Pictures Of Your Dually Rigs!

Discussion in 'Multiprocessing Systems' started by nuclearsnake, Jan 1, 2004.

  1. Sudos

    Sudos n00b

    Messages:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    it's 3 times slower than everyone's laptop!
    but it gets the job done, and that's what's important at the end of the day.

    next build is going to be a dual socket G34 with a couple of 16-core Opteron 6300s in it, when money allows for it-- and I'm looking at that to last me someplace in the ballpark of 10 years when it is all finally built. but prices have to come down some before I can even think about it more.
     
  2. agrikk

    agrikk Gawd

    Messages:
    927
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Why would you do this to yourself? Ten years for a computer means that you are paying a premium for parts that are hot now, solid for 2-4 years and then slow as hell for the remaining six. By spending a third of that outlay every couple of years you'll have a great rig all the time.

    What possible use do you have for a 32-core desktop? Besides folding for 33, that is. :D I mean it's [H]ard and all, but really...
     
  3. Sudos

    Sudos n00b

    Messages:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    I'm not saying to do it now. I'm planning on this to last me a few more years yet. once the price of the board and CPUs along with the RAM goes down, it's going to be quite the field day for me at the races.
     
  4. Patriot

    Patriot [H]ard|DCer of the Month - March 2011/June 2013/De

    Messages:
    2,496
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    In ten years I am sure he will find some reason ... ;)
    Just do yourself a favor and ebay the chips...

    There is no logical reason to pay full price on those 16c chips.
    And if you are into folding... hop into irc and chat it up. You will find most of the top 20 folders in there.
     
  5. DarthBeavis

    DarthBeavis 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,221
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    did not see this forum . . here is my main rig - EVGA SR-X with 4 780s and 96 gigs of Corsair Dominator two 512 gig SSDS in RAID 0 on the back side - Case Labs STH10

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  6. Patriot

    Patriot [H]ard|DCer of the Month - March 2011/June 2013/De

    Messages:
    2,496
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Never to question wasting money... but...

    #1 Why SRX with its stupid asymetric ram config and not the asus workstation board?

    #2 after that 4th gfx card (which traditionally lowers performance) WD green?

    ...

    That said the tubing is fkin amazing nice build... really is beautiful.

    And... What cpus?
     
  7. DarthBeavis

    DarthBeavis 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,221
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    1. Wanted all EVGA at the time (I have my reasons ;) ).
    2. WD Greens I had leftover from a previous build - they are storage only. My system drive is in the OP.
    3. 4th GPU does no lower performance - it is PhysX.

    CPUS I went cheap bought 2620s.

    My temporary LAN rig (more portable) is the green on here with two Titans: http://www.hardocp.com/news/2013/12/29/h_readers_workstations

    THX for the kind words
     
  8. NeuroticTurtle

    NeuroticTurtle n00b

    Messages:
    56
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    mmmmm, I like the blue tubing, nicely done sir.
     
  9. DarthBeavis

    DarthBeavis 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,221
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    thanks :)
     
  10. AXm77

    AXm77 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    129
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    This is my "old" new dual microATX dual box :)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  11. MaddMutt

    MaddMutt n00b

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    I know this is a stupid question to ask :
    I know that the new Tyan and SM motherboards say that they can run plain DDR3. Did you follow the MF's suggested memory to use or did you just buy the cheapest on Ebay, NewEgg, TigerDirect ........Ect
     
  12. Patriot

    Patriot [H]ard|DCer of the Month - March 2011/June 2013/De

    Messages:
    2,496
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Would depend on the purpose of the rig.

    I have a amd 4p that uses unbuffered non-ecc ram for ultimate performance.
    ECC ram would have been cheaper. Cas 6 ddr3 1600 was never cheap.

    I would not recommend that necessarily for a work environment.
     
  13. MaddMutt

    MaddMutt n00b

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    looking at building a 2nd Folding @ Home rig. My first 1 is a SuperMicro H8QME-2 with quad AMD Opteron 8439's @ 2.8GHz. It also has 16GB (2gb x 8) DDR2-800 ECC memory. Trying to track down the authorized memory that could be used was a pain in the _____. Had to keep that part low $$$ with the wife looking over my shoulder. Now that I have Leukemia, the wife is a little less en-forceful on my computer hobby. I was diagnosed with it in Aug 2012.
     
  14. xeonite

    xeonite n00b

    Messages:
    20
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    @Patriot: Can you specify which G.Skill RAM you are using? Im looking for some good low latency RAM myself :) Do you find it makes for a better folding/crunching performance?
     
  15. Patriot

    Patriot [H]ard|DCer of the Month - March 2011/June 2013/De

    Messages:
    2,496
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    you can't find it anywhere.
    F3-12800CL6D-4GBXH

    probably won't help you folding or crunching, cas 7 will do.
    Frankly 2011 likes frequency over low latency.
    I couldnt get my 2011 board to boot with a single cas 6 dimm in...meanwhile my 4p g34 sets WRs on 16 of the lol. Meh for DC, win for WR.
     
