PhysX - CPU or GPU?

Hooy

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 17, 2013
Messages
435
What setting should I use in the nVidia control panel? CPU or GPU for the Phys-X processing?

I have SLI 670's.
 

Nenu

[H]ardened
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
20,183
If you use CPU PhysX, you wont get the advanced PhysX features in most games.
And if you do, it will probably run too slow.

As pointed out auto should work well most of the time.
Occasionally, you may get lower performance unless dedicating one card to PhysX.
Not necessarily because it needs all the power of one card, but that SLI isnt great on all games.
 

dhappy

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 19, 2013
Messages
115
Depends on the game you're running. However, the setting shouldn't impact performance too much.
 

Hooy

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 17, 2013
Messages
435
Thanks guys - I didn't have an auto option before but now I do somehow. Auto selected!
 

cannondale06

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
16,180
Depends on the game you're running. However, the setting shouldn't impact performance too much.
wrong. if its a game that uses hardware physx then it will have a noticeable impact on performance if trying to run those effects on the cpu. if its a game that has no hardware physx then that setting will not have an impact anyway. that setting should be left on auto or gpu.
 

Lucifercy

n00b
Joined
May 20, 2013
Messages
25
wrong. if its a game that uses hardware physx then it will have a noticeable impact on performance if trying to run those effects on the cpu. if its a game that has no hardware physx then that setting will not have an impact anyway. that setting should be left on auto or gpu.

yup, the physx stress test in msi kombustor slows my e5700 to a crawl & then ctd, but when I use the gpu physx it can run but still not smooth.
 
Top