Pictures of your DC rigs

  • Thread starter Deleted member 88227
  • Start date

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,424
Out with the old....

20180803_182233.jpg
20180803_172104.jpg


and into a new home and "new" coolers:-

20180804_141659.jpg


20180804_161457.jpg


Its a Asus Z9PE-D8 with a pair of 12 core ivy bridge xeons, a Gigabyte 1080 and a MSI 1070Ti. Its my main folding rig and is now in a HAF X for more airflow, plan to add a 1080ti in a couple of months and retire the 1070 and 1050Ti in the corsair 200R below it with a TR2 cpu only build. Over to the right you can just see part of my daily driver.

Once the the weather cools i'll put the xeon's to use.
 

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,424
Whats everyone using to cool their TR chips? I've got an Enermax TR4 360 AIO on my daily driver but i'm not wanting to spend that if i can avoid it. Will a Noctua aircooler cut it given that the ambient temp in the room is usually 25 deg C or more with no A/C and are you pizza boxing them or using cases?
 

RFGuy_KCCO

DCOTM x4, [H]ard|DCer of the Year 2019
Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
905
Whats everyone using to cool their TR chips? I've got an Enermax TR4 360 AIO on my daily driver but i'm not wanting to spend that if i can avoid it. Will a Noctua aircooler cut it given that the ambient temp in the room is usually 25 deg C or more with no A/C and are you pizza boxing them or using cases?
I am using the Noctua NH-U14S with a second 140mm fan added on all three of my TR 1950X's, since I prefer the simplicity and reliability of air over water on my dedicated crunchers. I am currently just running stock speeds at ~74 deg F ambient and the Noctuas are keeping my TR's at ~140 deg F with all threads running and the 1070ti in each box also crunching. You should be fine at stock speeds and even higher if you can keep the core volts down. For example, I have run mine at 3.6@1.1V and temps only went up a degree or two. I have all of mine in cases with good ariflow (Corsair 750D Airflows).
 
Last edited:
D

Deleted member 88227

Guest
How are you keeping them 14 degrees F below ambient temp?! That's impressive.
 

RFGuy_KCCO

DCOTM x4, [H]ard|DCer of the Year 2019
Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
905
Hah, that’s what I get for trying to respond quickly. I neglected to convert from C to F. I fixed my original post.
 

auntjemima

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
6,365
Two new laptops that I wasn't going to use until Skillz told me to run them on GxG.

IMG_20180806_204313.jpg
 

motqalden

[H]ard|DCOTM x3
Joined
Jun 22, 2009
Messages
1,536
Finally got a proper frame to put my 280x cards in and it had some room so i got another one... Total power draw is 740W at the wall with 2 x 280 , 2 x 280x, R7 1700@ 3.6 running MW@home and WCG
All GPU are -20 power target in afterburner

That PSU hanging out up top is only temporary until i get a couple of extensions for my PCIx power cables


resized.jpg
 
Last edited:

lobstar

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 24, 2004
Messages
81
lobstar, what DC projects are you running with this rig?
I've only ever done F@H a long time ago (until last week my score was 181 for team 33 ...). I've been talking to skylaar24 about getting BOINC setup for the formula thing. Probably will throw some time at that this weekend.
 

MixManSC

║▌║█║▌│║▌║▌█
Staff member
Joined
Aug 12, 2004
Messages
7,092
I like it. The paper towel holder is a nice touch! Is that for potential leaks or um.... other frequent cleanup needs? :D :LOL:
 

Gilthanis

[H]ard|DCer of the Year - 2014
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
8,176
I've only ever done F@H a long time ago (until last week my score was 181 for team 33 ...). I've been talking to skylaar24 about getting BOINC setup for the formula thing. Probably will throw some time at that this weekend.
How to install on LInux Mint -
How to install on Ubuntu -
How to install on Windows 10 -

I intend on making more configuration videos to help people through some of the different options. If any of these are helpful, subscribe and share for me.
 

lobstar

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 24, 2004
Messages
81
I like it. The paper towel holder is a nice touch! Is that for potential leaks or um.... other frequent cleanup needs? :D :LOL:
Its my first custom loop so I put that there after I moved the rig to my desk as the EKWB Torque 90s leak a couple drops of liquid if they have any angular pressure on them.
 

pututu

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Dec 27, 2015
Messages
1,901
Nice and I'm now drooling.....

None of my rigs are that good looking.
 

Hagrid

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 23, 2006
Messages
8,958
So here is my DC/Mining cabinet. It went through a few modifications so it looks a bit weird. I do need to replace the front wood.
It uses a 12x24 filter. The 1st system is for the camera system and is a 7700.

The 2nd is that chinese MB I bought for 80 for a 5960x cpu. I also had to put a 1660 on it to check why I could not remote in to it.
I might leave it there for any DC stuff that can use video. It also has 2 spinners and a 500gb x4 nvme.
It seems to work fine and need to reorder 4x4gb sticks for it.

The last system is a celeron that has 2 1080ti and 3 1060 6gb.

The empty slot I will put the 1700 cpu into an empty MB that was left over from mining. It is the Asrock AB350 Pro4 which can run a 3950x, so not too bad.
I might start getting itx MB's and slide the atx's over a bit and use a PS splitter. The PS's are EVGA 750 to 1300, so will run 2 MB's no problem.



94626121_231816008153294_8961559927231348736_n.jpg
94701479_2298795617080626_4151717835892064256_n.jpg
95142883_565862284041209_2844827040828358656_n.jpg
95263098_225772942193358_1841347660565446656_n.jpg
 
Top