  16. xeonite

    xeonite n00b

    Messages:
    20
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Ok, thank you for your swift response! :)
     
  17. PornoSatan

    PornoSatan 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,493
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Just... LOL. Man that shit is epic. Go big or go home!
     
  18. gigatexal

    gigatexal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,153
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Dude leukemia suuuuuck. No matter you are [H]harder than leukemia. Hope you beat it man.
     
  19. zero2dash

    zero2dash [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,081
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    [​IMG]
    Specs in sig.
    Unfortunately had to RMA a stick of ram so I'm down to 44GB ATM. :eek:
    Built as a workstation/VM server but really glad that HyperSLI works with it so I can still game with both cards. :)
     
  20. tsn | spazz

    tsn | spazz [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,239
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    44gb...the horror.
     
  21. gigatexal

    gigatexal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,153
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    pfft i'm going to post an SR2 with 96GB of ram and dual overclocked x5660s at 3.8 with dual noctua nh-d14s :)
     
  22. jetfire

    jetfire Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    148
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
  23. zero2dash

    zero2dash [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,081
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    :D
    Hey, nothing like booting up and having a number lower than you expected....sure ruined my day (for a good half hour). Wasn't fun testing 1 stick at a time when there's 12 to install. :D
     
  24. mikeblas

    mikeblas [H]ard|DCer of the Month - May 2006

    Messages:
    12,775
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Those speakers made me LOL
     
  25. Kirika

    Kirika Gawd

    Messages:
    582
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    This is the dual xeon e5440 rig in my sig. Looking to build a new one to replace it though.
    [​IMG]
     
  26. PornoSatan

    PornoSatan 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,493
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    I can just picture the action figures vibrating off every time he turns them on
     
  27. =Gunslinger=

    =Gunslinger= Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    504
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    [​IMG]

    currently running 2x X5687's at 4.4GHz until I can afford the X5690's
     
  28. schizrade

    schizrade [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,704
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    I would post my Precision T5600, but it is not as cool as these.
     
  29. gigatexal

    gigatexal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,153
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    :-( all i have are two x5660s and cant get them to 3.6ghz or more.

    siiiick build gunslinger
     
  30. NukeULater

    NukeULater Gawd

    Messages:
    900
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
  31. lutjens

    lutjens Gawd

    Messages:
    792
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Maybe one of these days I'll get my arse in gear and build the server I was starting on last summer. Bought my Asus Z9PE-D8 last July and it's still in the box...just been too damn busy with work...:rolleyes:

    I recently threw one of my E5-2687Ws into my gaming system, as I had a bunch of encoding to do. It runs so insanely cool that it's damn depressing, mainly due to me knowing that it'll never be able to be pushed to its limits...:(

    The other E5-2687W is still sitting where I put it last year...albeit under a bit of dust...;)
     
  32. Killahurtz

    Killahurtz Gawd

    Messages:
    635
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    I rebuilt one of my oldy but goldies last year and loaded up everything I could find in my game collection with 3dFX support , I still have a Voodoo 2 in the the first PC I bought , and that was to play Grand Prix Legends , of course Quake 2 and unreal , and Unreal Tournament followed shortly. I have been going back an forth between this 5500 and my 3500tv in this thing and having a blast in the past

    Abit VP6 , 2 x PIII 1ghz @1140mhz , Voodoo 5500 AGP , dual boot W2K pro / XP pro , 2 gig Infineon memory , 3 x 18g scsi raid 0 , Kenwood TrueX 72x (the fastest CDR ever) my good ol' Sony 21" E540 Trinitron @ 120Hz

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2014
    Cool Runnings likes this.
  33. lutjens

    lutjens Gawd

    Messages:
    792
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Sony E540...that brings back some memories. I had one of these as well...a damn fine monitor for it's time.
     
  34. mikeblas

    mikeblas [H]ard|DCer of the Month - May 2006

    Messages:
    12,775
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Do they not have electronics recycling where you live?
     
  35. Killahurtz

    Killahurtz Gawd

    Messages:
    635
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    yes, there are...any other questions?
     
  36. Private_Ops

    Private_Ops [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,835
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    I take that as sarcasm, but there's a whole other world when it comes to older hardware.

    http://www.vogons.org/
     
  37. mikeblas

    mikeblas [H]ard|DCer of the Month - May 2006

    Messages:
    12,775
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    That site looks like it's about new hardware and old games, not old hardwar.e
     
  38. Onyxxeon

    Onyxxeon n00b

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    My server to render images in high resolutions

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Xeon E5530
    12 GB RAM ECC
    HD 320 GB
    HD 250 GB
     
  39. Mr. Bluntman

    Mr. Bluntman [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,407
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    That's what the "Marvin" subforum is for... :)
     
  40. DogChainX

    DogChainX [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,026
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    I frequent there often.

    Oh, my poor basement is filled with 386, 486, pentium 1's. :( I'm a hoarder...