and I got my new PSU Corsair AX850, I turned it on and it didn't post. I tried each ram stick individually, no go, bought a new ram stick, no go, tried each cpu individually and..... 1 cpu works, 1 cpu dead.

I'm guessing after the "incident" weeks ago (mobo sparking up) the 1 cpu I was testing with died.

Any way to salvage an electrically damaged CPU? I'm thinking of putting it on ebay with the title "damaged cpu".

So now I'm off to buy another e5-2660.
 

provoko

Gawd
Joined
Aug 6, 2004
Messages
656
Here it is running in single cpu mode. I did a minor stress test and got around 50C, idle was about 30C; one core was at 23C idle.

cpu_single_mode_c.jpg
 
Last edited:

ND40oz

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
12,666
So Intel only does this for boxed purchases.

It depends on if you bought a retail cpu or an OEM, retail boxed has a warranty through Intel, OEM has whatever warranty the reseller gives with it.
 

linziyi

Weaksauce
Joined
Aug 8, 2013
Messages
70
I don't think you need such as beefy power supply... 600W would suffice IMHO.
 
Top